We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend to remember.”
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
1 review
“A weekend to remember.”
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had a glorious weekend at Tosson Tower. On our arrival we were made to feel very welcome. Our room was very comfortable and the views were superb. The dining room also had great views and the food was delicious. I am very partial to a kipper! We will definately return for another relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy_travellerYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 11 July 2011
Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hopefully will return for the view and the KIPPERS! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
148
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This was our second stay at Tosson Tower B&B and we really loved it. Both rooms we have stayed in were very comfortable and nicely decorated.
The view from the conservatory where you have breakfast is lovely looking out over the valley. Breakfast was excellent. The owners and and staff nice and friendly. I
If you like the outdoors there is loads to do in the surrounding area. Would definately go back again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip_Smith1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
It's always a pleasure having guests to stay and enjoy their holiday. We are very lucky to have such a lovely county to live in and it's nice to share it with others. hope to see you again - thank you Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Just returned from four nights at Tosson Tower Farm. Everything you could hope for - friendly welcome, spacious room, exceptionally comfortable beds, superb views along the Coquet Valley, peace, quiet, terrific breakfasts. Added to the very advantageous position - convenient for just about everywhere in England's most beautiful county. There was only one downside - eventually we had to leave. But we will be back.

Ian & Pippa Walker
Barrowby, Lincolnshire

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Thank you so much for your review and taking the time to write it. It was such wonderful weather when you stayed - just what you need for a good holiday. Hope to see you both again and thank you. Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Have just returned from our 4th visit to Tosson Tower Farm. Over the last six years or so we have stayed in the farmhouse, two different rooms in the Steadings and rented a cottage. The welcome, the facilities, the comfort and cleanliness are of the highest standard in all of these places and that has not changed over the years. The location is just beautiful, peaceful and quiet while the view from the breakfast room is absolutely stunning. We use many B & B across the country but this is one of very few that we would return to again and again (and intend to keep doing so). Ann Foggin, and of course her family and helpers, should be complimented for their high standards, warmth of welcome and attention to detail. Stay and enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 7 June 2011
Gosh what a great review!!! John, Marie and me try very hard to make our guests stay memorable - which is easy when you think about all the lovely places you can visit in Northumberland. Look forward to seeing you again next time
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2011

Although a last minute booking we were allocated a wonderfully spacious room with views of the surrounding countryside. Mrs Foggin was an excellant host who provided us with first class service throughout our stay. The full english breakfast taken in the conservatory with panoramic views were the best we have had and there was a very good choice for those who preferred something different or lighter.
The accommodation is a couple of miles out of Rothbury but suited us as we enjoyed the peace and quiet of the countryside. As evening meals are not available you have to go out in the evening to get something to eat and the Queens Head in Rothbury which Mrs Foggin recommended to us proved to be so good that we returned there on our second evenings stay. Although this was our first time in Northumberland we will certainly visit again, hopefully staying at this accommodation as it is highly suitable for visiting the many attractions. Without a doubt the best B&B we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: We would recommend a room in the converted barn
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denandchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 27 May 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about Tosson Tower. We take great pride in what we do so it's nice to receive a complement - Ann and marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceythomas64
Level Contributor
100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

We'd never been to Northumberland before and were overjoyed with what we found. Ann, our host,( and the lady who helped serve the breakfast) was a wonderfully pleasant person an nothing was too much trouble. We were able to quietly get on with our break while knowing she was around if needed. The bedroom was very comfortable and we were able to make use of a nearby lounge and garden area too. There was a fridge that always had fresh milk in it and even a variety of umbrellas that did come in handy one evening!!! Breakfast was a wonderful full English, or kippers, or any combination of these could be had if requested. The views of fields and countryside around the farm were stunning. We saw more wildlife in one day than we'd seen in years, including a deer running across the road! Amazing!! Ann provides guests with a list of suggested places to eat in the evening and we had some superb meals. The area is steeped in history with many castles and lovely villages to visit and also beaches near by and every where we went we were welcomed like old friends. The farm also boast it's own Pele tower, which there were many of in the area and we knew nothing about until our visit. We both returned feeling very refreshed and that life was good after our visit. The only downside was that we didn't stay there long enough so will certainly have to plan a return trip.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Rose room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceythomas64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a great review - it is always nice to receive one. Northumberland has so much to see that another stay will be a good idea - and hopefully the Rose room will be available for you too!
Thank you again Ann and Marie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 May 2011

Set in beautiful country side, Tosson Tower Farm was easy to find, with the instructions given before arrival.
Ann was there to greet us and made us feel at ease straight away, a three hour drive with two young children and the thought of Are the Walls thick enough to drown our voices, so lifted. Our room faced the tower, as my very excited five year old said, wow mummy this is lovely. The bedroom was very large had the comfiest bed I've ever slept on, a single bed and a pull out bed, the children loved it. The room was very light, airy and most tastefully decorated. the bathroom had large very fluffy towels and complimentary toiletries. It was cleaned to a high standard, had a tea and coffee tray, with spares for everyone even milk in a central location,.
The breakfast was simply delicious and Ann and Marie were very attentive and made our family feel very welcome. The view from the breakfast table makes you want to get up and explore the location.
I have to say the B&B looks excellent on the internet, you have to stay there to appreciate it, as its even better in real life.
We had a wonderful time and will be returning in the near future.
Ann had even bought bought my 3&5 year old an Easter egg each.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlottehird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your lovely review about us all at Tosson Towers - we all appreciate the time taken to write one. We hope to see you all again next Spring to see the lambs - if not sooner!
Ann and Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
357 reviews
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
676 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Property: Tosson Tower Farm
Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing