We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb and faultless”
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb and faultless”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

What a contrast to the previous place we stayed in! Location was magnificent with stunning views. OK, the owners have little control over that, but everything they did was superb. Facilities, decor, furniture, fittings, all made the place feel 5 star. Even down to a couple of wine glasses and bottle opener in the room (this in a B&B!). The devil's in the detail! Breakfasts were excellent, staff friendly and the whole experience was memorable. We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Look forward to seeing you again .
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
143
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

We stayed at Tosson Tower Farm, in the farmhouse, for a couple of nights last month. I arrived expecting to be disappointed as I really didn't think anywhere could really live up to all the excellent reviews. I was wrong.

The lounge and rooms, and the conservatory where breakfast is served, are lovely. The views of the open countryside are spectacular, and the only disturbance to the peace and quiet is the occasional bleating of the sheep across the road.

Breakfast is all cooked to order as you like it with several options, the coffee is good and along with the tea and toast replenished almost before you realise you're running out.

The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom spacious with a decent shower and plenty of fluffy towels and good quality toiletries that would put many a four or five star hotel to shame.

You will need transport while you're here, as the nearest places to eat are in Rothbury, a few minutes drive and a couple of miles away. It would be a nice walk down to the town in the daytime but it's uphill on the way back and the narrow winding roads are unlit so wouldn't be suitable for walking after dark. There is a local taxi service in Rothbury you could call on, though.

Just up the hill from Tosson Tower is the forestry commission car park at Simonside, from where there is a well marked trail looping through the forest, right up and over the crags, then back down through more woods to where you started. Including the section up to the car park and back it's a 10km loop from the farmhouse. It's tough going in places (definitely not suitable for younger children or the less mobile) but the views from the top are breathtaking. I ran it one morning before breakfast and only saw one other human being all the way round (another runner doing the same loop in reverse) but I saw plenty of deer, rabbits, squirrels, and a huge hawk riding the updraught along the crags below me. Absolutely brilliant way to start the day and work up an appetite for a big breakfast!

Thanks for a great stay, Ann and crew!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review - we always like to receive them and love the comments - thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012

What a wonderful place to stay. Ann and staff made us feel really welcome and its all the little extras in the rooms that round it all off. The rooms are perfect, very clean, cosy and perfect for relaxing in.The breakfasts and views are to die for, wish we could of stayed longer but will hopefully visit again. Thanks again Ann for a lovely stay.
Barry, Helen, Katy & Tom

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HELEN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your stay - Katy did you get some good photos for this site?
Hope you had a great day in Cragside and look forward to seeing you all again.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Another great stay at Tosson Tower Farm has unfortunately come to an end. We were both in serious need of a break and headed off north to our favourite haven. Whenever we go there we find the standards have never slipped. The breakfasts were heavenly, the rooms superb, the views to die for, Anne and staff as friendly and helpful as ever. We stayed in the farmhouse for one night and then moved to The Millstream for our next 3.

The farmhouse made me want to be 6 again and play hide and seek!!! I am a child at heart!! The upstairs had lovely rooms and we would certainly book them again if nothing else was available. Homely doesn't do it justice.

Susan and Marie were their usual selves, professional but friendly. Anyone there for the first time would have been given such a big Northumberland welcome that they would have felt at home from the off! Nothing is too much trouble. We asked for a feather pillow for my other half and it was there ready for us when we arrived. It is the little things which mean so much to the guests that keep this a place to go back to time and time again.

Please don't change. You have such a unique place and that is why you have so many return.........friends. We start as customers and then leave as friends. Susan, you know how we feel about you - you're great. Marie - we are thinking of you heaps and love your work ethic. Nothing is too much.

If you are reading this and still wondering whether to try out this little patch (well, quite big patch these days!) of paradise, stop wondering and just book it! Ok, you'll need a car and you'll have to drive out for evening meals, but the benefits far outdo the odd car trips. We came away feeling great mentally. It may not make you well physically, but John, Anne, James, Marie and Susan sure as heck make it easier for you to boost your batteries and give you that bit of oomph to take away with you.

Are we going back again? Of course we are!! What a silly question! XXXX

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent. Whatever room you pick, you'll come away happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RUE66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Jen and Lindie what can I say! Susan and Marie are over the moon that they have been mentioned in such a wonderful review - Thank you so much and see you both soon.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We had an excellent stay here, we booked it at short notice for the one night and were given the Steadings. This cottage accomodates 6 people so we had a choice of rooms which were all superb. Ann is a fabulous host and we had one of the best breakfasts that we have experienced in ages! Would highly recommend to everyone and we cant wait to go back but spend longer.
Thank you xx

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheaddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you for writing a review for me and sorry for taking so long to say so - I just missed it!!
Hope to see you for B and B another time - thank you once again.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Just returned from Tosson Tower after our fourth or fifth visit, with friends this time, we had a fantastic time, this accomodation is outstanding, very comfortable, wonderful breakfasts, friendly people, Ann is always very welcoming, we always feel very relaxed in this special place.
The views are to die for (even on a rainy day! ) Have booked again for november and looking forward to it already.
Anyone interested in staying in the area should try Tosson Tower it is HIGHLY RECOMMENDED by us and any of our friends we have taken.
Sandra and Mike.

Room Tip: All rooms very quiet and up to the same standard-excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Hi Sandra and Mike So pleased that you and your friends enjoyed the stay - the weather was not at it's best but better than other places in England! I look forward to seeing you and different friends in November and will make sure there is a good supply of wood for the log stove in the lounge when you come .

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

June 2012. Our second visit this year. It is simply an outstanding place to stay - not just because of the excellent level of accomodation, outstanding food, superb view and central location but also because of the kindness and thoughtfulness of the owner, Anne Foggin. As an example - returning after a cold soaking in the exquisite English summer to our room which had only a shower we were offered a hot bath in an adjacent but unoccupied room. It was just very thoughtful despite the extra work involved and is typical of the way you are looked after at Tosson Tower. It is, quite simply, an outstanding place to stay and, for us, ticks all the boxes. I have no doubt we will stay there again and would not consider anywhere else in the area.
Ian & Pippa Walker

Room Tip: They are all good. Our favourite is the one at the rear of the building to the left of the breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for your lovely review - it's always nice to see you both. the weather was a bit unkind when you last stayed but the way it is this year it could be beautiful the next time - fingers crossed.
look forward to seeing you both again soon.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
2.0 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#9 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Property: Tosson Tower Farm
Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing