We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Northumberlandian Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Northumberlandian Break”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was a little gem, the service and food was great, lovely Italian restaurant. nice room. very curtious and helpful staff. we enjoyed our stay very much.after the car park has been re-surfaced,this hotel is ideal.

Room Tip: asked for and got a quiet room [No 10]
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Shirley

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review.

I have passed your comments onto the staff, which always gives them a boost.

We will look forward to seeing you again soon/.

Best Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    259
    77
    27
    21
See reviews for
88
463
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Visited with my mum for a treat and the hotel is lovely, very clean and elegant. Afternoon tea was good value and plentiful for two people. Only downfall for my mum was the stairs as even the restaurant was up 1 1/2 flights of stairs if you have any mobility problems then would not be ideal. I will be visiting again with my husband for a little break :-)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shona1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Shona

Its great to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Since you stayed we have now introduced some great new outdoor furniture, and have introduced an outdoor waiting service. We totally agree we are not well designed for anyone who has difficulty with stairs. We do however try and warn people on the booking page, but we apologize if this hasn't been seen. We are glad the rest of your stay made up for it, and look forward to welcoming you and your husband soon.

Best regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belper, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Outside of the hotel a little run down but don't be put off, the inside is decorated to a high standard and is very clean throughout. Staff are available and helpful, our room (7) was large, clean and comfortable with good in-room information and access to wifi, the room was above the kitchens though and therefore really warm, even with window open and fan on. Hotel restaurant provides lovely meals and after dinner drinks can be taken on the terrace overlooking the Northumberland countryside. Good choice of breakfast options, again, all done to a lovely standard. Proximity of hotel very good for visits to Alnwick Castle and Cragside House.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Hi Kerry

Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review.

With regards to the front of the building we are having that all sorted over the next week, so the next time you visit we should have a far more attractive frontage. Or if you join us on Facebook or Twitter, we are keeping everyone up to date with whats new on there. I know on your visit you mentioned that the room was warm, therefore we have provided a large fan. We have also made sure the extractors are switched of promptly after food service.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We happened upon this by chance & needed a place to stay while doing some radio show interviews in the area . First impression was a little worrying as the entrance / car park looked a little run down but what a nice surprise inside. The room was very comfortable & all the usual touches around . The evening meal was very good value but best of all was the friendly staff .

Room Tip: no tip as all appear well appointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi Paul

Thanks so much for the feedback and positive comment. We are currently looking at the exterior of the hotel at the moment, with the new decked area and comfy rattan furniture, and the gardens are getting completed over the next few weeks.

I will pass you comments onto the team.

Best Regards

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A truly disappointing stay after a supposed refurbishment. Room ok but en-suite had broken basin and dripping toilet. During the night we were awakened every 15 mins by either the fan or cistern droning very loudly. Breakfast service was terrible with no staff around to take orders or clean and reset tables. Won't be staying again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 40ILG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have just stayed for 3 nights in a lovely spacious room (room 1). I cannot praise the staff enough, definitely the best service I have ever had in a hotel. Nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a smile. The large chains should come and learn! Rothbury is a great base for Alnick, Cragside and the beach and a pleasant place for riverside walks, cafés and a bit of shopping.
Lynne

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Hi Lynn

Thanks so much for the positive feedback, and we are so pleased that you had a great stay. I have passed your comments onto the team and they were very appreciated.

We will look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Take care

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Booked a weekend away to see family in the North East and booked the Coquetvale due to its location. Stayed in room 2 and as has been described in earlier posts its a truly massive room with ensuite bathroom. Firstly the equally massive bed turned out to be two single mattress's pushed together to make a super king/king sized bed. The shower head and pipe had obviously been broken during installation and more water spurted out of the pipe at the shower head than came out of the shower head itself which was somewhat amusing, luckily the bath had a shower attachment. The toilet had to be flushed repeatedly to make it actually flush properly.
Ate in the restaurant on the first night and the staff were exemplary and the food nice (although the panacotta could do with some more work - its supposed to taste of white chocolate not just cream).
We would highly recommend visiting Thropton just up the road (specifically the Three Wheat Heads) for a different choice of food.
All in all a nice place, however, bit like a school report the words "could do better" or "must try harder" spring to mind.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avatar2501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCoquetvale, Owner at The Coquetvale Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Avatar2501

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback.

I'm sorry that we felt things were not perfect with your stay, and we are doing everything to put these things right. Without your comments it makes our mission to improve things a lot harder. With regards to the mattress, it is a zip and link mattress that are used worldwide throughout hotels. As this had not been mentioned by any previous guests, we felt guests were ok with the set up. Since your comments we have now ordered a new super king size mattress, just to avoid this moving forward. I know that the shower was mentioned and we had it fixed immediately by our maintenance man, and also the toilet.

I am pleased you had a nice meal in the restaurant. I have passed your comments onto the staff regarding the exemplary service, and equally to the chef with regards to the Panacotta he is going to look into it.

Once again thank you for your feedback, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing