We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Turks Head(Rothbury)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$151/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Newcastle House Hotel(Rothbury)(Great Value!)
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haven(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveller rating
141
139
53
20
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
139
53
20
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvoucher dealpiequiz nightnext morninga living social dealan overnight staytop floorchristmas giftnice atmosphereroom was spotlessstayed one nightthe pubevening mealsalmonfish and chipsnice stayate here
Filter
Updating list...
247 - 252 of 365 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed here for one night, the hotel was easy to find and is in a good location. Our room was ok, clean, quite big and fairly recently decorated but the rest of the place definitely needs a lick of paint and new carpets. The breakfast was good (though my first choice wasn't available) and service overall was friendly. We didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment on the food.

Overall a good hotel but I think quite pricey for what it offers.

Room Tip: If you're over 6ft tall the bed in room 12 isn't long enough to stretch out!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fleur1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Queens head hotel is a fantastic place to base yourself for exploring the north of england. A very relaxed atmosphere all the staff are friendly. I booked flowers to be in the room on arrival. They were as beautiful as expected thanks to the staff for arranging this with the local florist. This is the 3rd time we have stayed here. We have recommended ths queens head to friends and colleagues not one person has been dissapointed. Its a quaint hotel which is tastefully decorated making the very best of an old building in modern times. The bar is relaxed and welcoming, the restaurant well the food is top class (it was the best steak I've had in years). The breakfast as good as before but we know the help yourself system, if we had not stayed before it could have been a little disjointed and dissapointing. Recommend again anytime

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Hello Phillip,

Recognised you from the flowers,,,, thanks so much for leaving a lovely review, will try to make the breakfast buffet a bit less disjointed, thanks for letting me know its sometimes a problem.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

I enjoyed six very comfortable days here. The room was clean and I was very happy to stay here for six nights. OK the passage-ways show some signs of wear, and the carpets throughout are not perfect, but does this matter? The staff are friendly and all the requirements are well covered. Breakfast is excellent. If you feel like a big start to the day, go with the full Northumbrian. (Basically it's a full English.) Being an expat, I was delighted to find Craster kippers, so that's how I started my days (with brown toast etc.).
I cannot fault the restaurant. The menu is varied with options to meet all tastes. Try the salmon with a hollandaise sauce. And the whitebait! The presentation is very good. And a touch I took advantage of, you can be served and eat the serious meals in the bar. Don't waste time looking for anything better in the area. The bar has real ales, of which I enjoyed many.
The location is perfect for seeing the north. Cragside is just around the corner if your taste is stately homes. The coast is not far - the road to Alnwick (and the coast beyond) is easy and very pretty. The road to Hexham has some curves and hills, but it is a joy if you are on holiday and not commuting. If you need to go to the city, Newcastle has everything a reasonable person could want and it is a very easy drive.
Do not walk past the butchers next-door early in the morning if you are trying to be good and on a diet. There should be warning signs! They cook meat pies and other dangerous food that I would kill to find here in the States. The smell alone at 7am will probably add ten pounds. BTW, the black pudding is to be found as part of the full breakfast.
In summary, this is not a standard American plastic hotel (which I also really enjoy when the time is right). This is Northumberland. Relax. Ignore a few blemishes. Eat. Drink. Enjoy. It's a lovely place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you for your review it is much appreciated. Its lovely to know our efforts are not in vain and your very balanced view was a joy to read,,,,, relax,, indeed that's what its all about.

Thanks again
Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

We booked for our engineer who was working in the area. His review was very disappointing.
No tea, milk or sugar in the bedroom. The meal choice of a steak was not of good quality, described as very tough. Not a friendly establishment at all. Breakfast not served until 8.30am - too late for early workers and we were not told this when booking and our engineer was not offered an alternative e.g continental.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

An oversight regarding tea/coffee etc which if the Engineer had asked would have been rectified at the time..... As to breakfast we serve breakfast from 8am as this is mainly a tourist area and we get very few business travellers but we would have done an early breakfast if asked..... or we provide a packed lunch for those leaving very early, only have to ask...... I take on board the comment re the steak as we changed supplier recently and have had a couple of complaints so will be changing back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We booked rooms at The Queens Head for the second time as we enjoyed our previous stay and we wanted to explore the beautiful local countryside again.We found the staff as welcoming and helpful as last time. Our rooms were clean and comfortable. The food in the restaurant and the breakfasts were good, and my husband and son enjoyed the beer. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review it is most appreciated, we hope you can come and stay with us again.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews