We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
blackpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First rate”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here in August for 3 nights it was a very enjoyable stay right from the time we arrived and were given hot towels and a drink of bucks fizz by Audrey and the lovely room with very a comfortable bed also the great breakfast we could not have asked for anything else.
Will definitely be staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank christineblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
newcastle upon tyne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed here recently Audrey and her staff were very attentive especially at breakfast nothing too much trouble,,NIce tasty breakfast and never ending toast,,Only criticism is it could do with a revamp especially the stairs ,,landings and entrance as these are the main things everyone sees,,Tv DVD player and CD players in the room so never stuck for entertainment

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank decka017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for one night, booked at very short notice and stayed in the Lauren Suite at a reduced rate. My husband has walking difficulties and I explained this to Audrey on the phone. She was very helpful and offered to serve breakfast in our room, if required. When we arrived we were amazed at the size of the suite - lounge, bedroom and a long hall leading to a huge bathroom with bath, shower and 2 hand basins. The lounge looked on to the main street and had a small dining table set up. Audrey explained we could eat in if we wished and suggested some take-away places. We were within reach of a number of pubs and restaurants but the offer to eat in was welcomed and unusual. I would recommend this hotel to both couples and families as it is in the centre of Rothbury, and as long as you can find somewhere to park, everything is close at hand. Breakfast was OK, nothing special. If we had paid full price, I would have been disappointed but as we had a big discount I would say it was reasonable value for money.

Room Tip: Only saw the Lauren Suite - beware if you are overweight as the opening to the shower cubicle is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RydalDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in the Lauren Suite which was very comfortable and quite spacious with a very pretty view of the neighbouring garden overlooking the small courtyard to the rear of the property. The living room which doubled up as my daughter's bedroom overlooked the very pretty High St. we really liked the fact that the staff here were very easy going and told us we could come and go as we liked and whilst we were more or less left to our own devices there was always someone on hand if necessary. the High St had pretty much everything you would need and in very close proximity to the various pub/restaurants. We found the hotel to be an excellent base and about a 20 minute drive from the Market town of Alnwick and a 45 minute drive from Banburgh Beach and castle. I would recommend this hotel to both couples and family alike. the locals were very friendly and we had a very enjoyable time in this very beautiful part of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as part of a last minute weekend away. We stayed in the Blue room which is a large room with sitting area and en suit bathroom. We arrived early as we were visiting the nearby National Trust house, Cragside. We received a warm welcome and as our room was already prepared we booked in and dropped our bag off. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom very swish, with a bath big enough for two :-). The bed was massive! and very comfortable, the best bit. There were coffee & tea making facilities but no milk, so had to have a fruity tea at bedtime. Bowl of apples and 4 bits of chocolate to pick at. Although the room was on the front facing the main road there was no traffic noise, we threw the windows open Sunday morning and enjoyed the sound of the church bells. The breakfast was of moderate proportions and was nice enough but nothing special. A nice enough place to stay and enjoy exploring Northumbria

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tylersplus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We arrived to a lovely warm welcome from Audrey who immediately remembered us from the previous year (down to the room we stayed in and our dietary needs). We had an informal chat about any extras that Audrey could get us for breakfast (fruit, soya milk, veggie sausages etc) a glass of bucks fizz and a warm towel. Audrey reminded us where things were and showed us where we could find her contact details if we needed her. She even offered us to use the B&B's plates and cutlery if we wished to bring food in with us on an evening. We were shown to the Blue room which has its own lounge area, this was great after a busy day and we felt this made our stay feel really homely. Everday there was a fresh bottle of water each beside the bed, a fruit bowl and an excellent selection of teas, ground coffee (not instant). On arrival there was a plate of flapjack which was a really nice touch. Toiletries and towels were supplied and our suite also had a huge decanter of bubble bath to enjoy a bath in the extra large tub.
Breakfast was delicious, the porridge with cream is particularly lovely. Every morning Audrey brought me a fresh fruit platter, offering to get yoghurt to add with it the following day. One morning breakfast was particularly busy an we were asked if we would mind waiting, we didn't and were brought a pot of tea in the lounge while we waited. The staff had the table ready very quickly and Audrey offered us breakfast in our room the next morning. Just as we had asked, the next morning 2 staff knocked at the door with a tray and brought it in, ensuring we had everything we needed. We enjoyed a lovely relaxed breakfast watching the early morning athletics from Russia and asked to do the same the next morning.
Rothbury has loads of places to eat and even its own Co-op for a light snack, its perfectly situated with nothing you could want to do being more than 40 minutes away. Its a nice little village where you can enjoy a quiet stay away from the busier attractions. The Orchard House is just off the main road but you won't hear any traffic noise. It doesn't have parking, but every time we have stayed there has been plenty of parking almost right outside the Hotel.
During our stay at the Orchard house we could not have felt anymore welcome by Audrey and her staff and enjoyed the relaxed feel of the place. Nothing was too much trouble and the staff were genuinely interested in where we had been and what we had done. By the end of the week we were sad that our holiday had come to an end, which is the sign of a good holiday! We will definitely be back again. Thank you to everyone at the Orchard House for going the extra mile to make our stay extra special!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue Room, enormous super king size bed in which i had the best nights sleep ever...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jpreston27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We found Orchard house comfortable and very accommodating.
The manager looked after us making sure that we were entirely happy.
Information on dining out or places of interest was freely given and she made our short holiday very enjoyable.
We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Teljean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
9.4 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing