We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and welcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #3 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2008

Had a lovely stay the room was beautiful and spacious was made very welcome would recommend and return again

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swimchick1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (711)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 711 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2008

We booked this hotel last minute to be close to chillingham castle for halloween. It was such a suprise, you walk through the door to a bar and office and it doesnt look much and then we got to the hotel room and it was lovely.

Couldnt complain about anything! It was clean, tidy, inviting, warm, nicely decorated! All of the staff are extremely friendly and very helpful and the hotel is in a lovely place.

Breakfast was lovely, although you didnt get much cooked breakast however considering the price we paid £60 for the night for such a lovely hotel cant really moan about it.

The restaurant is gorgeous, read a review by the northumberland gazette and definately wanted to try it! It was a lovely meal and if you go between 5-6pm its happy hour and very cheap! But having said that its normal price for an italian meal anyway.

If your thinking about staying, then do you wont be dissapointed! Book of hotel website its cheaper than the likes of last minute etc.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nicola120785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2008

A lovely hotel in Rothbury which is so picturesque. Not easily accessible as no lifts the room was comfortable and plain had all the amenities - no over head shower which would have been beneficial and made life easier. The restaruant which had good reviews was pleasent and the food average, well priced and service was good.
The staff were excellent nothing too much trouble and so very helpful. We would return especially due to the location and the price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo_Buckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2008

Overall a nice hotel in its price range and a convenient site.

What I liked: bright, airy room, comfortable bed, good range of tea, coffee and biscuits in room. Very nice restaurant attached which seems popular and rightly so. Staff were very pleasant although I did overhear arguments (see below).

What I wasn't so keen on: no shower! Yet there was a shower attachment on bath, so all that was needed was a bracket and curtain. Breakfast was OK but I noticed the range of cereals etc seemed to decrease as the week progressed. I could also hear staff arguing in the kitchen which was a little off-putting.

General comment- this is a pleasant large house conversion, but I feel it sells itself short by the rather grim front entrance which completely detracts from one's first experience of the hotel. It seems a pity because with a bit more imagination it could look really special, all the more so as once one is past the grey fire-doors it is an attractive interior.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank stevouk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2008

We were met by the owner who was extremely welcoming.The accommodation was spacious. We enjoyed the variety of the restaurant and the excellant staff who remained unflustered when under pressure.
The opportunity to participate in food theme nights makes the Coquetvale very poular with non residents.
The hotel is well placed to explore this hidden part of the UK

Stayed: October 2008
Thank tedsboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

This was a lovely hotel in a beautiful town. The room has everything we needed, including comfy beds. The staff were helpful. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank H R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2008

The superior room number 1 was excellent. It had lovely period furniture and a fantastic whirlpool bath. The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very nice. The hotel is an a great location and has a lovely view. Very reasonable prices too.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelabrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
9.0 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
395 reviews
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,286 reviews
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
342 reviews
16.9 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
165 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £74 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing