We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great retreat!”
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The best farm house bed and breakfast i have stayed in...Thanks to Anne for her attention to detail, fantastic food and warm hosting skills. I thoroughly recommend. We will return :-)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nettie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2012

.This was a lovely 5 star farm stay. We had a lovely room facing the paddocks filled with sheep. The room was spacious and lovely decor, bathroom had all you could want hairdryer etc.The bed was lovely and comfy and great pillows. The breakfast was delicious and good selection of fruit, enjoyable having breakfast looking at rolling hills. Our hostess Ann even let me use her iron which was an added PLUS when touring. would stay again.

We went into Rothbury 5 minute drive to the Newcastle Hotel for dinner a lot of food but 6/10.
Barbara and Neville Australia

Room Tip: Upstairs facing driveway and fields. Also has S/C cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barnev169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Returned for a 2nd stay.
Just as good as the 1st one.

This is the benchmark for Rothbury.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibex022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This is truly a first class B&B. From the warm welcome to the rooms with en suite bathrooms equipped with the softest of towels and not forgetting the tea/coffee/chocolate making facilities with irresistible biccies, everything is simply excellent. And what a choice at breakfast including the fantastic Craster kippers - do try!
The panoramic views over the Coquet Valley are breathtaking and the silence is so relaxing.
If you are visiting this area, put this B&B top of your list.

Room Tip: All rooms are good so don't worry about choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Gosh - what a lovely review. The weather "up here" today is bright, crisp and cool!! but the view from the breakfast room is fantastic - VERY clear right over to the Cheviot Hills - just beautiful.
Really hope to see you both again maybe next year.
Have a happy Christmas!!
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Our first visit to Tosson Tower, but not our last. Ann was very welcoming, and the views were spectacular. Rooms fabulous, with everything we needed.

Mike and Lee Demuth

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike2298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

So pleased you enjoyed your stay - The Millstream is such a lovely comfortable room and everyone comments on the king size Sleigh bed!!! Thank you for using my new online booking system and look forward to your next visit
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Three nights at Tosson Tower recently.Outstanding accommodation in the Millrace barn.Fantastic cooked breakfast,bacon superb!First class service from Ann and staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FredNorfolkEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - Marie, Susan and I look forward to your next visit
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

Great Tosson is great. The house is on a farm outside the town of Rothbury. Rothbury itself is a nice little market town and is fairly afield, and Great Tosson is even more a spot to relax. There is hardly any traffic, and during the night all you hear is the wind rustling in the trees or the conversation of the tawny owls in the forest. The room I had was perfect, tastefully furnitured and had a perfect view on browsing sheep. The bed was very comfortable.

I liked the living room very much. It has a nice oven, therefore it is warm, cosy and the perfect place to read or to have a glass of wine in the evening.

The host, Ann, is very nice and very dedicated to the well-being of her guests, as is her staff.

The breakfast in the refectory is an experience in two ways. First, due to the outstanding panorama view on the Coquetdale, second due to the tasty breakfast. As an alternative to the Full English Breakfast the kippers from Craster are to be recommended.

The area is the perfect place for walking. The Simonside Hills are just 1,5 hours to walk from the farmhouse and the climb is rewarded with a breathtaking view on Coquet valley and the Cheviots. There are other walks west of Rothbury near Alwinton or Otterburn, and of course the Kielder Forest and Waters should not be missed.

My stay in Great Tosson was wonderful, and I returned refreshed. I can highly recommend the B&B! Thanks a lot

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bastian55118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Hi Johannes Thank you for your great review for Tosson Tower Farm - I much appreciate you taking the time to write it. You were the perfect guest so I am pleased you enjoyed it so much. On reading your review I see your writing in English is VERY good - the only mistake is that it's not 1.5 hours walk to Simonside - I think you mean 1.5 miles!
Thank you once again for the review.
Ann

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
720 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#7 of 11 in Rothbury
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
348 reviews
1.8 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £98 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing