We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Anden(Hermigua)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa El Fraile(Hermigua)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Anaterve(Vallehermoso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamahuche Rural Hotel(Vallehermoso)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
108
52
7
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
108
52
7
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswalking holidayhonesty barla gomerasteep hillbreadnice hotela real gemstayed here for one nightpleasant place to staylovely staffthese guyslovely terraceexcellent showeroverlooking the valleysmall loungestyle hotelgreat breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during our roundtrip of La Gomera.
We were pleasantly surprised by the warm welcome we got when we arrived.
We got a nice room with a wonderfull view!!
Breakfast in the morning was much more than you should expect!! Nothing ti think of that wasnt there...
The restaurant that was recommened was also a very nice one!
We even met some nice American people!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Belgium2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex S, Propietario at Ibo Alfaro Hotel Rural, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014
Google Translation

Nos alegramos mucho de que haya disfrutado su estancia en Hermigua,muchas gracias por su comentario y sea bienvenido si vuelve a la gomera.
¡Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a walking trip.
Alex, not only speaks excellent English, but seems to have a telepathic knowledge of where his guests are and what they need, but materialises with offers of help as if my magic!
The hotel was clean and the staff very welcoming.
The breakfast array was replenished and refreshed constantly and offered good choices for all manner of continental breakfast options.
We had one of the rooms in the separate higher level annexes that gave even more sensational views of the coast and cloud swathed summits. It was very comfortable.
We ate in town, transported by the charming and reliable Ramon, who chatted to us unphased by little mutual language. Alex had made enquiries and recommendations based on one of us being vegetarian and I would recommend eating at El Faro, if you enjoy fresh fish, fresh mojo sauces or pasta, but they do get busy so there may be a wait.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I were in La Gomera.

Room Tip: The annexes offer a bonus of a little conservatory or seating area with a great view but i imagine those in the main hotel may be more traditional.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lotty12B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights while on a walking holiday. We were given a very warm welcome by Alex who spoke excellent English. We stayed in a standard room which was perfectly adequate for our needs and had a beautiful view across the valley to the hills. The beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was very good with a good selection of cereals, cold meats and cheeses, boiled eggs,, fruit, bread and cakes. On our second day, after a long walk, Alex spotted us when he was driving through the village and, although he was leaving the hotel, insisted on turning round and giving us a lift back. A really nice touch which was much appreciated. The honesty bar was a thoughtful touch and the picnics were good with baguettes, fruit, dried figs (delicious) and little sweeties. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Over6044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Although on a walking holiday, I arrived here by taxi without my husband who was walking! I was immediately offered coffee and I thought I would sit in the lounge as I was rather early for checking-in. As luck would have it, our suite at the top of the garden was ready so two lovely ladies took our cases and lead me to the room. I had a fantastic view down the valley over Hermigua with the Atlantic in the distance. The suite was more like an apartment as we had a small conservatory for sitting in during the day, a bedroom, a shower room, a full size sitting room and a large kitchen, the last two all combined. It was all spotlessly clean. I was sitting in the conservatory when Alex (the owner) came to find me and introduced himself, made me welcome and gave me all sorts of information. Alex spoke excellent English and we discovered later that he was at least tri-lingual Spanish, English and German. There was an Honesty Bar in the lounge. Breakfast was very good. We stayed here for two nights and felt ourselves very welcome and we would thoroughly recommend The Ibo Alfaro to anyone.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the suite at the top! Lots of space and a brilliant view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel for two nights as part of a walking holiday on La Gomera in February 2014. Alex and staff could not do enough for us. Our second floor room had loverly views up and down the valley over looking Hermigua itself. Room really nice, plenty of space and the en suite bath with shower over complimented the room. Some of the previous comments regarding breakfast do not reflect what we found. There was adequate variety of food provided, more than sufficient to start the day. Access is up a steep hill, but the bonus is the views. Evening meals in the local restaurants were very good. You only have to speak to Alex who will let you know which ones are open. Alex can arrange a local taxi with Ramone for those who do not want the walk back up to the hotel after a night out. Overall we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to travellers.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room at the corner of the hotel. Views over to Mount Tiede stunning.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews