We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre Christmas chill out”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #5 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas chill out”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Overall a tired looking hotel and bar but a really relaxed and good ambience. Bedroom was much better than expected very clean, comfortable bed, tv in room, plenty of tea coffee and biscuits, Bathroom large and clean with bath and shower. Lovely soft white towels. Enjoyed a lovely evening meal in the breakfast room but breakfast itself was cold and disappointing. Pool room in pub was a mess and a bit of a dumping ground but has potential to be made much more pleasant. Location very good with walks from the door and very central.I would stay here again but it would not be to everyones taste. Stayed using a groupon deal but probably would not like to pay more for the stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Hello Sonya,

Thank you for the review which is most appreciated. We strive to give a very good product so I am disappointed that in this case we seem to have fallen short. I will be looking into the comments you made about having a cold breakfast, there really is not excuse so thanks for letting me know.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    122
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
26
211
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night, 1st impressions were lovely, very warm and welcoming as soon as we arrived. We were shown to our room which I was pleasantly surprised at the size and how homely it felt. The pubs, shops and tea rooms to the surrounding area are lovely. We didn't eat in the hotel but the menu was of good standard and not expensive, the bar area was really with a warm feeling. However next morning at breakfast was a big let down, we were 1st in the breakfast room and immediately served with tea and coffee but the lady taking our order appeared very flustered, approx 20 minutes later other guests started to arrive and their orders were taken, we had to wait for 45 minutes until others were served with their breakfasts, when ours eventually arrive it looked lovely but was stone cold, not sure if we had been forgotten or not but unfortunately the whole breakfast was a major let down for me. Other than this we really did enjoy our weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellieandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Kellie,
Thank you for your review, its much appreciated, I am so sorry your breakfast was cold and I am looking into the reason why their was a problem so it wont happen again.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my Girlfriend stayed here on the 5th of December 2013. What a very friendly pub this is and the atmosphere is brilliant! Our room was lovely and the decor was up to date, it was also very clean and cosy. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for our journey home. How can anyone say anything bad about this place? We always check out the comments on places before we go and there was a few which were so petty! Rothbury its self was so nice, we loved the place and the pubs were all like The Queens Head - greeted with a friendly welcome! We will definitely be going back here. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanChan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review, it restores my faith in humanity, hahaha. Seriously though it was really nice to read a measured view and we do try so hard to please. I will keep your email on file and let you know of any other deals we do in the future.

Thanks again
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Stopped on a Groupon and we were treated very well, we never once felt like we were any different to full paying customers, after a very warm welcome we were shown to a nice pleasant room with a spacious bathroom, in the morning we had a generous Northumberland breakfast, very nice
We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gingageordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We used groupon to book this small, friendly hotel. Our room was spotless, had everything we needed, the staff were friendly & helpful and the food excellent. We will not hesitate to recommend to friends & family.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Got a groupon for this hotel that included room and breakfast and 20% off 3 course dinner. For what we paid this was excellent. The hotel is in the sleepy village of Rothbury, that has some nice small shops and tea rooms and is quite pretty, although not that much to do. The hotel itself is in the Queens Head pub, the staff were very friendly and the bar area had a nice atmosphere. Our room was a decent size, clean & cosy. The bed was very comfortable. it was quiet and we both slept well. Dinner was nice, and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was excellent. Id recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanGirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Had a lovely stay for my partners birthday staff wr excellent and friendly food was lovely only complaint is I couldn't have skinny chips but never mind would come back lovely sitting in the bar with fire on was cosy and welcoming

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 24sharron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rothbury hotels
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
676 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Allerhope House Guest House
1.9 mi away
Tosson Tower Farm
Tosson Tower Farm
#2 of 12 in Rothbury
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Property: The Queens Head
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing