We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great beach experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Timothy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a great beach experience”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

ROOSTER WAKE UP

Another couple flew to St Kitts with us where we stayed at the Timothy Beach Resort for 10 days in October, 2013. We selected the resort primarily because of it being on the Caribbean side of the island and the reviews presented on Trip Advisor.

The reviews were correct as it relates to the staff and cleanliness of the resort. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. There were fresh beach towels whenever you wanted them and they would call a cab if you wanted to go to town or tour the island.

The reviews didn’t adequately discuss the lack of facilities at the beach. The Caribbean, however, was warm, clear, and clean. The pool was well maintained without being overcrowded. The beach at the resort is non-existent, has a very small area for lounge chairs, and has dark sand like on the coast in Washington State. The lounges and umbrellas must be 15 years old, were faded, and didn’t even swivel to protect you from the sun.

The units were old and needed to be brought into the 21st century. Mattresses were hard but did the job.

The resident rooster would wake you up sometime after 3:00 AM. He and his 2 hens could be seen at all times throughout the day. They usually showed up at the beach bar during happy hour.

The monkeys would come out and frolic at least once a day. Sometimes they would sip water from the pool. They were interesting to watch. At times there were more than 20 playing on the grassy knoll behind the units.

Happy hour at the beach bar was well attended with locals and guests. Maybe it was because buckets of beer (6 bottles of Carib Beer) were only $6 US.

The wait staff in the restaurant were great. The menu was somewhat limited. The burgers are very good.

All in all, it was pleasant trip with great swimming. We definitely will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Close to the pool is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    288
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
100
298
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If we paid motel price, then this place would get more stars. If we paid 150 a night, I expected at least the basics. We stayed for three nights and were glad it's not more.

The front desk couldn't find our reservation when we checked in on Christmas eve. They could only find our cancellation for a longer stay. Then they finally found our reservation through Orbitz. Since they didn't have a room ready for us, it took a little time to freshen up the room.

But when we got to our room, I found hair and some stain on the toilet seat. I cleaned it myself with an alcohol wipe. The room doesn't have a kitchen but the size was fine. It had a king size mattress, on top of two twin size box springs. One side of the mattress was hanging out because it's bigger than the box springs combined underneath. The box springs jet out and sometimes would slide out of place. There were a lot of ants in the bathroom but I seemed to find this in other beach locations. Even though our room was far from the restaurants and faces the hill, we could still hear bass drums late at night which kept me awake for two nights.

We didn't care about the small TV as we weren't there to watch it, but they don't provide any shampoo. I usually pack some left over shampoo from other hotels (travel size) and never got to use them because it's provided. This was the only time I ran short because we stayed in a private villa on Nevis the nights before. A resort that doesn't provide shampoo?

The "resort" itself is located at one end of the bay, and the beach was not very wide. The water was not very clean the days we were there probably because the wind brought in some slimy things.
I gave this place two stars because the front desk staff were very nice when we checked in. However since it was Christmas, the reception room was locked up most of the time, and after one day, the phone in our room didn't have any ringtone any more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 18 days in St Kitts at Timothy Beach in December 2013 over the Christmas period.
The townhouse accommodation was set out as follows:

Ground Floor - there are two entrances - one door to the main ground floor and the other which allows access to the two upstairs rooms (each have their own key should you want to share or have added privacy). The main Room downstairs leads through to a dining area and lounge with a Kingsize bed tucked around the corner of the room. The kitchen is at the front end of the property with a large oven and fridge/freezer. There is a small shower room with toilet downstairs. And there is a veranda to the rear (with table & 4 chairs and 2 loungers).

1st Floor - there are 2 bedrooms upstairs - the "Mountain" view room, which had 2 single beds & a bath/shower/toilet room with a small balcony (with enough room for one chair) - the "Ocean" view room is the Master bedroom with a Kingsize bed, shower/toilet room. Laptop plug unit. and full balcony (with table and 2 chairs and 2 loungers).

Each room has a built in wardrobe and is equipped with ironing board and iron. Air conditioning units are fitted in each room as well as ceiling fans. The upstairs rooms have coffee percolators, small fridges, phones and remote control TV's.

Overall we were pleasantly surprised by the space and decor of our accommodation - it is not modern though but has a traditional feel to it.

A couple of things to mention though (not that it bothered us but it may help)
- music is played some eves - usually thur-sat until early hours of the morning (1am max)
- we needed to purchase a can opener and a sharp enough knife to cut veg
-the voltage was not high enough to support my hair styler - so I went au naturelle!

The Shiggidy Shack along the beach serves decent food but if you are after a real treat - get to the SPICE MILL on Cockleshell Beach (on the Peninsula nearby) - the food here is delicious and the restaurant is beautiful, sitting on the beachfront - a must try. We also ate out at O.I.T's (Ocean Terrace Inn) - The Waterfall - they have a delicious buffet bar on Fridays.

I have to say the staff are generally friendly but not outstanding or forthcoming - so do ask them!

The swimming pool was great - we spent a lot of time here - it does get deep up to 6'7" in the middle though so please make sure your kids are suitably protected and supervised. You can also get complimentary beach towels from the front desk - which is a godsend!

A short walk in the direction of the Marriott will take you to some other decent eateries and a small supermarket (RAMS) - 5/10mins.

We really enjoyed our stay and rented a car through AVIS - who kindly collected us from the hotel to the rental location - although next time we visit we will hire a 4x4 as some roads are not intended for a standard car!

Currency is in Eastern Caribbean Dollars and US Dollars - advisable to have a split of both!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one of the townhouses - no.44 - next to us was no 45 and next to that the pool! Exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mummamia_2_Sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Friendly staff with property on nice beach. Love the calm Carribean just outside the door, and only a 10 min walk to the Atlantic side if you want body-surfing waves. Rooms are not fancy, but have everything you need and a kitchenette. The hotel restaurant is overpriced, but there are several places to eat just a short walk down the beach so you can keep the vacation in budget.

Room Tip: Not sure it matters much, since you probably won't be in your room very often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a fortnight in St Kitts and we booked through BA and decided to be based at Timothy Beach. From there we hired a car, toured the island and then hopped over to Nevis.

The hotel is basic - it is not luxury but you are not paying luxury prices. Do expect friendly staff, and a nice hotel room. The food at the hotel restaurant is un original and breakfast is rather samey it ddint change in the fortnight. I think we would have been pretty sick of the food if we stayed in the resort full time.

I would suggest paying the extra for a sea front room as the view is great. There is free wifi and parking.

Overall I would stay there again as a base but there are plenty of places to eat out.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I stayed at Timothy Beach in early November 2013. The grounds were beautiful as the taxi drove up to the resort, I was so excited thinking I'd picked a nice resort. Sadly I was mistaken. The dining staff & barterders were friendly and accommadating but one front desk clerk was rude and not helpful at all when my friend and I were trying to ask questions about our excusion.
We requested an ocean view room but the view was blocked by large palm trees. The beds in the room were hard as a rock and the curtain for the balcony was falling down and dirty. I have never been to a resort with a TV as small as the one in our room.
The cleaning staff did not come around until very late in the afternoon and this resort is not one for the elderly or handicapped due to the hilly terrain.

The beach is on a slant with not much walking area and was extremly rocky.
The price was resonable but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank charlie023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel during our week long stay in st kitts in December of this year. It is located on the Caribbean side of the island at frigate bay and is within walking distance of lots of resturants including- Mr X's shiggity shack and Chinchillas. If you walk out the hotel to the right you can walk along to the Marriott, rock lobster, Bombay Blues and PJ's. It is also in walking distance of a Rams- which is a local store where you can stock up on soft drinks and other essentials.

The rooms are spacious and clean with a fridge, coffee maker and free wifi. Our room had a mountain view and a small balcony which was great to sit in especially during the late afternoon and early evening. The shower lacked power but was reasonable. The fridge was very helpful for storing water and other bits and pieces. The cleaning service in the hotel was excellent and much needed after multiple muddy hikes and trips to the beach.

It is a great place to stay, with an excellent location and for us had much more personality than the bigger chain hotels on the island. The pool area is maybe a bit small, but the beach is good and the beach towels and the sun loungers were helpful. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JMart2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.7 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
69 reviews
8.9 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Property: Timothy Beach Resort
Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Kitts golden Caribbean beach, Timothy Beach Resort offers: •The only hotel in the upscale golf community of Frigate Bay located directly on the Caribbean beach •Friendly, gracious staff who are delighted to help make your vacation your best ever by arranging tours, activities & reservations •Lovely modern air conditioned rooms all of which feature premium channel cable TV and Free WIFI •Deluxe One Bedroom Suites with recently remodeled walk-in Kittitian Rainforest Showers and spacious furnished balconies adding an additional outdoor living space to your home away from home. •Two Bedroom Suite and Townhouse Options •A recently redesigned and rebuilt pool providing private relaxation and a commanding view of the Caribbean beach •The oceanfront Sunset Cafe restaurant and bar open daily for all meals and snacks •The popular Dock bar directly on the sands of Frigate Bay beach with Happy Hour Monday through Friday and Sunday live entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing