We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Stayed over during our tour of Norhtumberland particulalry to visit Cragside (highly recommended). Last minute booking with the owner who was most obliging and offered us a choice of a standard or superior room with a £10 price difference. We were pleasantly surpised to find the standard was of a good size, appeared freshly decorated and offered more than adequate accommodation. Traditionally furnished with the usual facilites and a free WIFI connection available which we used. We dined in the Italian Restaurant in the hotel. The food was excellent and the service matched that quality both in the evening and at breakfast. Good information about the hotel and staff in the room and the light heaeryed comments were a nice touch

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    263
    77
    28
    22
See reviews for
91
468
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I read previous good reviews and was recommended by an aquaintance that this was the place to stay on our short trip to Northumberland, so I booked via the Internet with the hotel's website. The warm welcome from all members of staff was truly mind-blowing (like a big hug) .. they all went that extra mile and could write a book on customer service and positive 'can-do' attitude! We were so impressed with this.

Slightly less impressed however with our room (no 10). The hotel was not full and on the website the 'Classic Double' was said to have a King Size Bed .. ours was infact just a double!! Although immaculately clean and beautifully quiet (apart from squeaky floorboards) the decor was dark and dowdy (quite depressing actually but maybe others love it???) and not 'roomy' and no headboard either. It had all the necessary requirements of flat screen TV,refreshment making tray etc. The bathroom was shiny new, bright and fabulous!

Had a really super meal in their Italian restaurant and the breakfast was divine with loads of choice. The next morning the very cheerful and most obliging housekeeper showed us other rooms - as we were interested in a return visit at some point (but NOT to room 10) - and the size and decor of those we were shown were fantastic! I guess we were just unlucky, but it did not spoil our very good impression of this 3* hotel and would definitely recommend it to everyone.

The staff seem to take great pride in their work and are a credit to the hotel industry - I would award them 5 stars!!!

Room Tip: Not Room 10 unless you like dark decor and creaky floorboards!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozzieRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We stayed for one night at the Coquetvale Hotel whilst visiting the National Trust property at Cragside and the castle at Alnwick - both of which I thoroughly recommend as being very deserving of a visit. We had booked our room through the interenet and so were aware that the reception desk only opens at 5pm, facilities are provided however, for anyone arriving earlier. The welcome was friendly and efficient and we were quickly shown to our room on the second floor - there is no lift - which was very acceptable being clean, tidy and well supplied with tea/coffee, wi-fi, information pack, flat-screen TV, etc., etc.

We decided to have dinner in the hotel and following pre-dinner drinks in the bar area, moved into the dining room. The service was excellent, the food delicious,with a varied and wide menu, good-sized portions and reasonable prices for both the food and wine.

The owner of the hotel has been in the hotel trade and related businesses for quite some time and knows exactly what he is doing. It was difficult to fault any part of the hotel and the staff, a very welcome change from some other 3* hotels being offered in this country. We would definitely retun to this hotel when visiting this beautiful part of Northumberland and can fully recommend it to other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justSKIing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2011

We took my mother in law away for a long weekend to visit Alnwick Castle and so booked two nights at the Coquetvale Hotel.

The breakfast was superb - plenty of choice and something for everyone - I especially enjoyed the eggs benedict and the Coquetvale special (toasted muffin with black pudding and a poached egg). The breakfast room was really pleasant too, wood panelled and well appointed.

We ate one evening in the Italian restuarant which was also excellent.

The reason I say not quite perfect is because when we arrived the door was locked and the place looked closed, which wasn't the best start and then when you enter the carpet on the first couple of floors is quite soiled - but this is because it also serves the restaurant which gets very busy - but as a first impression it wasn't good.

The room was a good size with a very comfortable superking size bed and was very clean. There are one or two things which would really have improved the experience though. Just little things which would make a difference - there was no light on one side of the room and the hairdryer was fixed in the drawer of the chest of drawers some 12 feet or more away from the nearest mirror so it made for a difficult time trying to dry my hair. There was no dressing table in the bedroom.

Our bathroom was Ok although the paintwork was flaking above the picture rail but in my mother in law's room there was no shower screen and no hook to put the shower up onto - it could only be used hand-held. Nice fluffy towels.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would consider staying again. Rothbury is a nice little village with a few pubs and convenient for Alnwick and the coast.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherbutFizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Couldnt have asked for more.. Chris and his staff madesure our day went without any problems.. Food was and always is amazing and spending three nights in there superior room was amazing.. Thanks to all at the coquetvale..

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeyme01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

A comfortable, although somewhat creaky bed. Excellent food in the Italian restaurant and fantastic choice for breakfast. Would definitely consider using again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HoneyApples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

My daughter got married at the Coquetvale last week. The civil ceremony was held in a charming wood paneled room. The reception in the fabulous restaurant. The food was excellent, the service was excellent, the hotel was excellent. Our friends and family booked all of the rooms bar one for the wedding. No complaints about any of the rooms or any of the service. A lot of our guests were from "down South" and could not believe the quality at the price. Excellent value all round, thanks Coquetvale!!

Room Tip: You will not be disappointed with any but the rooms on the 2nd floor are EXCELLENT
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunc15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,250 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
326 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing