We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sugar Bay Club
Nearby Hotels
Timothy Beach Resort(Frigate Bay)(Great Value!)
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$298
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Terrace Inn(Basseterre)
US$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$484
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oualie Beach Resort(New Castle)(Great Value!)
US$293
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$1,983
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (195)
Filter reviews
195 results
Traveller rating
44
71
42
17
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
44
71
42
17
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic sidest kittsswimming lapscoffee shop next doorgrocery storeempty roomsa great coffee shopocean frontreception area isnight lifegolf coursewifi is freeroom was largenever felt unsafeluxury resortfrigate bay areataxi stand
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 195 reviews
Reviewed 13 February 2014

SBC would be an apt metaphor for the island in general, lacking glitz and world fame but simple and wonderful just the same. I feel bad for St. Kitts- no, the beaches aren't like Cancun or Punta Cana; Basseterre isn't Cabo. It's understandable why people choose other destinations in the Caribbean. Good for them. That leaves quiet places like St. Kitts for the rest of us.

SBC was underutilized when I stayed in January. I saw only a handful of other couples. As a result, amenities such as a spa or pool bar were all closed. The place was very clean and kept up well. It's older and in need of investment. For the price we paid, it was a great value. The beds were great. The pools were very nice.

SBC is right on the Caribbean and sits along a long beach. It is only a nice 10 minute walk to the Atlantic side. There are bars and restaurants on the Atlantic side. But the Indian restaurant attached to SBC is fantastic, just as everyone says. There is a taxi stand several yards away. The fare to the airport was cheap and fixed so I didn't feel like I got taken. There is a grocery store next to SBC that the locals shop at. In short, SBC is in a great location. We rented a motor scooter from Sunny Blue and drove around the island. Very professional. (don't let the office of a storage container fool you). Contact Winston at 869-664-8755. I highly recommend it.

I've travelled a lot, and I have to say the people of St. Kitts, to a person, are the friendliest wherever I've been. I've never felt safer. If you save up for a once in a lifetime or decade trip, this probably isn't a resort for you. But if you like to take several trips a year, maybe for 5-6 days at a time, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank revreggae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We had a week at the Sugar Bay, at that time, there was an all inclusive option which we selected.

We had a pool room which was huge on the ground floor, it was a massive room but needed a little updating. Having said that, the room was spotless, the bedding pristine and the room service excellent.

Food and drink quality was more than acceptable with masses of choice for all meals, the servers had smiles a mile wide at all times and if you wanted something special, it was available.

Of the two pools, we chose to spend our days by the smaller on nearer the front of the hotel, it was immaculate and beautiful with lots of greenery and a bridge. The sunbeds were comfy and plentiful.

The hotel grounds have direct access to the Atlantic ocean and the beach which is always empty, just two minutes away on foot and a very s l o w stroll, is the Caribbean beach with lots of bars claiming they sell the 'coldest beer on the beach' and playing the loudest music - fantastic! Not the best Caribbean beach we've been on (that'd be in Antigua and Barbados) but probably the friendliest:) There's a golf club where you can pay daily fees a couple of minutes away and a casino the same sort of distance.

All in all we had a great week here and would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We traveled early Jan. 2014. The location is great. Staff very friendly. Rooms very clean. We had a full kitchen, sitting area, large bathroom and two queen beds. Sliding doors to large patio. Grounds are lovely and well kept, as are the pools and there is a large water fall into the main pool. Lovely. Some of the ocean front cottages looked looked they have not been used in awhile but i think because it is to windy. Rest of resort is Fantastic. We were given 40 ec (about 15 us) per day for break fest at Rituals, located on site as is a sushi place and a pizza place and Indian food. We cooked most our dinners but had lobster at shiddy shack on the beach just down the road. Fantastic. Located on the Atlantic side it can be windy but, just a short walk and your on the Caribbean side. One of many nice beaches on the island. Rent a car and explore. About 40 us a day. Island is easy to get around. Watch for the monkeys. Soo Cute. Good groceries at the IGA or Rams but is expensive. Booze is cheap. Buy it at Booze as Smoke duty free on site. Take car to Nevis via boat ferry. About 90 us return. We spent night a Oualie Beach Resort. Great place. Loved it. Cottages right on the beach. yaaaa. Nevis is small but views are fantastic. Big empty beach to walk. Would return to Sugar Bay club, they let us bbq on our patio and if we needed anything we got it, such as a toaster and radio. Cleaning lady Jasmine was wonderful we left tip for her. Rosie was at front desk and took care to make sure you were happy. Left her tip to. This resort was very quiet as Medical students live there. We liked the quiet. This island is beautiful and we will certainly return in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms around pool are best as they are away from the Atlantic. But there are some cottages that looked nice for a family or a longer stay.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile


We stayed at the Sugar Bay club for 1 week and it was very enjoyable. The rooms are clean, the staff are very friendly and it’s all you really need if your are staying for less than 10 days as the surrounding are has plenty to do.

 

I would recommended this type of hotel if you are looking for a quite place to stay with a friend or spouse and your are happy to venture off the resort for some action. The resort itself is small, with access to the beach however this ‘access’ is literally on the sea front with no real beach. In addition you will be on the Atlantic side of the island so expect the sea to be pretty rough and therefor not safe for children, non swimmers, and swimmers who are not strong. The swimming pool wasn’t really used during our stay by anyone but us really.

 

Please also note that the hotel also doubles up as student accommodation for the plethora of young people that attend the local school. Expect to them at around 8am and 6-7pm Monday to Friday. They are all very pleasant and shouldn’t stop you from enjoying your time.

 

There is plenty to do for example:

 

Pizza Shop (next door)

Super Market (next door – stock up on bottled water and snacks)

Coffee Shop (Next Door)

Chinese and Indian Restaurant (next door)

Golf Course (opposite the hotel)

Fantastic restaurant called Rock Lobster (500 yards to the left)

And an Italian (550 yards to the left)

 

You also have the Marriot (5 min walk to the right) which has a great casino and very pleasant staff.

 

If you are looking for a beach locally then head down to the ‘Strip’ in Frigate Bay (10 mins walk to the left) where you can hire a deck chair all day for US$5 and you will be welcomed with local food, music, and the calm Caribbean Sea. It’s a little rocky however if you are able to get a chair to the left of the beach (looking at the sea) there are no rocks with crystal clear water. Head over to ‘Cathy’s’ for fantastic steamed fish and delicious lobster and settle your stomach with a aloe vera massage on the beach courtesy of Haley (she has a gold tooth so you can’t miss her). In the evening, the place transforms into a social hub for many of the tourist where you’ll hear local and international music at ‘Shiggidy Shack’.

 

It may also be worth noting that everything is priced in both US and EC dollars so bring both. US$ seems to be the king though so bring more!!

 

While on the island take a ferry to Nevis for EC$26 (the hotel will arrange a taxi for you – ask for Vincent or ‘Do you love me Baby?’ (All the taxi’s have a name)). Once on Nevis, hopefully you’ll have the pleasure of have Matusi (very tall rasta – everyone knows him) as your taxi driver (Max 10 people). He is an interesting character and very knowledgeable about Nevis and its history. Happy to post his contact details if anyone would like them.

 

All in all, we had a fantastic time and I’ll be taking my wife and daughter to St. Kitts and Nevis soon.

 

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank Reco G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We opted to try Sugar Bay for our 2 night stay on St. Kitts before heading to a private home on Nevis. Traveling with 3 couples, we each had our own 2-room cottage pool side. The resort was not busy as we arrived on December 27th. What a find. It was quiet, relaxing, and within walking distance to the beach bars, grocery store on property that was clean and well stocked as well as reasonably priced. In front of the property was Bombay Blues restaurant, a sovenior shop and a duty free liquor store (awesome prices) as well as a great coffee shop that serves breakfast and lunch.

Each room had a refrigerator, microwave, separate seating area from king size bedroom and full bath. Additionally, each room had its own patio table and chairs. There are 2 pools on the property so that you can move depending on the time of day for the sun. This property is located on the water and you can hear the thundering surf! Downside, you can not access the beach as there are no longer stairs. I believe they have been erroded as there is a very strong undertow and surf on this property.

The property is a bit dated. However, the bedding was comfortable, the room extremely clean. What more can you ask for in Paradise for $90 a night on hotels.com ?

We walked over to the Marriott to visit friends that were paying $400 + a night. Of course the hotel is pretty but you feel as if you are in Vegas and it was crowded and loud. We couldn't wait to get back to our serene accommodations.

Also, if you want to hire a private driver for your own tailored island tour, we suggest you contact Leroy Jones. He owns a well appointed air-conditioned vehicle that comfortably held 6 adults and took his time to be sure we experienced all the beauty of the island and its hospitality. We paid $20 pp U.S. and were touring for 5 hours!

Thank you to the staff that made sure we had everything we asked for! We will definitely recommend Sugar Bay Resort to friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottages by the pool closest to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlondiesBarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews