We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (380)
Filter reviews
380 results
Traveller rating
143
144
58
22
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
144
58
22
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews voucher deal pie next morning an overnight stay top floor nice atmosphere stayed one night room was spotless the pub fish and chips an evening meal salmon nice stay ate here dining room on arrival my partner
Filter
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 380 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We really enjoyed our visit, the room was spotless and recently decorated.
We had an evening meal which was home made and delicious, the breakfast was lovely too.
All the staff were really helpful and polite.
The only downside to our stay was that the mattress had seen better days and was dipped.
Overall I would recommend this place to friends and family and I've bought my parents an overnight stay here too as a Xmas present.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VwT4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed last night in room 16. Very clean, nice and warm, bathroom veryspacious. Staff friendly and bbreakfast was gorgeous. Only 1 grumble my partner said his guiness was warm but certainly didnt spoil our stay. Would def recomnend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsmc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Only stayed the one night but got that sinking feeling on arrival in the rain - exterior looked grim, rather 'mill like'. Reception was cheerful although the bar area seemed a little dated, and populated with the usual crop of bar flies. The accommodation was a bit of a hike into 'the gods' and the decor was 'interesting'. The overall impression led me to look elsewhere for dining that night, although on passing the restaurant looked pleasant and busy. Breakfast the next morning was standard fare although the menu had been titivated to seem 'local'. Not a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluewalrus750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review. The exterior of the building is indeed of its time built in about 1780 of sandstone at the front, and the usual additions to public houses ie cellar etc to the rear. 4 floors and numerous stairs do make it feel you are heading into the gods. Not sure what interesting decor is supposed to mean so will not comment on that. I do however resent the insinuation that the breakfast menu is titivated to seem local !!!! Free range local eggs, sausages from the butcher handmade 2 doors away, locally cured bacon, bread from the bakery next door, how more local can you get?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Dowdy exterior and frankly shabby bar area. We didn't use it but the restaurant looked much nicer. Rooms OK'ish - an effort has been made with modern touches. Bathroom bigger than twin room (odd !) - shower only, no bath. Breakfast reasonable. Overall one that I would not revisit but staff largely friendly; worth researching other options for 2* or above.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I am sorry that you were not happy about our bar area and that you thought the furniture (a mixture of leather chesterfield and armchairs and newly recovered chairs and benches) was old and shabby ??
Spotlessly clean carpet, comfortable antique leather sofa and armchairs highly polished chairs and tables, if that's shabby then I hope you find something more suited to your taste if you ever come back to Rothbury. We are classified by Visit England as a Four Star INN, we have a 5 Star rating for food hygiene and if I could put up a picture on here I would. I will be putting one on the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Queen's Head. Everything was excellent, our room was spacious and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a comfortable lounge for guests to use but we went into the bar which is CAMRA recommended and had 4 beers on hand pumps. There is a quiz on Wednesday nights. The breakfast was splendid, there were fruit juices, a range of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a full Northumberland cooked breakfast, toast, muffins and even eggs Benedict.
We ate in the restaurant several times and were pleased with all the meals and wine. The service was excellent. Reservations are needed but it is possible to eat a restaurant meal in the bar if they are full. We ate in other hotels in Rothbury where the food was of a similar standard and the same price.
The Queens Head is situated in the beautiful Coquet Valley and Rothbury is a good centre to explore it and the Simonside Hills. Cragside, a National Trust property, is only a mile away and it is worth spending a whole day there. Brinkburn Priory, Alnwick, Belsay Castle and Wallington are all very close and the Northumberland coast and castles are nearby. The bus stops outside the Queens Head and this will take you to Morpeth and Newcastle.
Would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you Pauline (we don't have many 8 day stays so knew it was you) It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit again, We will keep your details on file and let you know of any special offers for returning guests, Thanks again for the lovely review.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews