We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Enjoyed our two night stay, the room was clean and comfortable. The staff were friendly and food in restaurant was good and very reasonable. The only thing I didn't like in the bar and restaurant were the celebrity pictures, the surroundings were spoiled by them, I had a photo of Freddie Starr looking at me at dinner, it's an Italian themed restaurant so something more In keeping would be much nicer. Rothbury is a lovely village and the surrounding area worth a visit

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Elders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write the review.

Glad you had a comfy stay, and it was lovely to speak to you in the bar. People have very different views on the pictures, we are refurbishing the bar and Restaurant and keeping the current pictures in the bar and introducing something new for the Restaurant.

You will have to visit again to see the changes!

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a lovely nights stay here with a groupon offer. It's a nice friendly hotel. The staff are lovely. We stayed in room number 10, which was clean and warm. The room was a good size. In the evening we decided to eat in the restaurant. The food was very nice and well presented. The hotel is still under refurbishment and will be lovely when finished. Unfortunately they are using the residents lounge to store everything so there is no comfy seats to just sit and relax. It is ideally situated for Cragside.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thanks for taking the the time to send a review.

We are so glad you had a nice stay and enjoyed eating in the Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Experienced a great weekend away at this fabulous hotel in Rothbury. Very welcoming & polite staff. The food was to a very high quality and really enjoyed it. The hotel has recently been taken over by new owners and can see alot of work being done to the hotel, its looking great. The hotel is in a lovely area and met some really kind, friendly people around rothbury. Would advise people to book up at this hotel, stayed in superior room 2 with whirl pool bath, Fantastic! thanks x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paularmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a positive review. And we are glad that you had a great stay. We are doing our best to make the place as comfortable and enjoyable as possible for all our guests.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Had a amazing stay at this hotel. The service provided was great, everybody is very welcoming and helpful. Very clean and well looked after, the hotel has abit of work going on at the minute as it's just been took over my new owners and everything is being changed to new. We had a meal at the Italian restaurant in the hotel and really enjoyed it. It was my mam's birthday weekend away and the new owners even brought a cake and glasses of champaign to the table and sang happy birthday to celebrate with us which i thought was a really kind gesture. Recommend anybody to stay at this hotel and get the perfect weekend away, can't wait to book up here again. Many thanks x

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmiBurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Hi Amiburt

Thanks for taking time out to write the review.

We are so glad you had a great stay, and enjoyed dinner in the restaurant. If you follow us on Facebook and Twitter you'll see forthcoming offers to entice you back.

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Stayed here for on a one night deal. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and we were given a spacious, clean room We ate in the restaurant and the food was delicious and plentiful as was the breakfast the following morning. Would thoroughly recommenend the Coquetvale and we will certainly reurn in the foture.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rokers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

When I was at this hotel in July 2013 the outside was really disappointing with flowerbeds awash with weeds. The carpet on the stairs from the reception area upstairs was shiny and matted.
The room was okay although the fridge made such a noise it got turned off. The shelf in the bathroom was fixed so it was sloping and therefore nothing could be out on it.
Breakfast was meager! I asked for poached eggs, bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes. I got 1 poached egg, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 mushroom and half a tomato. Not a place I would recommend or stay at again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dewforrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Guest

I am so sorry to hear that you had such a disappointing stay with the hotel last July. We only took over the Coquetvale in November 2013, so any issues were out of our control. However I am pleased to say that we have just completed a refurbishment of the Hotel including all bedrooms and public areas including the carpet, which I agree had seen better days. Our breakfasts are made up of locally sourced ingredients,and are one of the many highlights of guest stays of late. Our new chef is doing an excellent job with the food in general, and staff have been retrained on the service side of things.

I really hope that you will revisit the Coquetvale again soon to see the changes we have made, and I am sure you will have a pleasant stay.

Many Thanks

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The owner of this hotel was so friendly and all the staff couldn't do enough for you.The room was large and warm,the beds were very comfortable,the bathroom very clean and the breakfast was freshly cooked and delicious.......refurbishment was going on and a new carpet was laid throughout...hope this hotel is a success!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammowatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2014

Dear Pammowatt

Really pleased to hear you had a nice stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Many thanks

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,297 reviews
9 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 11 in Rothbury
123 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
149 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £79 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing