We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentines Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A christmas gift from my daughter. Meal was excellent, staff perfect, accomodation comfortable.
We were well looked after from the moment we arrived until the morning we left. The meal was accompanied by a local singer, Olivia Morley, who kept us entertained for the whole evening.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send the review. Sorry for the belated response, but we wanted to wait until after the refurbishment. We have just completed a full redecoration of the hotel and all of the rooms.

I hope that you can join us again soon to see all of the changes.

Best Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent a couple of nights at the Coquetvale Hotel in Rothbury in February 2014.
As the owner states in the hotel "manual", he acquired the hotel after it had gone into receivership and is gradually trying to improve it. To be honest, it still needs a little TLC but, overall, we were certainly enjoyed our stay. Our bedroom was huge, clean and welcoming. Breakfast was enjoyable and the hotel boasts an "in-house" Italian restaurant which we found to be a little quirky but good.(The pate earned a place on my "world-ranked" list!)
All the staff were pleasant, amenable and helpful. Our planned ascent of Simonside was aborted due to the wind and hail showers but a pleasant afternoon was spent ambling along the river.
We are certainly considering returning for another short break later in the year. The only true criteria on which to base these reviews is "value for money" and we are of the opinion that this hotel certainly provided excellent value for our cash.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMBRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the fab review. Just to let you know we have now fully refurbished the hotel including all public corridors and bedrooms. We look forward to the next time you visit so that you can see what we have done with the place.

Best regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a great weekend at the Coquetvale. The outside of the hotel is a little tired but once inside you can tell you are entering something special. This was originally the Station Hotel and has some grand features. Our room was larger than average and well appointed. We arrived fairly late on the Sunday evening when the restaurant is normally closed but we were welcomed to take up the Sunday dinner menu. Having just done a 12 mile walk we were really glad that we didn't have to set off in to the town again to find something to eat. We were well attended to and really enjoyed the meal which was hot, substantial and had a good range of vegetables. The passion fruit and mango iced cheescake was to die for. The choice at breakfast was very varied and having pigged out the evening before I went for a fruit starter and the vegetarian breakfast which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were all very attentive and friendly and obviously proud of "their" hotel. We would like to return to the Coquetvale and explore this lovely area more - its a must for walkers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Just to let you know we have just completed a refurbishment of the whole hotel, and this week we will be doing all of the outdoor areas including the new Views Terrace & Bar.

We hope that you can return soon to see what we have done with the place.

Best regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself and my partner have just spent a fantastic valentines weekend with Bev and the staff at the Coquetvale Hotel , the food in the evening was wonderful , however the breakfast was outstanding made with all local ingredients ... A fantastic weekend on the fantastic Northumberland Countryside

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Only stayed the one night but had a very relaxing stay. Room had been recently refurbished and had a spa type bath which was a pleasant surprise and great for unwinding. Food in the Italian themed restaurant was of a good standard and staff extremely attentive. Full breakfast was accompanied by a large choice of preserves for the toast including unusual ones such as ginger jam. Would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 9 has been refurbished and has a spa bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiftySomethingCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We found this hotel through Groupon and were reluctant to travel to Northumberland at this time of year. Nevertheless, our fears were unfounded as we had a terrific time! Although the fabric of the hotel is a little tired, this is more than compensated for by the way we were looked after by all the staff, who really care about their guests. The food was excellent and the service was superb! Oh, and the weather wasn't too bad!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thrumhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Amazing little place, with some aspects of a 4* hotel. Staff were really friendly, and attentive, food was amazing. Spoke to the manager, who was saying the hotel had recently been taken over, and that the new owners were in the middle of refurbishing the hotel. Didn't look too bad to start with, apart from the carpets could do with a clean, but apparently they are being replaced in the middle of the month. Went walking around Simonside which offers breathtaking views over the Valley. Strongly recommend the Northumbrian Breakfast, its was by far the best hotel breakfast we have ever had. Overall lovely weekend have already booked to go back in April, want to see Craggside. Good luck to the new owners.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in one of the new rooms near the front of the hotel, amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,278 reviews
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
338 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
119 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £79 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing