We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent northumberland b&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent northumberland b&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

Coupled with a very helpful and freindly managaress from the warm welcome of a complimentary bucks fizz on arrival this b&b is in an excellent position the staff are extremely helpfull and the service and breakfasts are excellent

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank romeital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

on a return visit we opted for a first floor suite and were not disappointed.
Fantastic space huge lounge and bathroom and wounderful breakfast..puts a lot of first class hotels to shame...will be back

Room Tip: Go for a suite !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

A warm welcome greeted our arrival when we were offered hot towels and a chilled bucks fizz, before being shown to our first floor suite. A stylish suite of rooms where the decoration was tasteful but the settee was less than comfortable a tea/coffee tray but a kettle that didn't work properly and on a plate when we arrived were 4 bitesize tray bakes a nice touch we thought till we visited the local co-op and found that you could buy them for 2 packs of 16 for £3 a bargain but when you are paying top price for your stay homemade would be good. The bed was very soft but the linen crisp and clean, but getting anything in or out of the chest of drawers was a masterclass. A wonderful huge bathroom with his and hers sinks, the biggest bath I have ever seen and a super walk in shower so why were we only given 1 set of minute shower gel,shampoo and body lotion for 2 persons staying 2 nights was beyond me, and candles but no matches or lighter should you wish to relax in that huge bath. Breakfast was excellent and dietary needs catered for. A good base for visiting local attractions.

Room Tip: Our room was on the first floor no road noise, but you can hear people talking in the kitchen below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have recently returned from a Living Social break at Orchard House and would certainly return in the future. We received a warm welcome with a glass of Bucks Fizz before being shown to a lovely room. The attention to detail during our stay was impressive and the breakfast was the best we have ever had using local produce.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

Lovely place, lots of homely touches in the room, rooms very comfortable. Very friendly and informative and Audrey brilliant host. Would definitely return again if in area and recommend place. Central base to visit Cragside and Alnwick and surrounding areas

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisnsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in March, unfortunately it was really heavy with snow haha but it just made it even nicer, really nice welcome when we arrived, drinks and such which was nice of them. We were shown to our room on the top floor which was really warm and nicely decorated.
The whole place was really homely and the breakfast the next day was amazing. The only thing that I can complain about is the lock on the bathroom door was broken haha that may bother some people (especially if you need a number two... Haha) toilets aside though it was really lovely.
It's a really chilled out place so not a lot to do except go walking :) and there's a butcher who does kangaroo burgers hah. Cragside isn't far away either and really nice to walk around in the snow :)
An all round cute place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoisinBridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
240 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here using a Living Social voucher. We were welcomed with a glass of fizz and a towel to wipe our hands by the lovely Audrey. We were allocated room 1 which is probably the room everyone is offered for the Deal. Elegant room, with very good shower. Nice touches like the little nibbles. We found the room to be too warm for our liking, and the curtains weren't thick enough. I had the full breakfast with toast and my husband had the scrambed eggs with smoked salmon. Whilst I enjoyed mine, I think my husbands portion could have been larger. Surprisingly, there was no fresh fruit or cereal at the start of the breakfast which would have been nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamst, Owner at The Orchard House, responded to this review, 22 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry that you found the room a little warm, the heating both in the bathroom and room can be turned of so apologise this was not explained to you properly. The menu is not a buffet but you order from the menu so these items could have been ordered as you are not restricted to ordering one item from the menu, again it is our fault the staff did not properly explain the menu to you. Look forward to welcoming you back again soon and on behalf of all the staff it was a pleasure hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing