We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location”
Review of The Queens Head

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Queens Head
Ranked #5 of 12 Rothbury B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed for three nights ,ideally located for our golf comp
The room was spacious and a lovely large bathroom, breakfast good
We had an evening meal in the bar area , rump steak , fish and chips and pie of the day all was great.
No complaints

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 126Di100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    118
    41
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
209
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
615 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We wanted to stay conveniently for Cragside, and the satnav said two miles as we headed for it. In the main street of Rothbury, a pleasant town, with convenient parking immediately behind.
We noticed that there was a singer that evening and were somewhat concerned that our rest could be disturbed, both weary after a drive from Scotland and a steep and hot walk on Cragside's wonderful estate.
Dinner was good pub food, with local excellent sausages and friendly and attentive service. A local blonde beer washed it down. Our room on the second floor was quiet and we didn't hear the singer. Breakfast was good.
The room was a little tired with the bathroom light failing but clean with a comfortable bed. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Queens Head several times especially in February to explore the beautiful countryside, beaches and history of Northumberland. The breakfast choice is great - from kippers to porridge to full English breakfast. The dinners can be eaten in the restaurant or in the bar. The staff work hard and are responsive. Rothbury is a quiet town with lovely walks along the river or up in historic Simonside hills with rock art dating back 5000 years. Cragside is well worth visit - with the first house to be out by hydroelectricity. It has wonderful long walks around its gardens and into the woods.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, we really appreciate you have taken to time to leave one and I hope you can stay with us again very soon.

Thanks again
Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From the moment we walked in the level of service was professional and friendly, especially the waitresses in the excellent restaurant. The food was of a high standard and we can particularly recommend the lamb rump and the chicken stuffed with haggis. Our room(no.23) was on the top floor and with it's newly decorated bathroom was of more than an adequate standard, the bed was very comfortable and clean. There appears to be an ongoing programme of redecoration in the hotel which will help brighten up the odd tired corner. The hotel is perfectly located for visiting the National Trust properties at Cragside and Wallington. We hope to visit again and would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rykmor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to seeing you again.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We stayed at The Queen's Head for one night as we walked St. Oswald's Way. A nice place in the process of being renovated by the looks of it. Rooms were clean tidy and pleasant and the beds were comfortable. We had a really nice meal here as well and the service was excellent. Not a 5 star place but very good and will be a lot better when the renovation is complete. Rothbury is really a lovely little town.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baggy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thanks for the lovley review, hope you can stay with us again.

Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were booked into The Turks Head in Rothbury but due to a plumbing emergency we were moved to The Queens Head also in Rothbury. Didn't mind being moved but notice was the same day so planning an alternative whilst driving up the A1 wasn't an option.
The manager of The Turks Head texted a sincere apology and offered a discount should we choose to return at a later date which seemed generous given she had lost a booking...or so we thought - turns out both hotels are co owned so the offer was a little hollow given we wernt offered so much as a cup of coffee on arrival or in person repeat of the apology and up until arrival we didn't even know the rate despite texting back to ask!

However The Queens Head is an OK place but not remarkable. Our room was clean and the bathroom a generous size but there was no in room WiFi and the 17 inch TV with terrible reception wasn't much of a concelation.

Breakfast was very good and served with a smile so no issue there.

I enquired on departure if there was to be any discount considering the inconvenience but the same smiley man from breakfast pleaded ignorance of the last minute change and charged us the full £80.

In summary this is an OK place that shouldnt disappoint to much but its on the expensive end of the scale considering its a basic room above a pub making it a very tasty but costly breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ant_onlineuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missytiger, Owner at The Queens Head, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It appears we have suffered a little through no fault of our own in that you were not happy to be moved. The Queens Head is not co-owned, we do have an interest in The Turks Head. I offered the room in good faith on the same terms as your booking with The Turks Head as you would otherwise not have had anywhere to stay. The accommodation is comparable, both above a pub, no wifi in room etc. I apologise that the Manager of the Turks Head was not there to greet you, but I am sure you found my staff to be very helpful and solicitous and as there is free tea/coffee/biscuits in all our rooms they would not have offered coffee as soon as you arrived.

I hope that you will take up the offer of discounted accommodation at The Turks Head when next in Rothbury.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just booked one night stay here got room on top floor room was very nice and clean. The guy who checked us in was really nice and chatty. We had a few beers then went for a walk its a beautiful little place.We had a meal in the hotel and it was fantastic Chicken with Haggis mmmm.I would go bck service was very good ..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ianhodgson377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rothbury
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Linden Hall Golf & Country Club
9.2 mi away
Eshott Hall
Eshott Hall
#1 of 1 in Eshott
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Coquetvale Hotel
The Coquetvale Hotel
#4 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Newcastle House Hotel
Newcastle House Hotel
#7 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Turks Head
The Turks Head
#6 of 12 in Rothbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Orchard House
The Orchard House
#3 of 12 in Rothbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Queens Head

Property: The Queens Head
Address: Townfoot, Rothbury, Northumberland National Park NE65 7SR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Northumberland National Park > Rothbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Rothbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Queens Head 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queens Head is a family run inn with smart en-suite rooms, relaxed atmosphere, friendly bar and helpful staff. The attractive restaurant has comfortable high backed upholstered chairs where the Bar/A la Carte Menu or the daily blackboard are available Lunch and Dinner, or if you prefer, eat in the Bar. There is a patio garden and free private car park. We pride ourselves on the quality of our food and service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, LateRooms, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Queens Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Queens Head Hotel Rothbury
The Queens Head Rothbury, Northumberland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing