We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #5 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
segedunum78
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Using a Groupon voucher we had a great stay at the Queens. The rooms were large and comfy, the staff very friendly, the bar had a great atmosphere and the food in the restaurant was fantastic. Yes the food and drink were pricey, but worth it none the less.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank segedunum78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    118
    40
    14
    9
See reviews for
23
208
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were bought this one night stay as a gift. The hotel was ok, free parking. It's a pub with rooms. The pub was fine, we ate in the bar. Food was homemade. Hubby loved his fish and chips. My lasagne was ok not much meat in it tho. Onion rings were lovely. Read recent review bout breakfast, ours was hot. Good breakfast. Room was ok too. Overall good stay, staff friendly. The whole place would benefit with a bit of decorating tho it didn't bother us. It was clean which was the important bit. Rothbury is a lovely town, lots of good walks nearby.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheel52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Hello,
Thanks for your review, we take on board your comments regarding decoration. We are busy decorating,,,,,, again............. its a constant job so hope your comments are taken in perspective. We try to do decorating in the quieter months so hopefully it will be done before Easter.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

First stay in Rothbury. Checked in by very friendly member of staff and then the ascent up the stairs. A little daunting going through all the corridors, which really, given the age of the property, there is no way you could get a lift in. Then we reached the room.....................
Separate shower room, bathroom and toilet with full bath and a separate bedroom with space for two chairs sited at the end of the bed in case you wanted to watch the TV comfortably. Brightly decorated. A really nice spacious room which was clean and had everything you needed including an oil-filled plug-in radiator as supplementary heating because it was a cold day and the room (being at the top of the hotel) wasn't the warmest but this was a thoughtful(and welcome) addition by the owners. Bed was extremely comfortable.
Bar clean, well stocked and pub food was of generous portions.
Beakfast was served in first floor dining room. Surroundings very nice and an excellent breakfast provided.
Rothbury is only a mile or so from Cragside National Trust property which was closed on this visit but we have visited it before and can recommend it as a place to visit.
Wish we could have stayed longer. Free car park at rear of property too! A great stay in a nice property.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Thank you so much for your review. I hope you will be able to come and stay with us again. Keep in touch.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Once again food was out of this world. Staff spot on. Very clean and tidy. Will definitely be back again love it. Rothbury is a nice little retreat. A big thanks to the 2 waitresses on Sunday 26 th January who were absolutely brilliant during a minor crisis. Thanks

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank scoobydave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Thanks for leaving us a review, and so pleased you enjoyed your stay, so sorry that your food was delayed by the small problem of the lift breaking down....... and that you appreciated the effort to put it right. Hope you will stay with us again soon.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Overall a tired looking hotel and bar but a really relaxed and good ambience. Bedroom was much better than expected very clean, comfortable bed, tv in room, plenty of tea coffee and biscuits, Bathroom large and clean with bath and shower. Lovely soft white towels. Enjoyed a lovely evening meal in the breakfast room but breakfast itself was cold and disappointing. Pool room in pub was a mess and a bit of a dumping ground but has potential to be made much more pleasant. Location very good with walks from the door and very central.I would stay here again but it would not be to everyones taste. Stayed using a groupon deal but probably would not like to pay more for the stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Hello Sonya,

Thank you for the review which is most appreciated. We strive to give a very good product so I am disappointed that in this case we seem to have fallen short. I will be looking into the comments you made about having a cold breakfast, there really is not excuse so thanks for letting me know.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday night, 1st impressions were lovely, very warm and welcoming as soon as we arrived. We were shown to our room which I was pleasantly surprised at the size and how homely it felt. The pubs, shops and tea rooms to the surrounding area are lovely. We didn't eat in the hotel but the menu was of good standard and not expensive, the bar area was really with a warm feeling. However next morning at breakfast was a big let down, we were 1st in the breakfast room and immediately served with tea and coffee but the lady taking our order appeared very flustered, approx 20 minutes later other guests started to arrive and their orders were taken, we had to wait for 45 minutes until others were served with their breakfasts, when ours eventually arrive it looked lovely but was stone cold, not sure if we had been forgotten or not but unfortunately the whole breakfast was a major let down for me. Other than this we really did enjoy our weekend.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellieandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello Kellie,
Thank you for your review, its much appreciated, I am so sorry your breakfast was cold and I am looking into the reason why their was a problem so it wont happen again.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

Me and my Girlfriend stayed here on the 5th of December 2013. What a very friendly pub this is and the atmosphere is brilliant! Our room was lovely and the decor was up to date, it was also very clean and cosy. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for our journey home. How can anyone say anything bad about this place? We always check out the comments on places before we go and there was a few which were so petty! Rothbury its self was so nice, we loved the place and the pubs were all like The Queens Head - greeted with a friendly welcome! We will definitely be going back here. Highly recommended!!!

Room Tip: Our room was 16.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanChan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review, it restores my faith in humanity, hahaha. Seriously though it was really nice to read a measured view and we do try so hard to please. I will keep your email on file and let you know of any other deals we do in the future.

Thanks again
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.3 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
341 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
135 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Property: The Queens Head
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing