We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value with friendly staff and very good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Coquetvale Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
London
1 review
“Excellent value with friendly staff and very good food”
Reviewed 18 May 2010

Loved this hotel with its enormous rooms and old world charm. Booked for dinner in the italian restaurant and we were not disappointed, best lamb chops I have eaten (out) for ages. You must order the local ginger pudding or the share plate. Tasty breakfast with all the usual English, but well cooked to set us up for the day.
Great find for Cragside, which is just up the road and worth seeing, leave aside at least half a day. Rothbury town is perfect, do stop and shop, great butchers (who sell The Ginger pudding)!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    259
    77
    27
    21
See reviews for
88
463
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
newcastle, england
Level Contributor
162 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

We stayed in a group of 3 couples. The hotel is old and large but has been nicely refurbished with a beer garden big free carpark and comfortable lounge. The staff are very helpful but the bedrooms are a little tired looking. The restuarant however has been very tastefully updated with lovely views over the neaarby village. The food has an Italian theme and is superbly presented at very reasonable prices. As a Tynesider I will definitely return for more overnight treats coupled to superb hill walking in the Northumbrian Hills around the historic Cragside Hall.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, County Durham
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We stayed here to celebrate a birthday and were highly delighted and pleasantly surprised by what we found. To be honest, I was a little set-a-back when we walked through the entrance as the decor was nothing to write home about, there was no-one attending the reception and the reception annex was tardy.
However, it was not long before we were attended to and our stay began.
We had booked a superior room which was on the second floor, the first floor is where the Italian restaurant is. If you like Italian cuisine, then I would encourage all to book as our meal was what can only be described as devine! The decor once you begin to climb the stairs into the hotel proper is uniquely querky, for example: the restaurant has framed, signed pictures of various celebrities (which we took time to check through). There is a separate area away from the eating space which has a bar and a comfortable lounge area (we sat there talking to others guests after our meal..lovely!).
The room itself was large overlooking the front of the hotel (not much of a view I must admit) our room had a jacquzzi bath, shower etc and was beautifully maintained. We only had one night but a very enjoyable stay.
The breakfast was a traditional norhumbrian breakfast and was again very nice. Whoever cooks the food can cook!
The hotel itself is set away from the High Street where the majority of what ever happens in Rothbury happens and is on a slight incline, so those who cannot walk should take note.
Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJGDARL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2010

My wife and I stayed the weekend to celebrate my birthday and were delighted with all aspects of the hotel.

The staff were most pleasant and very helpful as was the proprietor. The room was spacious and comfortable and the food was delicious. The only slight criticism was that there was no shower in the bathroom, although the bath did have a jaccuzi, but I understand that there are plans to install one. We will certainly return and recommend to friends.

We thoroughly enjoyed our walks in the village and along the river as well as browsing in the art and antique shops. We also visited Cragside which is superb..

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GatheringDust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

Stayed here with my mother in a twin room for 2 nights. We found the room a little old fashioned - (flowery wallpaper!) but comfortable enough. Bathroom only had a bath with a shower attachment and no screen so it was impossible to have a normal shower which was a little disappointing. From other reviews, I would say it is the luck of the draw as to how luxurious your room may be!
We ate in the restaurant both evenings and were very impressed with the quality of both the food and the service - I would definitely recommend eating here. Breakfast was a good standard with plenty of choice and cooked breakfast made to order. Staff were very friendly and helpful. We certainly enjoyed our stay and would have liked a few more days!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chix24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Set in a beautiful part of the country, The Coquetvale is a wonderful place to stay. It was so friendly, beautifully furnished and amazingly good value. We stayed with three young children and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Yummy breakfasts, too. Such a shame we didn't have time to eat in the restaurant as that looked fabulous. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloudyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed in room 1, on 30/03/10 and thoroughly enjoyed it. I booked this hotel on the strength of reviews and the fact it had an on site restaurant. On arrival we were told that the restaurant was closed, so that was disppointing, but we were given suggestions for alternatives and ended up having a nice meal at the Queens Head nearby.

The weather was rubbish so we spent alot of time in the room, and we were given a choice of DVD's to borrow which was nice. The room was huge and the bed was very grand, however the matress was too small for the frame, which made getting in and out a bit tricky - but nothing major. The bathroom was very big too, and I thoroughly enjoyed a relaxing soak in the large corner jacquzzi bath.

Breakfast was included and was very nice, a selection of fruit, cereal, breads and toast, and cooked breakfast made to order.

The staff were friendly, reception is not manned all the time, but a phone number is provided should you require assistance.

A lovely hotel, and I hope to return when the weather is better to explore the Northumberland National Park.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTiggerGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.5 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
16.0 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,202 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Coquetvale Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coquetvale Hotel

Property: The Coquetvale Hotel
Address: Station Road, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7QJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coquetvale Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This nineteenth century country town hotel is perfectly located on the edge of the Northumberland National Park in the scenic and tranquil village of Rothbury. The Coquetvale Hotel is perfect for a relaxing break in the beautiful countryside or an ideal base for walking, cycling or outdoor pursuits. The stunning Cragside House and grounds are a five minute drive away as are the breathtaking Simonside Hills which are a popular spot for walkers with amazing scenery. Further afield lies the market town of Alnwick, home to the spectacular Alnwick Gardens and Castle, as well as the picturesque Northumberland coastline are a 20 minute drive over the scenic moors that surround Rothbury. The hotel was bought by experienced hoteliers in August 2016 and has since seen immediate investment into public areas and bedrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Coquetvale Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coquetvale Hotel Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing