We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location but a little disappointing”
Review of Sugar Bay Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Bay Club
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location but a little disappointing”
Reviewed 5 June 2009

We stayed at Sugar Bay Club for one week. The positives are that the hotel is in a great location relative to the beach bars on the caribbean side. It was about a 10 minute walk to them. In addition, it is also close to several other eating establishments and the Mariott hotel. The Mariott has a small store, several bars and a casino. It was about a 10 minute walk. The beach at sugar bay club is on the atlantic side. There were a couple of chairs, but some were broken. There was never more than 5 people walking on the beach.

The rooms were a little run-down inside and could use some updating. However, it was cleaned everyday. The AC worked well as did the fridge. TV conisted of CNN, nbc, cbs, discovery, hbo and couple of religious channels. (and tourist tv). The pools were open from 930am to 6pm. They were well maintained. The only restaruant was a steak place. We did not see any bar or other restaruants open so we had to eat and get drinks elsewhere.

The complex was very quiet. The taxi driver informed us that many students from the local university live there and that he did not even know it was still a hotel. He said that it had shut down from some time and must have recently reopened.

St. Kitts is an interesting island. We rented a car from thrifty for the week and drove around the island. Brimstone Hill Fort was very interesting and well kept. My wife enjoyed going to Romney Manor, and walking around Ottley's Plantation. We also drove to the southern end of the island and saw many wild monkeys and some awesome secluded beaches. There are plans for major develpment of the southern end so the nature aspect will be ruined in the future.

Finally, we hiked to the top of Mt. Liamiuga, the large volcano on the northern part of the island. We went with Royston Stevens. We took a jeep up to about 1000 feet and then hiked up some very difficult terrain to about 3000 feet. We were able to get some great views from the rim of the volcano. I would highly recommend him as a guide.

The only real negative about the island in general was food prices, which seemed to be about 2x what we are used to in the US for the same quality. The Dominican Republic was cheaper.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJE1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    64
    42
    14
    21
See reviews for
20
56
12
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2009

We had a wonderful holiday at The Sugar Bay Club in St Kitts in March 2009. The resort is very quiet during the day and at times we had the pool just to ourselves. The resort is on a beautiful quiet beach (Atlantic side so the sea is choppy!) and all other beautiful Caribbean sea beaches are only a short distance away. Our accommodation was very spacious and had everything required for a self-catering break, including a full sized cooker and fridge/freezer. Probably the best service we have ever received at a resort as all the staff were very helpful and friendly. We will definately return to Sugar Bay Club.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2009

My friend and I stayed in March and had a wonderful time. The service was always super polite, courteous, and extremely accommodating. The room was spotless and the pools were in good condition. It was an absolute pleasure staying here. I highly recommend staying here. It is located on the Atlantic, but is only a few minutes walk from the Caribbean. It is the best place to stay for your moneys worth and located near many restaurants and a grocery store. You might even see a monkey like we did!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ATraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2008

My husband and I went on our honeymoon in April 2007 at the Sugar Bay Club and were very pleased with our trip. We had read some not so favorable reviews so were stepping in caustiously, but were very confident we would have a great honeymoon. We did.

We're very laid back and the whole atmosphere was fantastic. We were greeted with huge smiles and lots of congratulations, apparently they had passed it around we were there to celebrate. The moment we checked in lunch was ending, so they escorted us to dine while they took our luggage to our room.

The key to the perfect visit? An ocean front room. Second level. AMAZING! And the fruit basket and sparkling wine was such a great touch, it's complimentary when you are on your honeymoon. Our room was huge and SO clean! We had a gigantic King bed and a sitting room, and our balcony had a sitting area. The balcony is super private and the view is just amazing.

The staff was very helpful and so friendly. They were always there to assist, telling us great places to eat, to go to Turtle Bay instead of Friggate, and always available. They're quite honest too. Twice we blundered and left cash on the dresser and then we left our safe open, which I put my diamond engagement ring in when we went swimming, and it was all still there completely untouched. Not that we expected theft, but I have to been to very upscales places where things have gone missing.

My only cons were that you couldn't eat whenever, we were all inclusive, and the food was amazing, but a touch greasey (which my husband loved), the bar closed early, and there was little night life. Not that we were looking for that too much anyway. Also, you can't swim in the beach off the resort due to a bad undertoe, which is true for that side of the island (the Marriot included).
It is VERY low key. It's old and the decor can be dated and worn, but it's such a deal! And bring slippers, the floors are tile.Yea they don't always load the drinks with alcohol, but they're so tasty. Our bartender was making things up all week. AND they make the MOST amazing banana daquri with fresh bananas.

Yea, the Marriot up the street is really REALLY fancy. We went there a few times to shop and enjoy their bar, it's a beautiful resort. But you can stay at that same hotel in Florida. Honestly. It felt a bit cold to me. And it's so big that you get lost. Maybe that is your thing. Sugar Bay is so small that you will know the whole staff by the end of your stay, and they will know you.

Sugar Bay is perfect if you just want to sit and relax all week. It's very low key. They have TWO pools and it is ssssoooo quite. And there are wild monkeys that skip around, so adorable (and they don't get close enough for worry). Just don't expect a super fancy hotel. But who REALLY needs that anyway?

And go to Rock Lobster up the street, just to say you ate at rock lobster! And watch out for Vera, who wants to give you massages and braid your hair and the aloe guy. He is everywhere!

  • Liked — Our Ocean Front Room
  • Disliked — Set meal times, small food selection.
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy_Victoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cicero
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2008

My husband and I had a lovely time at Sugar Bay. The property is well-kept, although there is some construction going on. The resort is no longer an all-inclusive, so we dined out based on the staff's recommendation, and with the exception of one spot, the dining was excellent. The rooms are clean and affordable and the staff was very friendly, especially when it came to site-seeing tips. The front desk was especially helpful. If your looking for a night life, however, Sugar Bay is not for you. It really is more of a relaxing environment. We found it very peaceful. I look forward to coming back to St. Kitts and seeing Sugar Bay Club when the construction is complete.

  • Liked — The quiet atmosphere
  • Disliked — The construction
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wp34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sugar Bay Club last year in June, and although this is not the most...luxurious of accommondation we had a brilliant time and would recommend staying here. We're 22 and 24 and from London, and were looking for a quiet Caribbean break on a budget.

Having read some terrible reviews about the hotel on trip advisor we were expecting the worst and to be honest weren't really looking forward to seeing the hotel. However, we were very pleasantly surprised - the gardens and pool area were very clean, well kept and pretty. The rooms (although dated and fairly basic) were huge and immaculately clean. We had to change rooms on the first night as the bath was blocked, but we weren't really bothered about this - the staff were helpful and it really wasnt the end of the world.

The key to enjoying yourself at this hotel is to remember how much you are paying. It's cheap and cheerful, and for the price it really is brilliant. Don't expect to be in a luxurious Caribbean resort - if this is what you want then pay extra and stay at the Marriot up the road (which is lovely...but has that generic all-inclusive feel; you might as well go to Spain).

Don't stay all inclusive at the Sugar Bay Club! You really will be wasting your money as the food isn't great. We stayed self catering and ate breakfast at the hotel. The local restaurants are amazing - Mr X's is a must for delicious frozen cocktails and jerk fish served on picnic tables at the beach. Eat at the Monkey Bar for a (slightly) more formal beachside meal - the food is heavenly, again try the fish - the daily specials are outstanding! the staff are so friendly and you really will enjoy your evening.

PJ's Italian restaurant near the Marriot also serves delicious food if you just fancy a pizza - highly recommended. Ziggy's beachbar has some really good live music at the weekend, and try Ting with a Sting to drink. Also the Sushi bar at the Marriot is v nice.

As for beaches - Frigate bay isnt great, but try Turtle bay and take a trip to Nevis. Ask for Patrick the boat driver and you will have a really good laugh - he'll show you the places to go! Try a lobster sandwich and a turtle punch at the Turtle Bay beach bar - very nice. There is a lovely beach called South Friars Bay, secluded and beautiful - the Ship Wreck bar there is perfect and you won't want to leave.

Ask for Everton the taxi driver, he'll take you on an island tour and is such a lovely guy and great company. Seeing Brimstone Fort is pretty impressive, you can take some great photos.

If you want built up, busy beaches and all-inclusive entertainment/pampering/eating then St Kitts may not be the choice for you, and certainly the Sugar Bay Club won't be your cup of tea. But if you are on a limited budget and just want something pleasant, clean and no-fuss then you'll have a great time on a beautiful island (I can recommend going in June if you want to escape people - the place is very quiet and you can pretty much do as you please).

Anyway, I hope this helps. We're going back this year and can't wait :)

  • Liked — The rooms were immaculate, two large pools and very pretty gardens & surroundings. Only a short walk to restaurants etc
  • Disliked — There was a tampon by the pool once which was horrendous!
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank LS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mars
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2007

This was a family holiday with 7 of us 2 small children and 5 adults the resort was extremely quiet which was lovely we were the only family there for the first week, The food was amazing i still find myself pining for the pumpkin soup and fritters, The staff were lovely and treated my children excellently at the end of our 2 weeks stay it was very hard to say goodbye to them all.
I would say that this is not a 5* hotel far from it but what it lacks in corporate sytle it makes up for with bundles of personality would definatley take a holiday back hee.

You are backed onto the Atlantic sea which beach wise was empty all the time it was lovely no fighting for spaces and you are only a 10 min walk away from the carribean side. Not a holiday for people who like lively nightlife etc as the hotel didnt really provide it but it is perfect for a relaxing time to wind down. I loved every second what a stunning place St Kitts is :)

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank Frostyphoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.0 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
146 reviews
9.6 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
634 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
75 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
Bird Rock Beach Hotel
#5 of 5 in Basseterre
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Bay Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Bay Club

Property: Sugar Bay Club
Address: Zenway Blvd | Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Bay Club 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sugar Bay Club Hotel is located in the lively Frigate Bay area of St. Kitts and our property is set amidst five acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the Atlantic Ocean. We offer four restaurants on property, a duty free liquor store, a souvenir shop, an Express Mart and two fresh water swimming pools. Our St. Kitts Hotel is perfect for a relaxing tropical vacation. The Sugar Bay Club Hotel has eighty-nine rooms and suites. We offer amenities such as complimentary wireless internet access, air conditioning, cable TV, telephone, hairdryers, refrigerators, microwaves, tea/coffee making facilities, kitchenettes and private patio or balcony. Choose your view of the Atlantic Ocean, our vibrant garden or one of our two swimming pools. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Bay Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Bay Club Hotel Frigate Bay
Sugar Bay Club St. Kitts, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing