We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We know the area well but have never stayed at Tosson Tower farm before. It was excellent;very friendly reception, very good, spacious room with a very comfortable bed, separate lounge, garden area and an excellent breakfast served in a room ovelooking a magnificent view. We choose it having seen a 5 star review in the Times - well deserved!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
It is always a pleasure to receive such a nice review so thank you for doing it for me. The view from the breakfast room is changing with the trees starting to change colour and we often have mist following the river first thing in the morning which just looks beautiful - wish you could see it.
Hope to see you another time
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
143
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Had a lovely time down on the farm!! Stayed in Rose and Moonbeam rooms and they were gorgeous had everything you needed and more besides. Views from breakfast room are outstanding and food was good too. Good base for walking and lovely and peaceful for relaxing. We had a seperate lounge area we could use which was good for socialising. Owners are very, very friendly and could not do enough for us. Would defo recommend this place to everyone and we will be going back. Would also like to thank the local constable for being so helpful. Thanks again Ann and all your team.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DericandJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us at Tosson Towers! Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay as we enjoyed having you all. Hope to see you again on another visit.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This was our third time at Tosson Tower Farm and it didn't disappoint. We've previously stayed as B&B guests and over at the Steadings. This time we hired the Forge and we were absolutely delighted with the rooms provided. Everything is prepared to a high standard and there was nothing that we didn't have provided for us.

The view from the Forge lounge window is stunning and even the odd shower couldn't dampen our enthusiasm for travelling around Northumberland. Tosson Tower Farm is in a fantastic location which is just outside Rothbury, giving you a feeling of remoteness without ever being too far from anything you need! Even just walking around the farm area is a good way to spend a lazy afternoon.

As ever, Ann was the perfect host! We'll be back next year.

Thanks again

Gary, Jane, Martha and Kitty.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garyflanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 16 September 2012
Hi folks thank you for your lovely review - so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again next year.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Very clean, good sized rooms with ample sitting space. Fantastic views from breakfast room to accompany excellently cooked food. One very nice feature was a large visitors lounge where groups using more than one bedroom could meet up without having to sit on the edge of beds.
Outside the lounge is a rock garden with fountain, a very pleasant area in which to sit, weather permitting. Not cheap, but excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review and pleased to hear you enjoyed the garden again

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed two nights 21st August. Excellent friendly service. Ann is a top hostess. Best breakfast in Britain. Also good fishing as well. She managed to squeeze four beds into the room to accommodate us. Location is great to access most of Northumberland . Thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmack1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
It's always a pleasure to see you and the boys and thank you for taking the time to write a review. There is more water in the river now so maybe the fishing will be better this week - you will just have to come back for that BIG fish!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Have just returned from a relaxing three days at Tosson Tower Farm.As we parked our car outside the farmhouse and walked to the door we were greeted by the beautiful and charming owner,who immediately made us feel welcome and offered us a pot of tea in the beautiful cosy sitting room.
our bedroom was clean and airey and tastefully furnished with bathroom ensuite,the most wonderful bit about the bathroom was the heated towel rail complete with soft white towels.Everything one could possibly need included soap hand cream shower caps tablet soap shampoo etc our hostess had thought of everything.

Breakfast was excellent beautiful fruit salad choice of cereals and yogurts.The full english was enormous and all ingredients fresh and locally sourced.Views from breakfast room awesum.

This must be one of the best B & B's around excellent value for money , super location,friendly staff even Dibs the cat was friendly too we will certainly return again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Thank you so much for you lovely review and am pleased you enjoyed your stay - look forward to seeing you another time.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbrian
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

As the saying goes, you have tried the rest now stay at the very best.
The views and breakfast are of the very best quality and views sitting at the breakfast table makes you have a long long breakfast.

Room Tip: Home from Home
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmw525se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
Gosh what a nice thing to say about us - we do try hard to make every stay memorable and make you want to return again - so see you the next time!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
2.0 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#10 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Property: Tosson Tower Farm
Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing