We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nicely refurbished rooms, great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nicely refurbished rooms, great value for money”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the end of June/beginning of July this year for 2 nights, and had a lovely stay. We had one of the refurbished rooms on the top floor,which was great. Nice sized room, good views, sitting area, large bathroom with separate shower and comfortable bed and free wifi.
We ate in the Italian restaurant the first night. I liked the atmospheric darkness with candles and wooden floors, but was mightily relieved when the children's party left before we sat down to eat! The food was good, and the desert, a trio of locally made puds (sticky toffee, ginger and chocolate) was outstanding.
Breakfast was hearty and tasty the next morning. The owner is very personable and chatted to us on several occasions. He explained that the hotel was undergoing refurbishment on a rolling programme, which didn't disturb us at all; all of the loft rooms have been finished, and they are well worth a stay.
There are details of all the staff in an info pack in the room, which i thought was a nice touch.
Rothbury itself is rather quiet, although there is a good art gallery on the high street, and this hotel seems to be the best in the area; the restaurant got quite busy.
All in all a great stay, and we would return-it was excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a loft room, they are fab value for money,stylish and comfy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dramaqueenBelize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    257
    76
    27
    21
See reviews for
86
461
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We stayed for 2 nights and after reading mixed reviews, we were a little apprehensive. Our apprehension was unnecessary! We stayed in the Craster room on the top floor and were extremely pleased! It was clean, well kept, very well furnished and pretty much perfect! All the staff were extremely friendly and after many recommendations we decided to eat in the hotel's Italian restaurant both evenings, a decision we were not disappointed wth! The food is excellent and service equally so!

I would recommend this to couples and families alike, it is close to local attractions such as Alnwick Castle and you will not be disappointed!

We will definately be back!

Room Tip: I would say definately book direct on the hotel's website
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2011

The hotel was under going some refurbishment. The restaurant & bar area looked very dark with stained wood tables chairs floor & dark brown walls. First thoughts were that it was quite drab but on the evening the restaurant was busy & look Ok with candles & lights. The food was excellent & would certainly dine again if in the area. Gina & staff could not be more helpful - full marks to them. The bedroom was acceptable but the dark furniture & walls quite overbearing & the light carpet was badly marked. Lighter coloured walls, darker carpet & washable bathroom floor would have been better. Hope the management take note & implement during current refurbishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in a recently converted well equipped loft room at the Coquetvale hotel for two nights whilst travelling through the Borders and thoroughly enjoyed it even though it was a bit of a climb wit the luggage. The staff were very friendly, enthusiastic and helpful - nothing seemed to much bother for them. The breakfasts were excellent. We ate in the hotel Italian restaurant one evening where the food was good and reasonably priced. The hotel had fast wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rooksdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive to all our needs. The breakfasts were excellent and the restaurant meals very enjoyable. Our room was spacious, immaculately clean and quiet. The room was perhaps ready for refurbishment but this was reflected in the price and we could always book a superior room next time. The hospitality tray was comprehensive and very welcome after our days out in this beautiful part of the country, plenty of room for everything.

Room Tip: b ook early - choose a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

Travelled 200 miles to meet our daughter for Father's Day. We booked 2 rooms, paid for and confirmed by email. Only one room available. No other rooms available in Rothbury. Luckily we managed to find a farmhouse b+b via a friend of a friend - MUCH nicer place. They offered us a considerably reduced rate if we would like to stay on another occasion - no chance!

Room Tip: Phone them and confirm your booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oldy53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

As we turned into the car park we were slightly put off to see a pile of old wooden pallets and discarded floorboards heaped at the left hand front of the hotel. The debris had obviously been there for some time and was still there when we left four days later.
We were in room one, at the left hand end of the building. Every morning at about eight, a large refuse lorry reversed up the slope at our side of the hotel (with its audible warning going) to empty the hotel's wheelie bins. On the Thursday, the lorry came at 6.30 am.
On the first night, we were awakened at 3.30am by the slamming of doors as a noisy group of guests returned (not the hotel's fault of course). On the second evening at about eleven pm we were treated to the sounds and sighs of a woman clearly engaged in sexual activity in the room above.
The room was large with a lovely high ceiling. The room was spotlessly clean. the absence of a lift is a major disadvantage especially to older or disabled people.
The decor was amazingly shabby. The door lock was held in position in the door only by the barrel of the lock, part of the picture rail had been cut too short and badly fixed and had slipped out of line. The plastic bath trim was cracked and split and had been bodged to fix it to the wall. The wallpaper was coming off and the wooden mirror surround is so badly painted that there are large paint smears on the wall paper. The stains on the ceiling tell of a previous flood (how much would a lick of paint cost?). The thin stud-wall between the adjacent bathrooms allowed us clearly to hear the next-door occupant singing 'la Mer 'and talking to his children, though he was not speaking loudly.
None of the mitreing of the tiles in the bathroom seemed to have been done by a competent operative and had not even been attempted in many places. The grouting of the floor tiles was a poor in places.
The old-fashioned CTR television fell on me because, being too tall to fit on a stand inside the cupboard it stands on a makeshift shelf which is actually a polished plank of wood resting on two blocks. Unfortunately, the plank, being too long, caught on the cupboard doors which open and slide back inside the side walls. Pushing the doors back into the cupboard along the sides caused the too narrow plank to slip backwards past the centre of gravity of the TV and tip it onto me.
The drawers in the bedside tables are heavy and have no stops, so the first time I used the drawer it fell out onto my shins........... I could go on but have no wish to bore anyone.
The breakfast was adequate, the dark panelling in the dining room makes the room dark and gloomy.
I don't like to be critical but one might as well tell it like it is.
The scenery and amenities in the area are superb. Kielder Water was magnificent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atropa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing