We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Cannot fault the Coquetvale Hotel. I have stayed here twice within the last year with my family and loved every minute. The family room is spacious, clean and jacuzzi a delight for our daughter. The staff, Linda, Gena and Rena are wonderful, so friendly and accommodating - more like friends than staff and have all the time in the world for our daughter, Niamh. Breakfast is a sumptious feast, cannot recommend it enough, fresh fruit ( not tinned ), cereals, croissants and freshly baked bread, porrridge, cooked breakfasts including the delish craster kippers...fantastic! We shall definitely be back again and again.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leoxlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    257
    76
    27
    21
See reviews for
86
461
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Date of stay 16/17 August 2012

The positives of this hotel are that most of the common parts are clean and tidy, some of the rooms we peeked into while they were being serviced are very large and that our own room was spacious considering it was one of four in the converted loft.

Members of staff were very friendly and obliging throughout and greeted every enquiry with a smile although the reception on the ground floor was never attended and all transactions took place at restaurant level on the first floor.

Minor points about our room, Dunstanburgh; it was either gloomy with two weak bedside lamps or like a football stadium when the centre lamp was turned on. The shower room door opened into the bedroom and the shower itself was a domestic size unit with a curved corner making it very difficult to wash without bumping into wall or glass surround. The extractor in the shower room was noisy and a fridge hummed constantly in the bedroom.

The car park is poorly surfaced with skant markings. When I suggested to the owner that better marking would lead to better parking he commented that guests would still park how they liked. The car park is not big enough for the number of guests and users of the restaurant. On the second night of our stay we had to park on the street.

Hotels only get one chance to make a good first impression. Unfortunately, because of the state of the car park and the wet weather the carpet on the first flight of stairs was filthy. If the hotel extended the entrance matwell up the glass door or used a wipe off mat this problem could be alleviated, as guest the carpet would have wiped shoes. The remaining four flights to our room looked clean as was the common parts.

Breakfast was located in a dark and gloomy room on the first floor. The breakfast offered was excellent ranging for cereal, fruit, yoghurt and a number of cooked options. The first floor also has a dark panelled bar and the Italia restaurant, both having walls adorned with show business photographs and autographs.

Would we stay again? Unlikely as we cannot foresee an occasion to return to Rothbury. We tried to cancel our second night but were told that we would have to pay if we stayed or left as they have a three-day cancellation policy.

http://www.coquetvale.co.uk/

Room Tip: Be aware of three day cancellation policy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed here 2 weeks ago and was hesitant to comment for fear of being over complimentary. Having stayed for a second time the worst thing that can be said is that it's off the main trunk roads and tourist trails! Most folks would count that as a plus.

To visit Rothbury is to step back in time, to the days when everyone knew everyone else and a greeting was expected, not treated with suspicion.

The hotel used to be the Station Hotel, but the railway left in the 1960's. The hotel went slowly downhill until the current owners took it in hand about 5 years ago and must have made a very substantial investment.

The rooms are well furnished and equipped in styles combining current style with tradition. Rooms on the second floor are numbered, while those on the 3rd floor have names. Dunstanburgh has a fairly low ceiling and a noisy fridge that I would probably turn off overnight if staying again. No 6 has a high ceiling and lots of space.

The hotel is quiet and it would be easy to oversleep!

It's off the trunk roads, but if travelling to Scotland via the A1 it might be worth making the diversion along the A697 from Morpeth via Wooler to stay a night en route.

We paid an internet rate of £69 b&b, and have paid more than twice the price elsewhere for much poorer accommodation.

The Italia Restaurant deserves praise in its own right. 5 star cuisine in a smart dining room at quite reasonable prices offering excellent value for money on a very varied menu. Breakfast is good, too.

A snag could be that the hotel is being discovered. Many nights it's full. Prices for similar service elsewhere would be much higher.

In Rothbury you must visit Cragside House and gardens - allow at least a half day if you want to get the most from a visit there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradway9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Stayed for three nights to celebrate retiring.
On arriving the receptionist was very helpful and informative.
All staff in the hotel were very very friendly,nothing was any trouble at all.
The room was spotless and had everthing to hand.
Food was fantastic.
Had a great stay no complaints, would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

We just had a delightful short stay at The Coquetvale Hotel. A very friendly reception was followed soon after by a lovely meal in the Italia + restaurant. If you go for the early bird meal (5:00 to 6:30) then your main course costs the same as the time you order it, e.g. order at 5:35 and you main course is £5.35. Italia + is a first class Italian restaurant with a good and varied menu and wine list. It is well worth a visit even if you are not staying at the hotel. Don't forget to book first as it fills up quickly.
All the staff we met at The Coquetvale we friendly and helpful and we really enjoyed our short stay. It's definitely on our list the next time we want to explore Northumberland.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Stayed for a week in August at the Coquetvale with my wife and daughter.It is a fantastic little hotel with great facilities and friendlly staff.This is the third time we have stayed here in the last 12 months so needless to say we do like it

The room we stayed in was at the front of the hotel with a great view over Rothbury,we also had a jacuzzi bath which my daughter loved.The breakfast is awesome with a really good choice but the chef makes an absolutely superb Craster kipper, I'm sure everything else he makes is great but the kipper was my choice each morning of our stay.The hotel restaurant is also very good,lots of locals use it as well so that in itself is a good sign.I have stayed in more expensive places that have not even offerred half the comfort and attention you get at the Coquetvale so have no hesitation in reccomending it to others as a great place to stay at a very fair price.A big thank you to Lynda ,Gina and Rema for another lovely stay with a big Hi from Niamh and see you all again at Easter.

Room Tip: Best rooms at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here on a 3 day trip to Nothumberland. We stayed at the hotel 20 years ago so it was a nice return trip and were pleased to see all the excellent alterations that have been made.
20 years ago the hotel was in a tired and distressed condition, but always displayed potential. Now the potential has been realised, the hotel is modern were it counts ( in the bedrooms) and traditional in appearance in other places.
Our bedroom up in the attic was superb, great facilities,tv,bed,tea and coffee making,mini bar, high quality furnishings and superb bathroom with excellent towels.
Breakfasts were downstairs next door to the Italian restaurant served efficiently and courteously by very pleasant staff.
All in all a very pleasant experience in a lovely part of Britain.
Well done!!

Room Tip: Attic rooms are well worth the money and the extra effort of the additnal flight of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GilbertSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing