We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Welcome at The Haven”
Review of The Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Haven
Ranked #7 of 11 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay, the coffee and cake on arrival was a lovely surprise. The breakfasts were wonderful and lovely views made it a very relaxing weekend. The bird's nest in the garden, seeing the local deer run across the path and watching the chickens made it unique. Good location for exploring and we would recommend the chocolates!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

We were double booked at another B&B and you took us at very short notice. The room was lovely and the building was beautiful. The breakfast was amazing and sustained us for most of the day while we hiked to Warkworth. Thank you for your kindness and hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidAdam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We have just returned from a three night stay at The Haven. It is well named. There is a real air of tranquility and peace here. The breakfasts are absolutely superb, with a huge choice and the muesli is awesome! The beds were very comfortable and there are lovely views over the town. It is in a very convenient position for exploring the area. Our hosts were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely like to return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helen-m-haynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

lots of nice little touches like tea & cake in the lounge on arrival, great selection of teas, king-size bed. The breakfast options were really special. Fresh local produce that tasted every bit as good as they sounded - the smoked salmon (with scrambled eggs) was the best we'd tasted & the pancakes with fruit & chocolate sauce were scrumptious. close enough to walk into the pretty town for dinner & do a days walk from the place but far enough away that it felt like a real haven. The single rooms looked lovely too.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I was daunted by the steps from the car park until I found the ramp to the side of the building! But that was the only negative in my stay. Everything else was spot on. Perfect location for exploring the area, even a great view from just sitting in the garden. There is a real feel of being away from it all, when you come from Manchester being awoken by birdsong and church bells is a delight. The chickens kindly provide the eggs for the best breakfast menu I have seen. Porridge with local whiskey, crab omellette..Ian was very welcoming and attentive to everyone's needs. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Though a bit out of the way, The Haven was relaxing and welcoming. The road in was closed because of flooding, but the trip in was picturesque. Ian offered tea upon arrival and the breakfast was awesome. The views are spectacular and the room was large. Truly a haven....

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeekGirl4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights at The Haven in mid July 2012. We were keen to see a lot of the sights in Northumberland and wanted to stay somewhere reasonably central. We chose Rothbury, which turned out to be as central as you can get in Northumberland. It is a lovely, small town that sits on the River Coquet and is the centre of an area known as Coquetdale.

The Haven is set on a hill just to the north of the main street and has a great view overlooking the town and the surrounding countryside. Our bedroom was a large, Superking room which was clean and nicely decorated. It had a superb view of the town, the opposite side of the river valley and the Simonside Hills.

The breakfasts were superb - my wife's particular favourite being the Black Rory porridge, which contained honey and Black Rory whisky. A recipe to die for!! The other choices were equally good, including smoked haddock and poached egg; crab omelette; and smoked salmon and scrambled egg. If you like a full English breakfast, I found The Haven's to be a very filling one that certainly set me up for the day!

The service provided by Ian, the proprietor, was excellent and we particularly appreciated his welcome when he offered us a cup of tea and piece of cake in the lounge. When we left we bought two bars of the delicious homemade chocolate, small examples of which Ian had provided for us in our bedroom on arrival. We would recommend Rothbury and The Haven to anyone who wants to visit this beautiful part of the world.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view south overlooking the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTS780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#5 of 11 in Rothbury
148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
1.9 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 11 in Rothbury
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 11 in Rothbury
714 reviews
0.2 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#10 of 11 in Rothbury
178 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#4 of 11 in Rothbury
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven

Address: The Haven Back Crofts, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £79 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in its own grounds on the hillside, looking south over the town, the Coquet Valley and Simonside Hills, The Haven is a splendid Edwardian detached stone-built house, approximately two minutes walk from the centre of Rothbury. Our family-run guesthouse offers very comfortable accommodation, fresh home cooked local produce and a friendly tranquil setting for business and pleasure. All rooms are generously sized and fitted to a high standard. Each room has en-suite bathroom, color TV, hair dryer, clock radio and amazing hospitality tray, and you may even get a taste of our special homemade chocolates. A comfortable lounge is available to guests at all times; guests are free to enjoy the terraced gardens overlooking the village. Wifi is available throughout the house. Private car parking is available for up to 16 cars in front of the house. A selection of local beers, wines and spirits are available to residential guests and their visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing