We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #5 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Could do better”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Dowdy exterior and frankly shabby bar area. We didn't use it but the restaurant looked much nicer. Rooms OK'ish - an effort has been made with modern touches. Bathroom bigger than twin room (odd !) - shower only, no bath. Breakfast reasonable. Overall one that I would not revisit but staff largely friendly; worth researching other options for 2* or above.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 11 October 2013
I am sorry that you were not happy about our bar area and that you thought the furniture (a mixture of leather chesterfield and armchairs and newly recovered chairs and benches) was old and shabby ??
Spotlessly clean carpet, comfortable antique leather sofa and armchairs highly polished chairs and tables, if that's shabby then I hope you find something more suited to your taste if you ever come back to Rothbury. We are classified by Visit England as a Four Star INN, we have a 5 Star rating for food hygiene and if I could put up a picture on here I would. I will be putting one on the website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    123
    44
    16
    10
See reviews for
29
217
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Queen's Head. Everything was excellent, our room was spacious and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a comfortable lounge for guests to use but we went into the bar which is CAMRA recommended and had 4 beers on hand pumps. There is a quiz on Wednesday nights. The breakfast was splendid, there were fruit juices, a range of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a full Northumberland cooked breakfast, toast, muffins and even eggs Benedict.
We ate in the restaurant several times and were pleased with all the meals and wine. The service was excellent. Reservations are needed but it is possible to eat a restaurant meal in the bar if they are full. We ate in other hotels in Rothbury where the food was of a similar standard and the same price.
The Queens Head is situated in the beautiful Coquet Valley and Rothbury is a good centre to explore it and the Simonside Hills. Cragside, a National Trust property, is only a mile away and it is worth spending a whole day there. Brinkburn Priory, Alnwick, Belsay Castle and Wallington are all very close and the Northumberland coast and castles are nearby. The bus stops outside the Queens Head and this will take you to Morpeth and Newcastle.
Would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulineC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you Pauline (we don't have many 8 day stays so knew it was you) It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit again, We will keep your details on file and let you know of any special offers for returning guests, Thanks again for the lovely review.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but were in a cottage just over the road but we ate at the hotel and went for drinks a few times and were very pleased with it. The food was typical pub grub but very nice and the drinks were also good with some nice real ales. The service was very friendly and pretty quick. The atmosphere was very much old world pub very cosy and friendly and if we visit Rothbury again we will return

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rivenhall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We spent two nights at the Queens Head, and ate dinner on both evenings; there actually being very little choice in Rothbury itself, other than a number of pubs, none of which looked especially appealing. Rothbury is a pretty small village, with a few shops of interest to the tourist.

Our room was fine, quite clean and comfortable, and of a reasonable size, with a small ensuite bathroom. Even though we overlooked the main road it was quiet, there being almost no traffic at night. The room (and the hotel generally) was a bit tired, and could do with some redecoration and refurbishment.

The hotel is very well situated, just 5 minutes drive from the NT Cragside House which, with nearby Alnwick Castle, were the main reasons for our stay.

Breakfast was classic English, of good quality and quantity. There was no continental breakfast choice, though this was not an issue for us.

Dinner is regular 'pub grub'; the menu is not very ambitious and most of the options are heavyweight classics. Food quality I would judge as average, it certainly would not be a reason to visit the hotel a second time. That said, other restaurant options in Rothbury looked to be very limited.

Live music (good) was provided on our second evening; the hotel was packed with people coming to listen.

The bar had quite a good feel about it, though the range of real beers was very limited. Wine by the glass was all from a pump - horrible, and expensive.

The staff, bar one of the bar staff, were all very friendly and helpful.

Our room rate (£80 B&B) I judge to rather poor value, we subsequently found much better accommodation in Northumberland at much the same price.

If you want to visit nearby Cragside House and/or Alnwick, then the Queens Head worth a look, otherwise I would give it a miss.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin_JS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Hello Colin,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, an interesting read, nearly a novel actually.....
I am surprised you found 4 real ales on a small bar limited? The wine is served from sealed 10ltr boxes through a font which is much fresher than serving by the glass from bottles, we have tried both over the years. We sell 60 litres a week and I enjoy the sauvignon blanc myself so obviously dont think its horrible, (although I do prefer a bottle of chablis from our wine list) and is what equates to £13.80 a bottle in a bar expensive.

I realise that individual opinions are just that, and we will endeavour to raise our game to come closer to our guests expectations.

As you said you would give us a miss I am assuming you do not want me to let you know of any offers we do.

Thank you
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penicuik, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed here for 1 night. This hotel could do with redecoration. Our room was on the top floor. It was small and cluttered. There was a separate bathroom and shower room which was fine. The bedding and towels were pristine. We ate in the hotel in the evening and the meal was good as was our breakfast in the morning. The staff were friendly and helpful. We paid on line a month before we went and were presented with an invoice on leaving. Lack of communication somewhere!!!! Not somewhere I would chose to stay again and a bit overpriced too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Hello Patricia,
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review.
I apologise about being presented with a bill when you actually paid online, this very rarely happens and is usually because the person making out the bills does not read the booking properly. Thank you for letting me know I noted you stayed on Saturday 31st so will be taking up this matter with the person on duty. I was pleased to note you enjoyed the food and the staff where pleasant and your room was spotless, if a little small. We do have larger rooms which had been allocated to people staying 3 and 4 nights. As to the price, I do offer good deals to returning guests who book direct.

And lastly to the decoration, its ongoing, all the time, it never ends.......

Thanks again
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

A stay over the Bank Holiday was our 2nd stay of the year. We have been in rooms 15 & 16, both attractively decorated. Room 16 could be improved by having bedside lamps on both sides of the bed that gave sufficient light to read by, but other than that the rooms are very good.

Restaurant is generally good, serving pub food standards (scampi, pie, fish and chips) and up (nice sea bream with ginger stir fry vegetables). Some other higher-end dishes appear a little over-priced to me. Restaurant busy Bank Holiday Sunday evening, however over the course of the evening the 2 waitresses gave one of the most impressive displays of service I have seen, Service with a smile, friendly and courteous throughout, letting you know they hadn't forgotten you if they felt you had been waiting longer than expected, although through their sheer hard work this wasn't really the case.

Good breakfast choice.

All in all would recommend the Queens as a good comfortable place to stay, with friendly staff, good food and in a good location for walking in the Coquet Valley

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackwardsTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for leaving us a review, I am delighted that you appreciated the hard work the staff put in to make your dining experience enjoyable. I will pass on your comments.

Thanks again
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights staff are very friendly Chris the owner is a really good host and his staff are very polite ate both nights in the restaurant which was very enjoyable and the food to die for The room was very clean the only thing was we found it to be very stuff on the night time but couldn't open the window we will stay at this place again. Visited Craigside well worth the visit. Thanks to Chris and his staff for making our weekend

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 784Liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hello Liz,

Thanks for leaving a review, I see its your first so double thanks, Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay so much you would come again. Sorry you could not open the window, they all open so will look into that.

Thanks again
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
112 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
399 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Three Wheat Heads Inn
0.0 mi away
Springfield Guest House
Springfield Guest House
#10 of 12 in Rothbury
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Property: The Queens Head
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing