We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Autumn break!”
Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Autumn break!”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Really comfortable stay with great rooms and excellent breakfast. Ann very welcoming and friendly - thoroughly recommended! Immediate countryside very beautiful and good dining in Rothbury. Good walking and bike rides (challenging!) in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Manager at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 13 December 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it's always nice to read them and know we are doing a good job! It will be lovely to see you both again next year - have a lovely Christmas and Happy New Year.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
150
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
york, england
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This was our 3rd visit with friends and we were not disappointed - again. They try to think of everything for their guest's convenience and comfort; even putting fresh milk in the fridge and providing a bottle opener. This is an outstanding example of how good hospitality should be and shames many well known and much more expensive hotels. Then there is breakfast!!! A perfect weekend break in beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank talkingpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review - everyone here likes to read them and we always take note of what is said and try to improve where possible The weather here has not been great this week but it looks set to be much better over the week-end and into next week - sunny but cold!! Much better than RAIN!!
Look forward to seeing you all again.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Just got back from a weekend in the Millrace barn at Tosson Tower farm and unfortunately we couldn't stay any longer. We were warmly welcomed and shown to the barn and settled in well. We can't fault the hospitality either in the breakfast or the friendliness shown by all whilst there.
It's really well placed for visiting Northumberland and is a really comfortable retreat at the end of days walking. I love the location of the farm but be warned it's about 2 miles from the centre of Rothbury and there is not a huge amount around it, nipping out for dinner requires the car as there is no pub nearby. This was not a problem for us at all and the isolation is lovely, we were pointed in the direction of more than a few good local eats which we took advantage of.
We'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapmanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you another time - Spring is a good time of year to come as we have lambing season from mid March till mid April with LOTS of lambs to see up close!
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baildon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We had a brief one night stay on Saturday 22nd September 2012. We had a very warm welcome and though it was very late afteroon were offered tea and biscuits and juice for the girls. Our family room was perfectly laid out, clean anda good ensuite. Great location and I enjoyed a lovely walk on the Sunday morning with the dog up through the forest to Simonside. Great location for exploring Northumbria including nearby Cragside (National Trust)- fantastic house and gardens. Very friendly staff at breakfast time- Northumbria folk seem so friendly. Great breakfast which set us up for the day! Good recommendations for evening meals. I have no hesitation in saying Tosson Tower Farm is first rate. Thank you for our stay- it was the perfect way to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary with children and a hound (who also loved the Northumbria beaches!). Thanks again- James Linda Lorna and Louise + (Dora the dog)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
It was nice having you and your girls staying AND Dora the dog of course. Hope you had a lovely time at the beach after your stay and look forward to seeing you all again maybe next year?

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

Spent 4 nights. Location, room and breakfasts were all fine. Ideal location for coast and hills in Northumberland. Good food at local pubs on recommended list. Views from farm were impressive. Would recommend.

Room Tip: Try Queens Head in Rothbury for dinner
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcm-chiseldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always like to read what you think of the place and try our best to make sure you have a good stay.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northants
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We have just returned from our second visit to Tosson Tower, and once again we found it excellent. Ann's welcome (with tea and biscuits in the lounge!) was most warm and friendly, the room (the same as last time, in the farmhouse) was comfortable, clean and warm, and the breakfasts as ever were to die for. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for Ann, her family, and her staff. I am suer we shall return again. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you for your review - we love to read them when they come through on the computer.
Watched George Gentley and you were right it WAS the best one yet!!
look forward to seeing you both again
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We have just returned from a week 's stay, our first ever visit to the North East of England. The venue was chosen due to its convenient central location for exploring the area, and the exceptionally good feedback on Tripadvisor. As a former customer service manager with a major company, trust me, I am picky, but I am delighted to be able to report that we were not disappointed in any way. The accommodation is very good, the welcome genuinely warm, the breakfasts outstandingly tasty with fast friendly service. The location is as peaceful as it gets, just a few minute's drive from Rothbury, and the views, especially at breakfast time in the conservatory, are stunning. The large double bed was really comfortable and with the tranquil setting, enabled us to enjoy a good sleep every night. We took advantage of the spacious guest lounge on a number of evenings. All the guests seemed happy and chilled out. All in all, an extremely good holiday break, thanks and "well done" to Ann and her friendly staff - we would wholeheartedly recommend this accommodation. This is how b&b should be. TOP NOTCH, 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nigel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 19 September 2012
Thank you so much for such a lovely review - we do try to make a guests stay as nice as possible
and appreciate you taking the time to write.
Look forward to seeing you again - maybe next year?

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
17.6 mi away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,250 reviews
10.8 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
370 reviews
18.0 mi away
Matfen Hall
Matfen Hall
#1 of 1 in Matfen
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Dunstanburgh Castle Hotel
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
2.0 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Property: Tosson Tower Farm
Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing