We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Staff very friendly especially Adele who recommended a few local pubs to us. Rooms nice but bed very uncomfortable as it was 2 singles put together. The restaurant was great with fab food and the breakfast was great too. Would recommend it to friends

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Elaina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    263
    77
    28
    22
See reviews for
91
467
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Visited here last weekend with my family and had one of the best sunday lunches I've had in years! .. Really worth a vist great atmosphere, great decor, great views and great service! Got quite busy on a Sunday so may be worth booking in advance!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbirch1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Went to stay for our 45th wedding anniversary, as we had spent our honeymoon here. The welcome was good and the service was excellent with Lynne showing us to our room. The evening meal was very good and later retired to a comfortable room. We finished our stay with an excellent breakfast which set us up nicely for the rest of the day.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunderland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

we stayed at the hotel on the 16 and 17 january enjoyed it very much had a loft room the alnwick room the only thing was the heating was'nt very warm but we were given a fan heater to compensate, we had a meal in the restaraunt and we loved it, can i just congratulate the staff they are a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank makem70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My husband and I spent a night at this hotel for my birthday. When we arrived we were greeted by Lynne, a very friendly and professional member of staff who showed us to our room. On the way up she asked if we were just having ourselves a treat away, I explained that it was my birthday and that we had decided to stay overnight and have a meal. When we were shown into the room Lynne said that we could stay in that room if we were happy to do so, but as it was a special occasion they had a nicer room that had not yet been taken, and if we wanted we could have that one instead. Needless to say we were extremely delighted! We were even happier when there was a knock at our door later that afternoon and there was Lynne with a bottle of wine which had been left for us in the original room! The room itself was comfortable and very clean, the hotel is in need of refurbishment which we believe is to begin very soon. Our evening meal was delicious as was breakfast next morning. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would recommend the restaurant to non-residents as it is a lovely place to dine out. We will certainly stay again once the refurbishments have taken place.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are at the front of the building with a lovely view over Rothbury
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed with my boyfriend. The hotel was really nice and staff were all friendly. Had a meal in the hotel and it was really nice. Good location for simonside and there are a few local pubs close to the hotel. The breakfast was lovely too and lots of choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisa_moore100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

My Wife and I stayed at the Coquetvale on a midweek Groupon deal we paid a small supplement for a room upgrade as we fancied a Jaccuzzi bath which by the way was an excellent decision as it was marvellous the room was in need of a make over but only cosmetically (the new owner is about to revamp all rooms) we slept very well in the huge bed and overall had a lovely time can't wait to go back when refurbishments are complete we ate both nights in the wonderful restaurant the food was beautiful and the breakfast delicious very friendly staff very helpful also would recommend to anyone

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian0559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,248 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.8 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing