We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Coquetvale Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Le Petit Chateau(Otterburn)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (726)
Filter reviews
726 results
Traveller rating
322
273
78
29
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
322
273
78
29
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantloft roomlovely hotelnew ownersduty managerno lifton arrivalboth nightstoastfirst floornorthumbrian breakfastold buildingenjoyable staymy partnerbar areabreakfast was excellentcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
380 - 385 of 726 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

A surprise Christmas present from my sister and what a lovely hotel. No problems with parking outside the hotel and the check in was a breeze. The duty manager was very pleasant and helpful. The room was clean, beds comfortable and quite roomy. The hotel is in need of a little TLC which the staff admitted was an ongoing process, however this didn't spoil our stay. We ate in the Italian themed restaurant in the hotel which was good. The service was excellent and the young staff very attentive. The breakfast was excellent with a great choice, however I can recommend the full Northumbrian breakfast. Once the TLC is completed then this will only improve the hotel overall. Its a great part of the country and we'll be back. It was a shame we only stayed one night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilbo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to write the review. So glad you enjoyed your stay! With regards to the TLC, i would have totally agreed, however we have just completed a refurb of all the public areas. All decoration is complete in bedrooms and public corridors, as well as new carpets fitted throughout, we also now have a lovely reception area. Our next project is to get the new bar seats which are being delivered on this coming Friday and then the outdoor areas are being tackled including the new Views Terrace & Bar.

I hope that you can visit us again soon to see all of the changes.

Best Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A christmas gift from my daughter. Meal was excellent, staff perfect, accomodation comfortable.
We were well looked after from the moment we arrived until the morning we left. The meal was accompanied by a local singer, Olivia Morley, who kept us entertained for the whole evening.
All in all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arty64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send the review. Sorry for the belated response, but we wanted to wait until after the refurbishment. We have just completed a full redecoration of the hotel and all of the rooms.

I hope that you can join us again soon to see all of the changes.

Best Regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Spent a couple of nights at the Coquetvale Hotel in Rothbury in February 2014.
As the owner states in the hotel "manual", he acquired the hotel after it had gone into receivership and is gradually trying to improve it. To be honest, it still needs a little TLC but, overall, we were certainly enjoyed our stay. Our bedroom was huge, clean and welcoming. Breakfast was enjoyable and the hotel boasts an "in-house" Italian restaurant which we found to be a little quirky but good.(The pate earned a place on my "world-ranked" list!)
All the staff were pleasant, amenable and helpful. Our planned ascent of Simonside was aborted due to the wind and hail showers but a pleasant afternoon was spent ambling along the river.
We are certainly considering returning for another short break later in the year. The only true criteria on which to base these reviews is "value for money" and we are of the opinion that this hotel certainly provided excellent value for our cash.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMBRamblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for the fab review. Just to let you know we have now fully refurbished the hotel including all public corridors and bedrooms. We look forward to the next time you visit so that you can see what we have done with the place.

Best regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just returned from a great weekend at the Coquetvale. The outside of the hotel is a little tired but once inside you can tell you are entering something special. This was originally the Station Hotel and has some grand features. Our room was larger than average and well appointed. We arrived fairly late on the Sunday evening when the restaurant is normally closed but we were welcomed to take up the Sunday dinner menu. Having just done a 12 mile walk we were really glad that we didn't have to set off in to the town again to find something to eat. We were well attended to and really enjoyed the meal which was hot, substantial and had a good range of vegetables. The passion fruit and mango iced cheescake was to die for. The choice at breakfast was very varied and having pigged out the evening before I went for a fruit starter and the vegetarian breakfast which I thoroughly enjoyed. The staff were all very attentive and friendly and obviously proud of "their" hotel. We would like to return to the Coquetvale and explore this lovely area more - its a must for walkers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grasswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.

Just to let you know we have just completed a refurbishment of the whole hotel, and this week we will be doing all of the outdoor areas including the new Views Terrace & Bar.

We hope that you can return soon to see what we have done with the place.

Best regards

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Myself and my partner have just spent a fantastic valentines weekend with Bev and the staff at the Coquetvale Hotel , the food in the evening was wonderful , however the breakfast was outstanding made with all local ingredients ... A fantastic weekend on the fantastic Northumberland Countryside

Sent from my iPad

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews