We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best service ever” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Coquetvale Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Best service ever”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just stayed for 3 nights in a lovely spacious room (room 1). I cannot praise the staff enough, definitely the best service I have ever had in a hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. The large chains should come and learn! Rothbury is a great base for Alnick, Cragside and the beach and a pleasant place for riverside walks, cafés and a bit of shopping.
Lynne

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Lynn

Thanks so much for the positive feedback, and we are so pleased that you had a great stay. I have passed your comments onto the team and they were very appreciated.

We will look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Take care

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    243
    72
    26
    20
See reviews for
75
443
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a weekend away to see family in the North East and booked the Coquetvale due to its location. Stayed in room 2 and as has been described in earlier posts its a truly massive room with ensuite bathroom. Firstly the equally massive bed turned out to be two single mattress's pushed together to make a super king/king sized bed. The shower head and pipe had obviously been broken during installation and more water spurted out of the pipe at the shower head than came out of the shower head itself which was somewhat amusing, luckily the bath had a shower attachment. The toilet had to be flushed repeatedly to make it actually flush properly.
Ate in the restaurant on the first night and the staff were exemplary and the food nice (although the panacotta could do with some more work - its supposed to taste of white chocolate not just cream).
We would highly recommend visiting Thropton just up the road (specifically the Three Wheat Heads) for a different choice of food.
All in all a nice place, however, bit like a school report the words "could do better" or "must try harder" spring to mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avatar2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Avatar2501

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I'm sorry that we felt things were not perfect with your stay, and we are doing everything to put these things right. Without your comments it makes our mission to improve things a lot harder. With regards to the mattress, it is a zip and link mattress that are used worldwide throughout hotels. As this had not been mentioned by any previous guests, we felt guests were ok with the set up. Since your comments we have now ordered a new super king size mattress, just to avoid this moving forward. I know that the shower was mentioned and we had it fixed immediately by our maintenance man, and also the toilet.

I am pleased you had a nice meal in the restaurant. I have passed your comments onto the staff regarding the exemplary service, and equally to the chef with regards to the Panacotta he is going to look into it.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Have visited this hotel a few years ago, and was slightly disappointed this time.
Our allocated room had a mattress with broken springs. The manager moved us to an attic room which was more spacious, but the shower was poor.
Our meal in the Italian restaurant was nice, but a little pricey - as were the drinks.

The staff were very friendly, but the hotel and restaurant are in need of a major refurb, otherwise it will lose custom.

Room Tip: Would choose a superior room if we went again. Also the hotels web site can be cheaper than general...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi John

Many thanks for your feedback.

Just to give you a quick update. After your comments regarding the mattress, we immediately ordered a new one. As mentioned at the time, we had never had this mentioned in the past so it hadn't ever been flagged as an issue. We are however grateful you did mentioned it, as we would be devastated to think our guests had an uncomfortable stay. With regards to the water pressure in the shower, we have now had this boosted.

I wholeheartedly agree that the restaurant is in need of a makeover, which has been scheduled for the beginning of 2015. This is due to the popular demand of the restaurant and coming into the summer season. Although people do mentioned the décor as being a light issue the food and service far out way that, which I hope you felt the same about. We have however completed the redecoration of the hotel side, with all rooms and public corridors.

We hope to see you again, and hopefully you will see the differences we have made.

Best regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

This is the Old Station Hotel...very nice building and the owners are making a great job on the refurb. Room was clean and spacious. Staff excellent, service and food very good. A very enjoyable stay will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GTI3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi GT13630

Thanks for taking the time to send your thoughts. I have passed them onto the manager, who will then pass them onto the staff. (They're always pleased when guests are pleased.)

We will look forward to seeing you again soon.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We only stayed here for one night on our way home from a short break in Scotland but it was well worth it. We had bed, breakfast and the evening meal in the attached Italian Restaurant and the food was excellent and extremely good value for money. The room was spacious and once we were shown how to open the window to let in some fresh air we were more than happy with the accommodation. Staff were very attentive and friendly--a good place to stop over. Rothbury is a delightful location which is really handy to visit Cragside House which is an NT property with superb gardens and a fascinating interior to the house

Room Tip: Make sure you know how to open the double glazed windows if you want fresh air at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mv1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi MV1950

Its always nice to hear great guest feedback, and that they were well looked after, and had a comfortable stay.

We will look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My Fiance and I stayed at this hotel last weekend which was a birthday surprise for him. The hotel has recently had a change of management and there are various plans in place to improve it further. Although when we first got into our room there was an issue with the shower we were promptly moved into another room which was perfect. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the food was superb, the waiter and waitress were very pleasant and helpful but seemed quite inexperienced, not sure if they are both new to the role but we had to ask for cutlery and glasses for our wine, the wine we ordered was red and the young girl politely brought it to the table and popped it into the middle without removing the cap or asking if we would like to try it. This did not put us off at all as we all have to learn and like I say the food was superb. Would definitely recommend this hotel and we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Loft rooms are lovely with lovely views from all windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Helen

It is great to hear you were well looked after when you stayed with us. Our staff are always trained to do exactly what you mentioned, so I have spoken to the GM who has done a retrain with them. I'm glad this did not detract from the experience, and you had a great time.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights with breakfast included and paid £238 I would love to know where the couple who added the review on 26.5.14 got the price of £52 per night!?!
We stayed in room 2 lovely big room with sofa and really comfy big bed ( slept great till the stag do woke us up) breakfast really good lots of choice... Good location for walk into Rothbury ...we would recommend ... Front of hotel needs plant pots freshening up and coat of paint on door ... Bar area and restaurant very good ..new owners I know and can only do so much at once :)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lindsay58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Lindsay

Thank you for the great review.

We are glad You had an enjoyable stay with us, and that the room was to your liking.

We are currently improving the outside, we have hung all of the hanging baskets. and all of the decked area has been repainted and has really nice rattan furniture. The front of the hotel starts this week with new pots arriving and the front garden being over hauled. With regards to the room rates, its always best to visit the website direct for the best deals on the website.

You'll have to come back and see the improvements soon.

Best Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
18.7 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
16.1 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing