We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently outstanding”
Review of Foxholm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Foxholm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawdon B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We've stayed with Julie and Yvonne on a number of occasions now and every time the welcome is warm. The rooms are comfortable, spotless and tasteful; the breakfast offers a great choice of dishes that are freshly prepared and beautifully presented. Nothing is too much trouble for them and we would unreservedly recommend staying at Foxholm. And the food at The Anvil just opposite is excellent.

It doesn't get any better than this, in our opinion.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flyboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's particularly helpful to have feedback from guests who have stayed several times. It helps us know we are delivering consistent customer service. We hope to see you both again; when you are up for your son's wedding perhaps?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have been visiting The North Yorkshire Moors area for well over 30 years Foxholm is the best B&B we have found.
Just read all the other revues they sum the place up and I cant add anything to what has already been said in praise without repeating most of those comments -I would however take issue with one comment which which reduced Foxholm rating for its situation - I can only assume this was done because of its peaceful situation so anyone needing a bit of hustle and bustle needs to look to one of the market towns in the area as Foxholm offers and indeed gives peace and quiet.
This B&B has had much thought and effort but into giving visitors quality and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine one has a bath and is a larger room, the other two have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kirkleeschoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your 30 years visiting the Moors makes you highly experienced visitors and your positive comments are all the more valid for that. We hope you'll stay again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Yvonne and Julie provide the warmest welcome you could possibly want. The B & B is off the beaten track ( but not too far off) in beautiful countryside. Their breakfasts are wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I would recommend anybody to try their hospitality. The big bonus is The Anvil, literally just across the road which serves the most delicious evening meals. Foxholm is truly somewhere one should visit time and again. On returning we were greeted like old friends.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ronhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2013

Helena ,and Ron.Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's positive tone is very encouraging. There are plenty of other beauty spots for you to see and other intriguing places to visit when you return. Give us some notice and we'll have the maps out and a reservation made for you at the Anvil! Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We booked into Yvonne and Julie's B&B on the recommendation of a local landlord, and were impressed by the warmth of the welcome we received and the attention to detail in the very comfortable rooms. Breakfast in the conservatory was delightful and we would have no hesitation in recommending Foxholm to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Jenny, thank you for your positive comments. It is good to know we are still providing high quality accommodation and hospitality. We will be pleased to welcome you again, hopefully ahead of next years bridge convention. Thank again, Julie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Had an absolutely great stay. Picked a very cold week in March and woke to snow!! Julie and Yvonne couldn't have been more accommodating - extra heating, hot water bottles and offers of lifts out of the snow village!! Certainly above and beyond the call of duty. The room was extremely comfortable and had everything we needed. We looked forward to breakfast every morning. On our next visit to Yorkshire we know where we will be staying. Thank you J & Y.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have just had a super weekend staying with a group of friends at Julie and Yvonne's B&B. They are able to get that difficult mix of quality and confort for a great price. You are made to feel extremely welcome and the facilities / location are just great. The beds were some of the best we've slept in in B&Bs and hotels. The breakfasts are probably the best bit of the stay at Foxholm. Although you have to choose your preferred breakfast the night before, the range of choice is fantastic and the quality of the food superb. The breakfast room is in a large and sunny conservatory overlooking their beautiful garden with great views of the bird feeders to watch the goldfinches and nuthatches feed from. The location is made extra special by being only 50yds from the wonderful Anvil pub which has just won Yorkshire Life's Dining Pub of the Year. You definitely need to book to eat there currently. Sawdion is a quiet and peaceful North Yorks village and is well placed to explore the coast and the Moors.

Room Tip: If you are travelling alone as a couple I'd choose Malindi but if you are travelling with others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DocColPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Our first visit to Foxholm, and it will not be our last. We booked our stay due to the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not dissapointed. The welcome we got from Julie and Yvonne was excellent, and nothing was too much trouble, from the reservation through to our stay for two nights. Our room was superb with everything we needed for our stay. We stayed in Malindi, spacious, lovely decor and large ensuite. We wouldn't hesitate to book the same room again. The little touches, like the beds being turned down in the evening and chocolates placed on our pillows were lovely. Breakfast was amazing. We opted for the full English, and it was cooked to perfection, but other choices were available- so difficult to choose!! . The village of Sawdon is lovely and the food at The Anvil highly recommended - Desserts to die for!!. Service was also very good. The surrounding area is gorgeous and Julie and Yvonne were very helpful with information about an area that we wanted to walk to, even providing us with rucksacks when we realised we had forgotten ours. What more can I say except that Foxholm is amazing and I really would like to keep it a secret, but Julie and Yvonne deserve to be successful with their B and B as they are wonderful hosts. We look forward to returning and would like to thank them for a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sherri90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Foxholm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxholm B&B

Address: Foxholm Main Street | Scarborough, Sawdon, North York Moors National Park YO13 9DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Sawdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawdon
Price Range: £67 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxholm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 star B&B, set amidst stunning countryside. Foxholm has a comfortable, ground floor, ensuite, double bedroom furnished and equipped to a high standard that guarantee you a comfortable stay. The room has its own fridge, tea/coffee facilities and patio door leading onto the garden. The bed is an extra large king size which can be split into 2 singles, if required. A large selection of items is available on the breakfast menu. Set on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park we are in an ideal ideal to explore the North York Moors, with its many pretty villages and country houses or visit the seaside towns of Whitby, Scarborough or Filey. Whatever you want to do we promise a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Foxholm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing