We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the border reivers will return!”
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“the border reivers will return!”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

6 of us stayed here for a friend's significant birthday and it was lovely. Very comfortable rooms, particularly the gorgeous blue suite, with loads of attention to details such as fresh ground coffee, availability of fresh milk and bubble bath. Audrey was very helpful and had loads of useful local knowledge. The beds were very comfy with lots of pillows and cushions, and the large king big enough for three to watch tv from. Breakfast was great, though the other visitors present may have had enough of our hilarity (sorry!). The luxury was not reflected in the very reasonable price. Rothbury itself is a wee gem of a town and at less than 2 hours from home in Edinburgh we will definitely be back.

Room Tip: the blue suite is lovely - huge comfy bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank athectorshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
301
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

stayed for 1 night in I think a standard room on the top floor which was very nice. The breakfast was ok but a little disappointed that there was no fruit or cereal on offer as this is usually standard in hotels/guest houses these days. Stayed using a living social voucher which we thought good value. We were not offered any bucks fizz on arrival only the hot towel maybe this was because it was on a deal rather than paying the full price. Décor was a little jaded in places but overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michele265719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahamst, Manager at The Orchard House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for taking time to review The Orchard House. We are sorry that you were not offered a welcome drink as these reviews are annonomous it is difficult for me to know the exact circumstances of your arrival. Could it be that you checked in very early or perhaps collected your keys early before the room was ready and returned later ? Whilst we believe the standard room at the deal of £49 offers good value for money clearly it does not offer the facilities or extra of our suites which can be over £200 a night but we do however offer a welcome drink to all our guests regardless of rate so can only apologise that you did not receive this. In regard to breakfast you are the second guest in a few days who have mentioned fruit and cereals. We offer a menu as oppose to a buffet on which there are muesli, granolas and porridge all I can think of is that you are referring to the commercial packaged types such as rice crispies etc these are available on request and we always try to communicate to guests that if there is anything they would like that is not on the menu or they have a regular breakfast at home we will endeavour to get those in for you. Fruit is likewise available.

Again thank you for choosing to stay with us and are glad that you found the deal you stayed on good value
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just stayed at the Orchard house, nice little touches, hot towels on arrival, bucks fizz, bottled water in the room. We stayed right on the top floor, the room was ok, bit disappointed with the tea making facilities in the built in wardrobe where your clothes were supposed to be, felt like this should've actually been in the room and just your clothes in the wardrobe. The breakfast was nice, plenty of choice and staff were very polite. Overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Just stayed at the orchard house and it was fabulous! We stayed in the amethyst room which was great. Very clean cosy and comfy too. Chocs water fruit and flowers in the room after or Buck's Fizz and hot towels on arrival. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It was an amazing breakfast. I certainly couldn't have faulted anything .. In fact it was perfect

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mellislynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just had the most relaxing break at The Orchard House everything was just perfect. Audrey the house Manageress was lovely and so were her staff. The double room en suite was wonderful a good size the pillows/ bed linen mattress were so cosy we nearly slept in for breakfast thankfully we didn't as the breakfast was delicious. On arrival we were given a hot towel and a lovely glass of Bucks Fizz there was also fruit , chocolate and bottled water in our room ( how is that for service ). If anyone starting up in the B and B trade needs a Blueprint on how to run their business they should look no further than how it is done at The Orchard House can't wait to re visit in the very near future

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Had a great stay, rooms beautiful and nothing too much trouble. Asked if it was possible to have fresh mango with my breakfast each morning and Audrey provided this along with some wheat free bread as I have an allergy. Breakfast was great and so nice to be able to order freshly cooked from a menu and not a buffet I loved the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs on brioche and my husband said it was one of the best muesli he had tasted. Had breakfast in bed one morning which was a real treat. Attention to detail in the rooms was great with mineral water, sweet goodies, bathrobes and even fresh flowers. Will definitely be back and recommend to everyone.

Room Tip: We had a double room but had a peek at one of the suites and they were amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geordiegirl805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed here for one night recently.We found the accommodation clean and with some nice touches such as bottled water, umbrella, cafetiere, bathrobes etc. We were advised on booking that our room was on the top floor with a private bathroom opposite. The bathroom was clean & functional but sadly was used another guest who clearly hadnt been advised this bathroom was not a communal one. In fairness to the guest, there are no room numbers on bedroom doors, nor notices on the bathrooms advising of this. We returned at night after having had a meal in the town, to find the place in darkness. A few lights, would have been more welcoming. Breakfast was OK with quality products and a decent choice, though this is the first place I've stayed where fruit & cereals aren't on the menu. Staff were helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Pick an en suite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jo w w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.2 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
319 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing