We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely accommodation and lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tosson Tower Farm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tosson Tower Farm
Ranked #2 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation and lovely people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just got back from a long weekend in Northumberland. We stayed at Tosson Tower Farm B&B. Ann was the perfect host making sure we had everything we needed without fuss or intrusion. I think the breakfast room has to be the best in the whole of Northumberland. There was everything we could need in the rooms and guest sitting room which were warm and welcoming and to a high standard. Good central location for Alnwick, the coast as well as Keilder Forest.

The only slight down side was that the room we stayed in was at the front of the property next to the road which although was a very quiet road wasn't ideal for a light sleeper. Also parking was limited to 3 car spaces opposite the house but to be fair we didn't ask if there was alterative parking.

All in all a very enjoyable break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Judith Very pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you both again another time.
I am sorry about the road outside your window if you had asked I could have changed your room also we do have more off road parking please just ask another time as it is not a problem.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
143
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

An excellent b&b with some lovely personal touches from the owner. We stayed in the Tower room for a 5 night early spring break. There was a very good, varied menu for breakfast cooked to order which was eaten in the conservatory overlooking the beautiful Coquet valley. We are keen walkers and there are some great walks from the door of the b&b either on to the Simonside hills or across the valley into Rothbury. Brilliant walking in the Cheviots is only a short scenic drive away.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review . I hope to see you both another time.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the Steadings suites on a b&b basis as a group of four. It was heaven. Beautifully appointed rooms and spotless, gorgeous lounge with log fire and great English breakfasts in the conservatory overlooking the Coquet valley with it's wonderful views. We felt thoroughly spoilt and can't wait to return. Thank you very much Mrs Foggins.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Natali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Really please that you enjoyed your stay and liked the Millrace barn conversion with the log stove which really makes the lounge warm and cosy! You must come back in the summer as the courtyard garden will be full of flowers and it's such a lovely place to sit and enjoy the peace and maybe have a drink or two!!

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

stayed in the Steading's cottage at Tosson Tower and we were not disappointed, everything was as it looks on the website, stunning location with stunning views. Superb walking on the doorstep and with the pretty village Rothbury just a short drive away you could not wish for a better location.
Many thanks to Ann and John and we look forward to returning to Tosson Tower in the near future

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
So pleased you enjoyed your stay even if the weather was a BIT misty!!!!
Look forward to your next visit and will try to get warmer weather for you!

Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appleby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Just had a great stay at Tosson Tower B&B. Everything was just as the website described, comfy bed and very good breakfast with stunning views. Mine host a mine of local information and always has a smile, as do all the staff and family. Even found a hare!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James26052014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much for your review so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope your new hare is looking good beside the fire!!


Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Fantastic place, the owners are very friendly and they can't do enough for you. Beautiful accommodation, stuning views, would certainly recommend this place. We were there when they were lambing and were allowed to go in to see the lambs, nothing was too much trouble, Ann helped us with restaurants for the evenings and also taxis. All in all first class.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynsey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and that everything - including the weather was good! Hope to see you both another time.
Thank you
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hokitika, New Zealand
Level Contributor
369 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

8 of us spent New Year at Tossen Tower in the Steadings and also used two of the Bed and Breakfast rooms adjoining. We had stayed here back in May and once again we could not fault the standard of accommodation and the friendliness of our hosts. The kitchen diner with two settees is brilliant and well fitted out with great views towards Rothbury. You can walk from the front door up Simmonside or across the valley to the fells above Rothbury. The lounge with wood burning stove is very big and very comfy. They even put a dumpy bag full of logs right outside the patio door near the fire. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Two bed and breakfast rooms in the Steadings are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pburgess2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tossontowerfarm, Owner at Tosson Tower Farm, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay - The Steadings is a great place for a large party - we use it too!!
Hope to see you again soon.
Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
8.1 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
18.1 mi away
Battlesteads Hotel
2.0 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Haven
The Haven
#11 of 12 in Rothbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tosson Tower Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tosson Tower Farm

Property: Tosson Tower Farm
Address: Great Tosson | Rothbury, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7NW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Tosson Tower Farm 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in beautifull countryside with the most stunning views in the heart of Northumberland. En-suite rooms with king-size beds, goose down duvets and plump pillows for a restful nights sleep. Breakfast is a lavish affair with an emphasis on fresh local produce including farm eggs and Craster Kippers. Try our new Millrace accommodation with "sleigh beds," comfortable large guests lounge and a courtyard garden with fish pond and fountain to sit by. Near to N.T. Cragside, Wallington Hall and Alnwick Castle and Gardens. FREE FISHING on River Coquet. Excellent area for walking with lots of walks straight from the farm house. Lovey pubs and restaurants for lunch or dinner close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tosson Tower Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tosson Tower Farm Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing