We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”
Review of Foxholm B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Foxholm B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Sawdon B&B and Inns
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Another great stay with our two wonderful friends that's how we felt staying at this lovely b and b
We had lovely weather during our stay had some wonderful food including a fantastic breakfast to
set us up for the day and able to sit down at 9.30 which is good for me as I cant eat too early.
Can not say anything more than what everyone else has said and will be returning in the near future god willing.

Room Tip: Malinda has a bath which we prefer and a shower. other two rooms have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindal699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 13 July 2013
It's kind of you to take the time to write a review and to know that you agree with the other positive reviews. Knowing that you are also involved in the accommodation 'trade' and are commenting from a professional perspective is all the more pleasing. Most pleasing of all is that you feel you are revisiting friends; that's just how we look forward to your visit. Hope it won't be too long before we see you here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
46
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Hospitality of Julie and Yvonne is second to none. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a warm reception on arrival with the offer of tea and scones. There is an extensive breakfast menu, which will set you up for the day, the blueberry pancakes are delicious. Our room (Mara) was very clean and comfortable and had everything we needed for our stay. When we arrived back everyday, Yvonne was there to welcome us with the offer of tea and biscuits. This we had in the comfortable well equipped lounge which overlooked the well laid out mature gardens, with several bird feeders which enticed an array of different birds. We were lucky to see a great spotted woodpecker during our stay.The B&B is set in a small quiet village with an excellent pub "TheAnvil"opposite which serves delicious fresh cooked meals. The red cabbage was unbelievable. You do need to book well in advanced though. We were sorry to leave but we shall return. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Thank you for your positive comments, and thanks also to whoever gave you the voucher that led to you finding us in the first place! It was a pleasure to have you stay and I hope we'll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2013

A gem of a B&B.Expertly run by 2 charming ladies for whom nothing is too much trouble and who always give us a wonderful welcome.Rooms beautifully furnished,quality linen and a superb breakfast.Lovely garden -peace and tranquility.A great place to stay.

AA DON

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. It's very helpful to have comments from returning guests that tell us that we are still on the right track. As each cricket season begins we start looking forward to welcoming you and your friends. This year was very special - no rain!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lincolnshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Reception on arrival is warm and friendly. The bedrooms and en-suite shower rooms are clean and comfortable. The lounge area is well equipped with books, maps and games. Last but not least a wide variety of hot drinks are available for brewing, milk, blessedly is not in little plastic nuisances but in a thermos flask. Breakfasts can only be described as 'whatever you want, whenever you want". A great find and a wonderful place to stay. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malcolm S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for your positive comments. We thoroughly enjoy having you stay; its good to know how much you like being here! I do hope we'll see you again in the not-to-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We've stayed with Julie and Yvonne on a number of occasions now and every time the welcome is warm. The rooms are comfortable, spotless and tasteful; the breakfast offers a great choice of dishes that are freshly prepared and beautifully presented. Nothing is too much trouble for them and we would unreservedly recommend staying at Foxholm. And the food at The Anvil just opposite is excellent.

It doesn't get any better than this, in our opinion.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyboy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's particularly helpful to have feedback from guests who have stayed several times. It helps us know we are delivering consistent customer service. We hope to see you both again; when you are up for your son's wedding perhaps?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirilees
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have been visiting The North Yorkshire Moors area for well over 30 years Foxholm is the best B&B we have found.
Just read all the other revues they sum the place up and I cant add anything to what has already been said in praise without repeating most of those comments -I would however take issue with one comment which which reduced Foxholm rating for its situation - I can only assume this was done because of its peaceful situation so anyone needing a bit of hustle and bustle needs to look to one of the market towns in the area as Foxholm offers and indeed gives peace and quiet.
This B&B has had much thought and effort but into giving visitors quality and very good value for money.

Room Tip: Any room will be fine one has a bath and is a larger room, the other two have showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kirkleeschoosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your 30 years visiting the Moors makes you highly experienced visitors and your positive comments are all the more valid for that. We hope you'll stay again in the not too distant future. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Yvonne and Julie provide the warmest welcome you could possibly want. The B & B is off the beaten track ( but not too far off) in beautiful countryside. Their breakfasts are wonderful. The rooms are very comfortable and spotlessly clean. I would recommend anybody to try their hospitality. The big bonus is The Anvil, literally just across the road which serves the most delicious evening meals. Foxholm is truly somewhere one should visit time and again. On returning we were greeted like old friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronhel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie J, Owner at Foxholm B&B, responded to this review, 18 April 2013
Helena ,and Ron.Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It's positive tone is very encouraging. There are plenty of other beauty spots for you to see and other intriguing places to visit when you return. Give us some notice and we'll have the maps out and a reservation made for you at the Anvil! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sawdon
12.1 mi away
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
The Mallyan Spout Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goathland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
23.3 mi away
The Endeavour Restaurant with Rooms
10.7 mi away
Raven Hall Hotel
Raven Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ravenscar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Wrea Head Hall
Wrea Head Hall
#1 of 28 in Scarborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,822 reviews
17.2 mi away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#3 of 20 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
3.0 mi away
East Ayton Lodge
East Ayton Lodge
#1 of 1 in East Ayton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Foxholm B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Foxholm B&B

Property: Foxholm B&B
Address: Foxholm Main Street | Scarborough, Sawdon, North York Moors National Park YO13 9DY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Sawdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sawdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Foxholm B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique 4 star B&B, set amidst stunning countryside. Foxholm has a comfortable, ground floor, ensuite, double bedroom furnished and equipped to a high standard that guarantee you a comfortable stay. The room has its own fridge, tea/coffee facilities and patio door leading onto the garden. The bed is an extra large king size which can be split into 2 singles, if required. A large selection of items is available on the breakfast menu. Set on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park we are in an ideal ideal to explore the North York Moors, with its many pretty villages and country houses or visit the seaside towns of Whitby, Scarborough or Filey. Whatever you want to do we promise a warm welcome and comfortable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Foxholm B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing