We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermigua
Certificate of Excellence
Lichfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A real gem”
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

This family run boutique hotel is a delightful place to stay. Alex and his mother make a great team. He is fluent in several languages and knowledgeable about to area, local restaurants and walks. She invests her artistic flair and love in the internal decor and the well maintained garden.
The breakfasts reflect local specialities and are varied and healthy. We recommend it without reservation.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank su51ald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    41
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
100
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a walking tour of La Gomera and were very impressed. Alex was very helpful and friendly. The hotel is beautiful with lots of polished wood and homely touches. Breakfasts were delicious.
All the rooms have names - we stayed in "vinatico" which was a lovely suite with a shower over a (quite short) bath.
The hotel doesn't serve evening meals but was happy to suggest suitable places.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank fifporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terceira, Portugal
Level Contributor
113 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We did not stay here, just visited the place. From what we saw we can recommend it to people who love to stay in a quiet, rural accomodation in beautiful, mountaineous scenery. Hermigua is a lovely village, and Ibo Alfaro is located on a steep hill overlooking the valley and the ocean.
The building is well kept, gardens are just lovely and it has good vibes. Next time that I will visit La Gomera I would stay here for a couple of nights to unwind and relax.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here recently for 6 nights on a walking holiday. The hotel is in the small town of Hermigua, set in a stunningly beautiful valley surrounded by high cliffs and lush green peaks. The rooms are simple, but very comfortable and pristinely clean. Alex runs the hotel with a mixture of friendliness and precision that is really very charming. He is also extremly knowledgeable and helpful when it comes to helping plans one's stay.

The breakfast is perfect for those going walking, with a mixture of cereal, dried fruit and nuts, fresh fruit, bread and a daily spread of local cheese and meat.

Above all, the views from the terrace and balconies are possibly some the best on the island. The hotel is perfectly set for exploring the varied landscapes of the wild paradise that is La Gomera, with the national park within easy reach by car, and a number of great walks relatively close by.

I would point out that a car is essential here, as all restaurants and the majority of walks are not within comfortable walking distance.

Will definitely plan another visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Me and my husband stayed in this beautiful hotel for two nights - having a holiday (La Gomera) in a holiday (Tenerife). We were met by Alex which is one of the most welcoming, friendly and helpful persons I have ever met. He speaks English, Spanish and German fluently and runs the hotel with his mother (does not speak English very well). We stayed in the Cedronella room, small, but very clean and nice and with windows on two sides. The view from the balcony is great. The breakfast is super, both granola with a lot of fruits and nuts, and bread, jam, ham, cheese etc. So why do we not give the hotel five stars? The water pressure in the shower is not good at all, and there was not soap in the dispenser in the shower. Also there was no light in the main lamp in the room. BUT, that being said, I would love to stay here again and will recommend this hotel to all people looking for a place to stay in La Gomeral.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, the Cedronella room in in the end and has windows on two sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin_DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles Scotland
Level Contributor
281 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Stayed here for two nights during a walking holiday.On arrival after a long very hot walk we were meet by Alex who quickly told us what we needed to know .He and his mother run this hotel and a grand job they do,Nothing was ever a problem they were friendly attentive and a good source of local knowledge.Nice terrace area both outside and inside.Very large fridge stocked with a good choice of wine ,beer, and soft drinks you just marked down what you had [prices reasonable ]or you could buy your own drinks and leave them in the fridge if you wanted.Rooms were of a good standard with all that you require.Breakfast was the usual buffet and was fine and picnic lunches were great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

A great hotel with a warm welcome at all times from Alex who goes out of his way to be helpful. Positioned high above the village with views across the sea to El Teide in clear weather. Plenty of space to sit outside on the patio and there is also a sun terrace and garden within the seclusion of the hotel. Excellent breakfast and picnic lunches.

Room Tip: We had a room at the side with its own balcony which gives added flexibility
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Discerning74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hermigua
9.5 mi away
Hotel Jardin Tecina
Hotel Jardin Tecina
#1 of 2 in Playa de Santiago
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
7.6 mi away
Parador de la Gomera
Parador de la Gomera
#1 of 9 in San Sebastian de la Gomera
4.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rural Casa los Herrera
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Playa Calera
Playa Calera
#1 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
10.2 mi away
Charco Del Conde
Charco Del Conde
#4 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
10.1 mi away
Hotel Gran Rey
Hotel Gran Rey
#2 of 25 in Valle Gran Rey
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural

Property: Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Address: Calle Ibo Alfaro s/n, 38820 Hermigua, La Gomera, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > La Gomera > Hermigua
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hermigua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibo Alfaro Hermigua
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural La Gomera/Hermigua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing