We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank Holiday Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel over the Whitsun bank holiday with my husband whilst visiting Craig Side National Trust site. We where accommodated in one of the attic rooms, which we found very comfortable. The room had an en suite with towels and toiletries, a comfortable double bed, a small table with two arm chairs, a fully stocked mini bar and wine, as well as tea and coffee making facilities with biscuits. It was nicely decorated with framed pictures of local landmarks and extremely quiet, our room was located towards the back of the hotel away from the road and car park .

The staff were extremely friendly and did there utmost to make our stay a pleasant one. We had problems with the TV remote and they sorted it out promptly. Breakfast was excellent with a very good selection of cereals, breads / rolls, yogurts, fresh fruit and juices. My husband enjoyed his full English each morning and I thoroughly enjoyed my Eggs Benedict, one of the best I have ever tasted.

We also dined at the on site Italian restaurant, again both the food and presentation was of a high quality and quite reasonable. The only problem we encountered was when we booked out we noticed we had been charged for the delivery of two pizza's from the restaurant, lucky for us the man taking payment had waited on us in the restaurant the previous night. it wasn't the hotels error but the couple who were in the room next to us who had given are room name !!! some people hey. Overall I would recommend this hotel to family and friends alike.

Room Tip: Would recommend an attic bed room, comfortable and quiet. However no lift, so not for guests with di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Orangejelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2013

It starts well with a very warm welcome & a walk upstairs to an airy landing leading to a nice looking large room [we booked a superior room]. The room had windows on 2 walls which helped keep us cool during the warm weather. So far so good.
Then we noticed everything was looking a little tired & worn. The carpet had a huge cut in the centre of the room where it seemed to have been lifted for some floor repair. However it had not been stuck down again and was fraying at the edges & in danger of being kicked up evrytime it was walked over. Either sticking down or putting a rug over would solve the problem. The ceiling had cobwebs hanging down from a water stained ceiling that looked in need of repainting. In the bathroom, the shower head seemed to be held on by sticky tape & when the shower was turned on water squirted in all directions. It took a while for the hot water to reach our room and we discovered the shower drain was blocked & the shower tray virtually overflowing before you could have a shower. Never mind the room also has a bath with a shower attachment so my wife could wash her hair there. Wrong. The lever to switch the taps to the shower head was snapped off.
We went back to reception to report the fault but they only seem to operate reception in the afternoon until 5pm so the place was deserted. That is when we noticed just how filthy the entrance stair carpet is. It must have been walked over by a 1000 muddy boots.
So much needs to be done to bring the place back up to scratch. This hotel could be so nice but it has the air of somewhere that has run out of funds. It does not match its description of itself on the website.
The hotel's Italian restaurant describes itself as the Finest Cuisine in the Heart of Northumberland which is either wildly optimistic or perhaps it is the only one. It is an OK Italian-ish restaurant but nowhere near as special as their web site infers. However, if you forget its own hype - and the fact that many dishes are only vaguely Italian - then the food is enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arby27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Found this hotel when planning a last-minute stay in Northumberland, tucked away on a quiet road, yet a really pleasant experience. I would whole-heartedly recommend this hotel to anyone!
Pro:
-Food excellent, vegetarian options for breakfast-rather than the usual "Just take off the bacon and sausage". The hotel incorporates a locally-famous italian-style restaurant, with an excellent selection of food and wines, again with vegetarian choices.
-The rooms have a lovely 'old-fashioned elegance' feel to them, beds are comfortable, with an en-suite shower and bath etc. Towels/toiletries are supplied. No noise from the road or other guests gets into the room, so a good night's sleep.
-Staff are invariably polite, friendly, and helpful, with a good knowledge of local attractions and tourist spots.
-free on-site parking.
Cons:
Not good access for disabled guests, in that it is built on the side of a hill and to adapt for lifts etc would not be possible. Although I am walking disabled, the staff had told me before I booked that I would have to walk upstairs to the bedrooms, so I just had to allow an extra 20 mins a day to get up and down the 42 steps to the room from the car park.

Room Tip: -If you need anything, it is best to ask when you book. -You will save 12% by booking direct from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We went to this hotel as all others in Rothbury were booked up, a nice guy on the phone, a nice lady waiting at the door, clean refurbed bedrooms. On the front door it said the hotel had won a breakfast award, I guess the award was for the worse breakfast in the UK, not what we asked for, small, 2 eggs ( I asked for fried and got poached) next day just as bad, half a slice of toast, 1 rasher of bacon. sorry not worth over £80.00 per night, wont be going back there again.

Room Tip: good rooms for sleeping etc, but breakfast a very big let down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peterclass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We chose this hotel as it was within very easy distance of CRAGSIDE, the former home of Lord Armstrong (Victorian engineering genius and industrial magnate).

Our first casual impression was that the hotel entrance door seemed small, being partly hidden by a parked car. However, the welcome we received in the hotel by the manager was very warm and proficient, giving us a guided tour of the building, the unusual public rooms and layout, complete with a more detailed history that pace will not allow me to repeat. N.b. there is no lift, so there are 2 flights of stairs (with returns), to reach the rooms.

Our large room was facing the side and rear of the hotel, so we had 2 windows, a bonus for natural light, but there were no interesting views. We were delighted to find a wardrobe big enough for to 2 occupants, unlike many modern hotels. The bathroom was also large, well furnished and a Jacuzzi bath as a bonus!

The panelled bar and restaurant are on the first floor, decorated sympathetically and in keeping with the period of the hotel, but the menu was not Victorian thankfully, but Italian. I enjoyed the best seafood linguine I have eaten outside Italy! This restaurant was obviously popular with locals and I certainly recommend it. There was no draught English beer at the bar, but the bottled beer was almost as good. The wine selection was not massive, but a good choice of type and country and reasonably priced.

There is a patio next to the bar were snacks and drinks can be taken in good weather, with a view over the valley at this end of the village of Rothbury, which is about ½ mile from the high street.

The breakfast was friendly and relaxed thanks to the staff, with a wonderful menu to give anyone a great start to the day. This separate Victorian breakfast room is another example of interesting panelling.

There is plenty of parking spaces at the front of the hotel and only a few yards to move your luggage to the reception on the ground floor.

There is still work needed to improve the hotel appearance e.g. the carpet on the lower flight of steps from reception to the frost floor are desperately in need of cleaning, and the door separating the restaurant from downstairs is completely blank and shabby, discouraging anyone to open it form either side.

We look forward to revisiting this hotel with its friendly informal manner, to explore this very attractive and unspoilt part of the countryside.

Room Tip: Only rooms at the front have a view over this quiet end of the town. Do try the restuarant, it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morecustard2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Thought hotel had closed down on arrival. Weeds on drive and dead plants in window boxes by door. Room looked very nice and bathroom seemed to be new and there was plenty of hot water. But part of cold tap fell off and hot tap swivelled to face backwards. Toilet handle was a bare bolt. Bedside light not working. Very disappointing. Could be so good with more attention.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coquetvale_Manager, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

Dear Ann W
I read your review with disappointment, having spoken to my management I understand that you were happy enough with the hotel and did not highlight any problems until you wanted to check out early due to a family commitment. My manager explained that as it was too short notice(on the day you were meant to be staying) we would have to charge all these "problems" were highlighted.
Sorry you were not happy with the performance of the Coquetvale but tripadvisor is not meant to be a platform to have a go at hotels because you were not happy with us charging you in line with the agreed terms and conditions.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We stayed here for a night and were really pleased. The staff are friendly and helpful. Room was large although it did overlook the rear of the hotel which meant you had the sound of the kitchen extraction fans till around 2200hrs - and the started again around 0730. We ate in their Italian restaurant and were happy with the food and wine.
I would stay again but the one thing which caused me a little twitch was the state of the car park - OK for cars but if you're on a large heavy touring bike the gravel, holes and sloped surface caused me a couple of clenching moments.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank North_Starr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,297 reviews
9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 11 in Rothbury
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
149 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £78 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing