We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Turks Head(Rothbury)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Haven(Rothbury)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
364 results
Traveller rating
141
139
53
19
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
141
139
53
19
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvoucher dealpiequiz nightnext morninga living social dealan overnight staytop floorchristmas giftnice atmosphereroom was spotlessstayed one nightshort breakthe pubevening mealsalmonfish and chipsnice stay
Filter
Updating list...
237 - 242 of 364 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed last night in room 16. Very clean, nice and warm, bathroom veryspacious. Staff friendly and bbreakfast was gorgeous. Only 1 grumble my partner said his guiness was warm but certainly didnt spoil our stay. Would def recomnend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsmc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Only stayed the one night but got that sinking feeling on arrival in the rain - exterior looked grim, rather 'mill like'. Reception was cheerful although the bar area seemed a little dated, and populated with the usual crop of bar flies. The accommodation was a bit of a hike into 'the gods' and the decor was 'interesting'. The overall impression led me to look elsewhere for dining that night, although on passing the restaurant looked pleasant and busy. Breakfast the next morning was standard fare although the menu had been titivated to seem 'local'. Not a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluewalrus750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review. The exterior of the building is indeed of its time built in about 1780 of sandstone at the front, and the usual additions to public houses ie cellar etc to the rear. 4 floors and numerous stairs do make it feel you are heading into the gods. Not sure what interesting decor is supposed to mean so will not comment on that. I do however resent the insinuation that the breakfast menu is titivated to seem local !!!! Free range local eggs, sausages from the butcher handmade 2 doors away, locally cured bacon, bread from the bakery next door, how more local can you get?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Dowdy exterior and frankly shabby bar area. We didn't use it but the restaurant looked much nicer. Rooms OK'ish - an effort has been made with modern touches. Bathroom bigger than twin room (odd !) - shower only, no bath. Breakfast reasonable. Overall one that I would not revisit but staff largely friendly; worth researching other options for 2* or above.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I am sorry that you were not happy about our bar area and that you thought the furniture (a mixture of leather chesterfield and armchairs and newly recovered chairs and benches) was old and shabby ??
Spotlessly clean carpet, comfortable antique leather sofa and armchairs highly polished chairs and tables, if that's shabby then I hope you find something more suited to your taste if you ever come back to Rothbury. We are classified by Visit England as a Four Star INN, we have a 5 Star rating for food hygiene and if I could put up a picture on here I would. I will be putting one on the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Queen's Head. Everything was excellent, our room was spacious and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a comfortable lounge for guests to use but we went into the bar which is CAMRA recommended and had 4 beers on hand pumps. There is a quiz on Wednesday nights. The breakfast was splendid, there were fruit juices, a range of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a full Northumberland cooked breakfast, toast, muffins and even eggs Benedict.
We ate in the restaurant several times and were pleased with all the meals and wine. The service was excellent. Reservations are needed but it is possible to eat a restaurant meal in the bar if they are full. We ate in other hotels in Rothbury where the food was of a similar standard and the same price.
The Queens Head is situated in the beautiful Coquet Valley and Rothbury is a good centre to explore it and the Simonside Hills. Cragside, a National Trust property, is only a mile away and it is worth spending a whole day there. Brinkburn Priory, Alnwick, Belsay Castle and Wallington are all very close and the Northumberland coast and castles are nearby. The bus stops outside the Queens Head and this will take you to Morpeth and Newcastle.
Would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you Pauline (we don't have many 8 day stays so knew it was you) It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit again, We will keep your details on file and let you know of any special offers for returning guests, Thanks again for the lovely review.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but were in a cottage just over the road but we ate at the hotel and went for drinks a few times and were very pleased with it. The food was typical pub grub but very nice and the drinks were also good with some nice real ales. The service was very friendly and pretty quick. The atmosphere was very much old world pub very cosy and friendly and if we visit Rothbury again we will return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews