We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and relaxed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Orchard House
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Warm flannels & Buck's Fizz on arrival. Staff unobtrusive, friendly, helpful & available when needed. The wifi is "temperamental". Good range & choice (inc. dietary needs) at breakfast. Well appointed rooms. Excellent hotel. Travel a lot for business around Europe - highly recommend this hotel for a holiday but due to wifi problems wouldn't use for a business trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Snowdwarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    65
    22
    2
    1
See reviews for
28
300
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

A wonderful stay,was greeted by Audrey and her hot towels,room was very comfortable and spacious,home made chocolates and apples in room.Lovely breakfast,would recommend it to anyone staying in rothbury.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank gill t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,216 reviews
285 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 651 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Really good just like last time. Stayed in the Amethyst room on the top floor with King Size bed. Overlooks the back of the property so zero noise from outside. Was always able to get parked within 100 metres of B&B on street.

Bucks fizz and hot towels on arrival and a very early check in (from midday). Room with apples, brownies, and Evian water. Some of the room fittings were a bit loose (soap tray over bath) so perhaps a tiny bit more maintenance is needed. But spotlessly clean and nicely finished room. Wifi is advertised as available throughout the house but it did not reach our room (so would need to use ground floor lounge or breakfast room). Would have liked water to have been replensished but we bought some from Co-op 100 yards down the street instead.

Breakfast was good; smoothie shot to start, then choice of a few cereals and around 6/7 cooked options and, as Easter, rounded off with great Hot X Buns!

Great home made cookies to help yourself to any time of day - orange & cranberry and carrot cake cookies! Far too good and had far too many!

I think our local trip to Rothbury will continue to be an annual thing and can't imagine not staying at Orchard House.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sleep007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

We were warmly welcomed with a glass of Bucks Fizz then shown to our room on the top floor. The room was spotless and had little extras I would not have expected - some home made chocolates and a bowl of apples. The bathroom was a decent size and the bed comfortable. There was a good selection for breakfast and it was beautifully cooked. Every attention to detail has been taken. The only small fault I could found was that the sockets in our room were very close to the floor so you had to place the kettle on the floor to boil, I understand that this is the only room were the sockets are placed so low. I understand this is the only room that has sockets so low and did not spoil our stay. Would recommend to anyone looking for a place to stay in Rothbury.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 222JudyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon t
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

A really great welcome from Audrey, the room was superb, a very comfortable place, and delicious breakfast. Some personal touches made the stay really special and were much appreciated. The complimentary, home made cookies were awesome! Will definitely return....hopefully sooner rather than later.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Had a one night stay at Orchard house, very friendly greeting by 2 women. Offered us a glass of Buck's Fizz on arrival. They showed us to our room on the top floor which was very chique with lots of nice features. Our private bathroom was opposite our room on the landing. Everything was spotlessly clean but I would have preferred our bathroom to have a lock on the outside of the door so I could have left my toiletries in it. On our return from the room we were given some home made truffles and a bowl of apples a lovely touch. Breakfast was served in a lovely dining room with lovely china and well cooked. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to anyone.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kath73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

What a joy to discover such a lovely place to stay. Impressed by everything we encountered really at the Orchard House. Welcomed and made to feel comfortable straight away in a very tasteful environment. Didn't expect this level of luxury staying in a guest house and all the extra touches provided to make you feel a little bit pampered made the difference for us. Lovely room too and comfortable bed. Great breakfast with plenty of choice. Friendly and pleasant staff. We did enjoy our overnight break and appreciate the thoughtfulness that has gone into providing such a quality stay. Couldn't fault a thing. Definitely would recommend and keen to return when visiting Northumberland.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard House

Property: The Orchard House
Address: The Orchard House High Street, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7TL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious Georgian town house has a village location on the edge of the Northumberland National Park. All rooms offer free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TVs, Bose music systems and Egyptian cotton linen, slippers, bathrobes and luxury toiletries. The Orchard House is winner of the AA Guest Accommodation England 2008, and is Conde Nast Johansens Recommended 2009, and one of TripAdvisor Travellers’ Choice Top Ten Bargains in Europe 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Orchard House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchard House Hotel Rothbury
Orchard Hotel Rothbury
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard House Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing