We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Curates Egg”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Curates Egg”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were visiting Cragside the next day. The restaurant is lovely and the food and service first rate. Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and well presented. However although the restaurant and breakfast rooms look great the corridors and bathrooms could do with a bit of TLC. as we were only here for one night we hardly noticed but I think if I were having a longer break I might be a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRASSM0NKEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    291
    257
    76
    27
    21
See reviews for
86
461
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Neath
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We stayed here for four nights last week. We loved it! The food was superb at both dinner(we ate in three evenings) and breakfast. The Rothbury sausages at breakfast are so good I can still taste them!The restaurant which is open to the public is as good as you will anywhere I would suggest both in terms of fittings, ambience and food. The Staff are first class. They are attentive and very knowledgeable about Northumberland and willingly shared their knowledge of the County.

This was our first-ever visit to Northumberland and we chose this hotel because of it's location and reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed and will stay here again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidAnne65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alfreton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The approach to the hotel does it no favours,the signs are not clear being partially obscured by overgrown weeds/foilage The car park needs resurfacing and all the borders need edging and weeding.The fascia boards are in desperate need of painting and the outside of the building require a general tidy up. Reception Area is quite a pleasant ,having been refurbished to a good standard.Unfortunately the beige stair carpet leading up from reception is filthy. Things improve the higher you climb and the wide corridors are lovely.Our Room No 3 was of good size but to be honest needed decorating. The main niggle in this room was you had to boil the kettle on the floor as the flex on the kettle was not long enough to reach down from the hospitality tray. We found the breakfasts to be of good quality and Lynda,Front of House Manager very friendly and helpful [A REAL ASSET TO THIS HOTEL]

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbeardsleysmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed 1 night and the hotel was full of charm with original features. The food was excellent, both breakfast and the Italian restaurant in the evening. A lovely place to stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed here two nights, in one of the refurbished attic rooms. It was spacious enough and clean, but we would have preferred a king size bed (only a standard double was provided) as there was room for one. There are a lot of steps up to the attic, but we were prepared for this, and it was quiet. The restaurant was nice but not special. The breakfast was disappointing, and we didn't think it deserved a good breakfast award (as shown on a plaque by the front door).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelpal50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laren, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

The first stop on our Scotland trip, not yet in Scotland, but not far from it either. Rothbury is a good stop if you care to visit Victorian highlight of Cragside. Other than that there is beautiful countryside and there are no other towns close by with similar facilities. We picked this hotel because of its reasonable price and its promising website. The hotel proved to be one of those rambling buildings, with attachments on every side. The room really belonged to it: old fashioned decor, wallpapered from floor to ceiling. It could have done with a thorough Spring cleaning, or with a full renovation, but it was comfortable enough. The bed was too. In the end it gets a "very good" because it was quiet, pleasantly staffed and the breakfast was excellent (and this for 69 pounds).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coen1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2013

Just come back after a 2 night stay all I can say is that the service was great very very friendly

staff and owners nothing was to much trouble the food is perfect breakfast cooked to order
rooms large very clean I will go back again thank you to all the staff for such a plesant weekend

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing