We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staying in Rothbury? Look No Further, this is the place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Haven

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Haven
Ranked #9 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Chesterfield, Derbys
2 reviews
“Staying in Rothbury? Look No Further, this is the place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2009

Just returned from a week at The Haven and entirely agree with all previous comments. Roz welcomed us with tea and coffee and delicious home made cake on our arrival. The whole place was spotlessly clean and comfortable.We stayed in the suite which is really spacious, beautifully decorated with a lovely double shower and excellent views over Rothbury and the Simonside Hills and on arrival in the room found that in additiion to the usual tea, coffee etc. chocolates, sherbet lemons and biscuits awaited us! There is also a full sized fridge for use during your stay.
The Haven is ideally situated with its own private car park, which is always a bonus, and less than a five minute walk to the village centre. A perfect location for touring Northumberland.
Breakfast could not be bettered, with a great choice, the porridge is the best we have had (my husband especially liked the speciality Black Rory Porridge served with honey and whisky). The attention from Ian at breakfast was second to none.
We really enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again and would definitely recommend The Haven to anyone looking to stay in Rothbury.
Thanks to you both for a thoroughly enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jivebunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

Welcomed to this lovely double fronted Edwardian house with a pot of tea. Bedrooms tastefully decorated in muted neutral colours. Fairtrade tea & coffee in room. Breakfast is chosen from an extensive menu using local ingredients.
We opted for dinner on our first night which was a great choice - delicious home cooked food and perfectly cooked vegetables! We enjoyed dinner so much we ate at the Haven again on our second night. Roz (the owner) is a chocolatier and her homemade truffles are delicious.
The Haven is well situated and has a nice garden overlooking Rothbury - the village centre is a short walk down the hill.
Ian and Roz are great hosts and we would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordielass64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridlington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

We have just arrived back from The Haven and agree with every comment already posted. The hotel is spotless, both modern and old charm, the food fantastic porridge with whisky for breakfast! If you stay there try to get the suite, where the view is terrific,it is well worth the extra money. Rothbury is lovely too, try a a walk by the river, and a visit to Cragside House and gardens. Thanks Roz and Ian.

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mavetherave49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2009

Myself and some colleagues stayed here in feb 2009, when the village was hit by a gas incident and we were reqd to be there as employees of the gas emergency service.
Roz, who owns and lives at The Haven with her family, accomodated us at the guest house.
The house and rooms were clean, warm, homely, comfortable and spacious, and we were made to feel very welcome by Roz and her family. Roz even made us a delicious meal late at night after we had worked all day and night in freezing blizzard conditions, which she did not have to do.
Next morning we all awoke to a lovely breakfast which has multiple choices, i had the kippers, which i must say were delicious.
The location of The Haven is also fantastic, splendid views and close to the village centre of Rothbury, which is a typical friendly, charming, Northumbrian village.
Roz also helped us day and night that week in the incident room in the village and worked tirlessly, day and night supplying myself and my colleagues and other emergency agencies with hot food and drinks, and Imust say Roz, you were fantastic, thankyou from all of us again at NGN.
On a final note regarding The Haven, i would certainly stay here again, and would highly reccomend it to stay in.......it is simply wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mordygas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozrothbury, Owner at The Haven, responded to this review, 30 July 2009
Thank you for getting in touch. It was a dreadfulf time for the elderly when the gas went off. You and your colleagues were tremendous, so many good reports from local residents,who were visited by yourselves. Thanks for the comments about The Haven, pity it couldn't have been warmer for you all. Take care, Roz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2009

The Haven is the perfect location for touring Northumberland and in our vew must be one of the most welcomming and comfortable places we have ever stayed.Roz and Ian are the perfect hosts.
Bed and breakfast could not be bettered, and as eating out in Rothbury is limited and not very good, we ordered an evening meal in the Haven The home cooking was just wonderful and Roz has a nice selection of wine at very reasonable prices. All in all a five star experience.
My wife says Roz's home made chocolates are indeed to die for!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rozrothbury, Owner at The Haven, responded to this review, 23 June 2009
Thank you for putting a rewiew up, I'm pleased you enjoyed the 'rhodies' at Cragside, they are pretty amazing. Kind Regards, Roz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

Rothbury, Northumberland: The Haven B&B: May 2009.
We were staying over the May Day bank holiday weekend. On arrival, we received a warm welcome from Roz and a fresh pot of tea! Our en suite room was clean and comfortable, with an ample supply of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits. We liked the little slip to order breakfast the night before. The special porridge is a must try and the kippers were very tasty. (By the way, you do still get breakfast if you forget to hand in the slip!) The dining room is very pleasant and sunny in the mornings, offering great views of the surrounding countryside.
Within a few minutes walking distance, the village centre offers a choice of eating places. We found 'The Newcastle' offered a good choice of food, but there are other pubs, chip shops (we even spotted a chip van one evening) and small cafes during the day. The Haven does offer light snacks too.
We used Rothbury as a base to visit Bamburgh Castle, Lindisfarne (check tide times for access) and Cragside, which is only a couple of miles from Rothbury. We also did a little research after spotting an old photograph in a shop window, and found evidence of the old railway in a small industrial park on the opposite side of the river.
All in all, a very enjoyable experience and we have had no hesitation in recommending The Haven to our friends.

Helpful?
Thank Brass10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

We had a lovely time in the peaceful village of Rothbury, The Haven was wonderful, a lovely old stone house built up on the hill with plenty of parking. The Haven had been newly re-decorated and was very homely and welcoming. On arrival we had coffee with handmade chocolates, made by Roz herself (they were delicious). The rooms were very clean and tidy with special touches and lovely views over the hillside. The breakfast had plenty of choice and was well presented. We thought Roz and Ian made us feel so welcome, and were so helpful in making our weekend a very special one. Thank you.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
9.5 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queens Head
The Queens Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
15.2 mi away
Chatton Park House
Chatton Park House
#3 of 4 in Chatton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven

Property: The Haven
Address: The Haven Back Crofts, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7XY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Haven 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in its own grounds on the hillside, looking south over the town, the Coquet Valley and Simonside Hills, The Haven is a splendid Edwardian detached stone-built house, approximately two minutes walk from the centre of Rothbury. Our family-run guesthouse offers very comfortable accommodation, fresh home cooked local produce and a friendly tranquil setting for business and pleasure. All rooms are generously sized and fitted to a high standard. Each room has en-suite bathroom, color TV, hair dryer, clock radio and amazing hospitality tray, and you may even get a taste of our special homemade chocolates. A comfortable lounge is available to guests at all times; guests are free to enjoy the terraced gardens overlooking the village. Wifi is available throughout the house. Private car parking is available for up to 16 cars in front of the house. A selection of local beers, wines and spirits are available to residential guests and their visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Haven reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing