We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quintessential country pub”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #6 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Queens Head for 1 night. The hotel is exactly what it says on the tin. Decoration typical of a country Inn, roaring fires & traditional cosy bar. The staff were very welcoming which is always a deal clincher for us. Rooms were small but tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. Biggest highlight was the food which was amazing, will be coming back for the food alone! Having stayed the previous night at a Spa hotel, the Queens head is a stark difference. If you are looking for refinement then I would book somewhere else. If however you are looking for a gorgeous country pub with charm & character in a stunning rural setting, then this is the place.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hellsg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

209 - 215 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We really enjoyed our visit, the room was spotless and recently decorated.
We had an evening meal which was home made and delicious, the breakfast was lovely too.
All the staff were really helpful and polite.
The only downside to our stay was that the mattress had seen better days and was dipped.
Overall I would recommend this place to friends and family and I've bought my parents an overnight stay here too as a Xmas present.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VwT4family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed last night in room 16. Very clean, nice and warm, bathroom veryspacious. Staff friendly and bbreakfast was gorgeous. Only 1 grumble my partner said his guiness was warm but certainly didnt spoil our stay. Would def recomnend

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debsmc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Only stayed the one night but got that sinking feeling on arrival in the rain - exterior looked grim, rather 'mill like'. Reception was cheerful although the bar area seemed a little dated, and populated with the usual crop of bar flies. The accommodation was a bit of a hike into 'the gods' and the decor was 'interesting'. The overall impression led me to look elsewhere for dining that night, although on passing the restaurant looked pleasant and busy. Breakfast the next morning was standard fare although the menu had been titivated to seem 'local'. Not a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluewalrus750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for your review. The exterior of the building is indeed of its time built in about 1780 of sandstone at the front, and the usual additions to public houses ie cellar etc to the rear. 4 floors and numerous stairs do make it feel you are heading into the gods. Not sure what interesting decor is supposed to mean so will not comment on that. I do however resent the insinuation that the breakfast menu is titivated to seem local !!!! Free range local eggs, sausages from the butcher handmade 2 doors away, locally cured bacon, bread from the bakery next door, how more local can you get?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Dowdy exterior and frankly shabby bar area. We didn't use it but the restaurant looked much nicer. Rooms OK'ish - an effort has been made with modern touches. Bathroom bigger than twin room (odd !) - shower only, no bath. Breakfast reasonable. Overall one that I would not revisit but staff largely friendly; worth researching other options for 2* or above.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vega77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2013

I am sorry that you were not happy about our bar area and that you thought the furniture (a mixture of leather chesterfield and armchairs and newly recovered chairs and benches) was old and shabby ??
Spotlessly clean carpet, comfortable antique leather sofa and armchairs highly polished chairs and tables, if that's shabby then I hope you find something more suited to your taste if you ever come back to Rothbury. We are classified by Visit England as a Four Star INN, we have a 5 Star rating for food hygiene and if I could put up a picture on here I would. I will be putting one on the website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

We have just returned from an 8 day stay at the Queen's Head. Everything was excellent, our room was spacious and spotless, all the staff were friendly and helpful. There is a comfortable lounge for guests to use but we went into the bar which is CAMRA recommended and had 4 beers on hand pumps. There is a quiz on Wednesday nights. The breakfast was splendid, there were fruit juices, a range of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, a full Northumberland cooked breakfast, toast, muffins and even eggs Benedict.
We ate in the restaurant several times and were pleased with all the meals and wine. The service was excellent. Reservations are needed but it is possible to eat a restaurant meal in the bar if they are full. We ate in other hotels in Rothbury where the food was of a similar standard and the same price.
The Queens Head is situated in the beautiful Coquet Valley and Rothbury is a good centre to explore it and the Simonside Hills. Cragside, a National Trust property, is only a mile away and it is worth spending a whole day there. Brinkburn Priory, Alnwick, Belsay Castle and Wallington are all very close and the Northumberland coast and castles are nearby. The bus stops outside the Queens Head and this will take you to Morpeth and Newcastle.
Would recommend this hotel whole heartedly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulineC34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2013

Thank you Pauline (we don't have many 8 day stays so knew it was you) It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we hope you will visit again, We will keep your details on file and let you know of any special offers for returning guests, Thanks again for the lovely review.

Teresa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We did not stay at the hotel but were in a cottage just over the road but we ate at the hotel and went for drinks a few times and were very pleased with it. The food was typical pub grub but very nice and the drinks were also good with some nice real ales. The service was very friendly and pretty quick. The atmosphere was very much old world pub very cosy and friendly and if we visit Rothbury again we will return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnc174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
10.4 mi away
The Hog's Head Inn
The Hog's Head Inn
#4 of 5 in Alnwick
532 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#5 of 12 in Rothbury
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tomlinson's Cafe & Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Address: Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range: £59 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the bar / a la carte menu or the daily blackboard are available lunch and dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing