We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2014

A beautiful sunny day for Afternoon Tea in the beer garden overlooking the hillside around Rothbury.
The staff were very friendly.
Afternoon tea was good - fresh tasty sandwiches, lovely homemade scones with butter, jam and clotted cream, fresh Victoria sandwich cake, Danish pastries and a big pot of tea with top up.
We really enjoyed it.
Many thanks

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Holcombe504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Hi Holcombe504

Thank you for taking the time to review. If you want to come back we have 2 for £20 on the afternoon teas.


Look forward to seeing you soon.

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (707)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 707 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

I went for a meal out with friends just after xmas 2013 and the meal was out of this world! The whole experience was nice, good good, well presented, drinks good and the service was first rate! It was a traditional meal but made with local food!

Room Tip: I didn't stay so couldn't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northumbriagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Northumbriagirl

Thanks so much for taking the time to write your review.

So glad you noticed the quality of the food and the service. You should take a look at the website to see what food/ entertainment offers coming up. if you like traditional food we do an amazing Sunday lunch...

See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was our second stay at the Coquetvale and it still is a great hotel. The rooms are huge , not really surprising given the buildings Victorian origins. The staff are really friendly and helpful.The food was excellent (breakfast and Dinner) and they now do local beers, We used it as a base for completing sections of St Oswald's Way and the local taxi firm (Potts) were excellent. Prompt, chatty, good prices and knowledgeable about the local area

Room Tip: It's an old building with no lift so the less mobile will want a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neanderslob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear Neanderslob

Many thanks for taking the time to review the hotel. I will pass your comments on to the team, it always gives them a boost to hear that they've given guests a good stay.

If you would like to sign up for our newsletter, twitter or facebook, you can see our latest offers and events.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We wanted a hotel close to Cragside and The Coquetvale fits the bill perfectly. We received a very warm and friendly welcome and enjoyed a very tasty Italian meal in the restaurant that evening; the service was, again, excellent. A very clean and comfortable room, a good bathroom with lovely towels.
I think there may have been a few problems with the hot water system as the shower was incredibly hot with no apparent way of reducing the temperature any further but, that apart, we would certainly return to The Coquetvale on a future trip.
Thanks for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Rod

We really appreciate you taking the time to write this review, I will pass your comments onto the team.

Can I just ask if you made someone aware of the issue with the shower? If not, and you could let me know the room number at lee@coquetvale.co.uk I will have this dealt with ASAP.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

P.S Don't forget to sign up to the newsletter or Facebook and Twitter for our upcoming events and latest offers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed for the weekend whilst visiting alnwick only a 25 min drive away. Great location really friendly staff and nice food . We would certainly return and recommend . The young lad who we think was duty manager even played tom cruise for us :)

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinmaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Colinmaso

Thanks for this! Its always good to here people have had a good stay, and that the staff have gone above and beyond to make that happen.

I am presuming by Tom Cruise you mean James!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

thought id add my comments after being asked to write a review by the hotel receptionist
not a bad little place staff and management trying there best to please everyone, saw one lady there 24hrs don't think she goes to bed.
restaurant food was fine service was steady , bar area lacks a little something very plain looking,
but I would return and recommend the Hotel to other travellers I was told its under new ownership
and lots going on .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Jonathan

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It all helps to improve our customer experience.

We are currently refurbishing the hotel and would have loved to complete the bar before the season began, however we have missed that boat. Therefore we are closing in January to complete the bar and restaurant area.

I will pass your comments on to the team as it always gives them a boost to know people are happy with there efforts.

We would love to see you again to see the improvements that have been made. If you sign up to our newsletter you will receive all the upcoming events news and also any special offers.

Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Lovely area. Perfect location for me. I just feel it needs a little attention to detail. The decor feels tired, wallpaper peeling, paintwork cracked. Room was large and airy with a comfy small double bed. The window banged when open which was irritating. Fresh clean towels were fluffy. Toilet flush button was missing, cracked tiles in bathroom and poor water pressure. Free wifi was great. Staff were pleasant and breakfast was perfectly acceptable. With a little attention to detail it would be first class, as it is now it was adequate.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katej150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Hi Kate

Many thanks for your review.

Would it be possible to drop me a line on lee@coquetvale.co.uk to establish a few more details?

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,281 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
119 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £80 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing