We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Quality Guest House”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed with a glass of Bucks Fizz then shown to our room on the top floor. The room was spotless and had little extras I would not have expected - some home made chocolates and a bowl of apples. The bathroom was a decent size and the bed comfortable. There was a good selection for breakfast and it was beautifully cooked. Every attention to detail has been taken. The only small fault I could found was that the sockets in our room were very close to the floor so you had to place the kettle on the floor to boil, I understand that this is the only room were the sockets are placed so low. I understand this is the only room that has sockets so low and did not spoil our stay. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Rothbury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon t
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

A really great welcome from Audrey, the room was superb, a very comfortable place, and delicious breakfast. Some personal touches made the stay really special and were much appreciated. The complimentary, home made cookies were awesome! Will definitely return....hopefully sooner rather than later.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay at Orchard house, very friendly greeting by 2 women. Offered us a glass of Buck's Fizz on arrival. They showed us to our room on the top floor which was very chique with lots of nice features. Our private bathroom was opposite our room on the landing. Everything was spotlessly clean but I would have preferred our bathroom to have a lock on the outside of the door so I could have left my toiletries in it. On our return from the room we were given some home made truffles and a bowl of apples a lovely touch. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room with lovely china and well cooked. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kath73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a joy to discover such a lovely place to stay. Impressed by everything we encountered really at the Orchard House. Welcomed and made to feel comfortable straight away in a very tasteful environment. Didn't expect this level of luxury staying in a guest house and all the extra touches provided to make you feel a little bit pampered made the difference for us. Lovely room too and comfortable bed. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly and pleasant staff. We did enjoy our overnight break and appreciate the thoughtfulness that has gone into providing such a quality stay. Couldn't fault a thing. Definitely would recommend and keen to return when visiting Northumberland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Attention to detail and super hospitality made our recent stay thoroughly enjoyable. Nice touches included the welcome drink and chocolates in our room. A good idea to have individual bottles of 'proper' milk available for guests to collect from the breakfast room. Staff were friendly - a really important feature for any hotel. The breakfast was first class - very friendly and prompt service, a good choice of beautifully cooked and presented locally sourced food. For us there was an ample quantity of food. Although the toast arrived in small quantities we were always asked if we would like more. Surely a sensible way to avoid waste? (I only mention this because a previous reviewer had been slightly critical.)
Would not hestitate to recommend the Orchard House - not the cheapest but good value nonetheless.

Room Tip: Although on this occasion we didn't stay in a suite - we thought they would be particularly good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

You really do feel like you've escaped at this lovely little guest house. A nice mix of antique charm and modern comforts. They have thought of your every need and deliver a quality product.

A very enjoyable stay. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hojo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleby Barwick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Agreed with all the positive comments on previous reviews, a real find when visiting this beautiful area of the country. Friendly manager and staff, there but unobtrusive, and really helpful. Fab tea/coffee tray with cookies and fresh milk available,little cakes on the day we arrived, great breakfast with lots of choice, usual stuff plus the unusual. Well located with lots of good places to eat in easy walking distance (meal in the Newcastle House dining area was exceptional and landlady lovely and lunchtime burger in The Turk's head yummy, pasta/ pizza in Italia,£5 on a Wed night excellent value and yummy too). Lovely bathroom with everything you could want/need and more. Classy, traditional lounge which we never used,as it was much warmer in our room. Would def go back again but not at full price. Living social deal was bought for us as a Xmas prezzie and more than worth it's value. Great couple of days.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarenStevens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
341 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
667 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing