We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wecome to Monkey Inn! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Timothy Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wecome to Monkey Inn! :)”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We had a great time at this resort. We usually stay at an all-inclusive large resort when we are away, but decided to do the more local accommodation this time because we heard good things about this place.
We had requested an ocean view studio room and not first floor, but when we got there we had neither, but the management was very quick to resolve the issue, so we were happy about that. Don’t expect the ocean view rooms to be ocean front! Our room was called ocean view but our view was a little bit of the ocean, at a distance, an eyesore of an amusement park and the resort laundry line! See our pictures for a better look. The room itself was spacious and very clean, but a little dated. Soap was provided but no shampoo or other usual hotel bathroom amenities, so make sure to bring your shampoo, lotions, conditioners, etc. They did have a hair dryer and towels.
Small safety boxes were provided at the front desk, but there was none in the room, which made for trips to the front desk every time you wanted your money or small valuables. Cameras and laptops had no safe place, so we just kept them out of sight and hoped for the best while we were out of the room.
The room had a very small TV, but it offered a great selection of channels, including CITY TV from Toronto, HGTV, Slice, TLC, as well as most local, American and British channels.
We got our breakfast included in our hotel package because we weren’t sure how convenient it would be to make or have breakfast. Next time we would probably request a suite with a kitchen, and make our own each day. The Ram’s supermarket is just a short walk away, so it would be easy to buy breakfast food to prepare, or even bring down our coffee. The hotel restaurant’s breakfast was fine but had very limited choice of food – your choice was one of pancakes, eggs, omelette, French toast, or fruit platter. All it would take to add some variety to breakfasts would be adding different types of packaged jams marmalades, peanut butter or cream cheese packages for the toast.
As far as other places to have lunch or dinner, we ate at the beach restaurants right across the driveway – Mr. X Shiggity Shack, Cathy’s Ocean Grill, or Chinchilla’s. The food at all three places were tasty and reasonably priced. The service at Chinchilla’s was very fast and friendly, but the other two places were slow even when we were the only ones eating there!
The beach wasn’t as long or pretty as the Marriott one, but offered better snorkelling and wonderful water for swimming. The water is warm and calm, and relatively shallow for a distance out, so it is possible to swim from one end of the beach to the other – like having a huge Olympic pool to do lengths! I found it easy to navigate around the rocky areas. We went snorkelling once just around the pier, but preferred to use the water for swimming because it was so pleasant.
The pool area is quiet and very pleasant. The pool itself is very small, but refreshing to take a dip and cool off.
On Thursday evenings there is a bonfire on the beach and they have entertainers like fire eaters, so it is worth attending.
A real plus and highlight of this trip for me was the wildlife at this place. I really enjoyed seeing the resident chickens, mongoose, and cats, but was thrilled to see all the monkeys that would visit this resort every day! Some days they came in large groups and frolicked with each other near the pool area – a monkey playground! I loved watching them, and took many pictures. I even saw one come to the pool to get a drink. This was better than going on an African safari - they should rename this resort Monkey Inn!
All in all, we enjoyed our stay here very much, and would definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Asiamimigrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    288
    86
    25
    9
See reviews for
100
298
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We found that the whole vibe of the resort, combined with so many lovely friendly staff, made for a truly memorable experience. There were so many quirky things that made us smile such as the rooster and hens wandering around; a donkey tethered overnight at the rear of the resort with its owner running around with a Christmas hat, a huge smile and a monkey on the donkey's back.... my husband told me to put more coke in the rum until he saw my photo! There were monkeys in abundance every day especially towards the rear of the pool area where we saw some really cute baby ones. However on a serious note we understand that in fact the island is overpopulated by these monkeys who are becoming a problem to anybody attempting to cultivate anything.

The ocean view rooms were definitely on the large side with huge balconies but I wouldn't recommend a mountain view room if you enjoy sitting outside since some of them appeared only large enough for one chair - they are tiny. It really seemed such an odd design for the architect to have built such splendid size verandas and balconies at one side and such miniscule things at the rear. Just a couple of feet more would really have made a huge difference I felt and surely would have given these rooms much more appeal. However I'm sure the inside size was comparable.

The food in the Sunset Café we felt was not only good quality but good value on the couple of occasions that we ate there and you can also buy drinks there throughout the day. The Dock Bar only opens at 3pm in the week which on a couple of days was a shame as we felt like sharing a small bar nibble but didn't want to wait until 3pm so went across to the Shiggidy Shack. The fish fingers in the Dock Bar were a really great bar snack and large portions.

The system with the safe deposit box at reception works really well and is no hassle at all. Beach towels are also available from here and the receptionists were always friendly and welcoming. The hairdryer in the room was pretty powerful too which was a bonus. The grounds are immaculate and a credit to the gardeners and the Manager is often seen on his rounds out and about.

On our first morning we went out early to buy some juice and snacks from Rams, the local supermarket which is located back out to the roundabout (which incidentally is a tribute to the gardeners who are regularly attending it) and across the road down a couple of hundred metres on the right hand side. However don't rush down there early as it doesn't open until 9am but we found all the staff there really pleasant and friendly but just past it is a really great coffee shop Rituals with excellent coffee and yummy pastries, smoothies etc and also really great staff. This opens a lot earlier, certainly 8am but I believe maybe even earlier and does have free Wi-Fi.

We quickly found this to be a very strong reoccurring first impression - how very, very friendly people were to us and we found it quite uplifting. Within a few hours on our first day we had spoken to quite a lot of local people and felt right at home having got our bearings.

Maybe every good hotel has some negative but regrettably we found the housekeeping at the resort under par. I wonder if this was because the housekeeping staff are over utilised as it appeared that they did some of the laundry on site but on two occasions somewhere around 4.30/5.00pm when we were already back in the room we were asked if we needed our room cleaned. This was not a problem to us at all but made us wonder if there was a staff shortage. However a couple of days housekeeping had been very early in the day so I'm not sure how it worked. However there was also a funny smell I couldn't track down but eventually after a couple of days I eventually found it to be a black decaying banana in a black bag in a cupboard - the receipt in the bag indicated it had been there for 11 months. When I put back a curtain hook on a pelmet - the dust up there was staggering and also there were a lot of insects on the ceiling of the balcony which my husband completely eradicated by using Skin So Soft by Avon - I know Prince Andrew had used it in Scotland for midges but this stuff killed a couple of hundred easily and to the housekeepers credit she did sweep them all up the next day. This didn't detract from our overall stay but we felt it was an area that could be improved upon.

The pool area was lovely and very relaxing and is only for residents but one afternoon when we spent a few hours there a rather loud family from a cruise ship who had ignored the large residents only sign did spoil the peace and quiet. The beach area is small and a couple of times I noticed diesel on the water and there are a fair few stones about. This is not the best beach on the Island and whilst I found it a bit better further down the beach to swim there is still quite a bit of shale but rubber swim shoes would make the experience better but hey there are fish, you can snorkel and it is warm!

Across the hill at the Shipwreck Beach there are signs warning of sea urchins but the beach club at Carambola a little nearer appeared trouble free. Cockleshell Beach was lovely and well worth going to spend the day and the Spice Mill has a great lunch menu, drinks and service. The views on the trip over are superlative. We found a lovely lady taxi driver called Greta who was parked outside the hotel - her car may not look the newest on the block but she was a good safe driver and we found here friendly and informative.

We would certainly urge everybody to visit Brimstone Hill Fort; the history and views were truly amazing and to read the research inside the fort and see some of the old photos of when 3000 people were up there when a storm hit was also interesting This is quite rightly a world heritage siite and obviously needs now and for the future a certain amount of restoration - $US10 entrance fee was a small price for the privilege.

The Porte Zante shopping mall at the cruise terminal in Basseterre is very modern and full of the normal type shops for jewellery, clothing and novelties but the National Museum is here too and well worth a look around. There are some very interesting things to learn about the island and its history here. Also in Basseterre is Piccadilly Circus, Emancipation Park and a roundabout with a figure of Princess Victoria which we found interesting since we originate from the Isle of Wight where she used to have her summer home.

We had one small blip with the shower but there was a knack to getting the hot water hot. Luckily I hit if off right initially but then the next day couldn't get it and thought the hot water was off but after thinking about this tried again the next morning and worked out that you needed to turn the dial back up to quarter to six and the water was back scorching.

The location is right there for the strip of shacks that in the daylight don't look too great but really come to life at night. This is not the place for people to dress up but to experience fresh local food in casual surroundings with a great vibe and informality it would be hard to beat. The fresh grouper fish at Patsy's shack was something I would fly back to eat tomorrow! We also ate this fish at the Spice Mill at Cockleshell Bay and is something I hadn't tried before - if you like fish don't miss it! Don't miss the Bonfire Night at Shiggiddy Shack on a Thursday night either - the bands who played for the 2 weeks we were there were outstanding and certainly had us up dancing the night away - a truly great night with locals, ex-pats and tourists young and not so young! We found this simple side of the Caribbean so friendly, unpretentious and completely infectious....this is certainly somewhere to which we will return.

Room Tip: If you want a proper size balcony or terrace you need to upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Beachseeker52_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

Not a luxury resort and the rooms/bath might need an update but you get what you pay for. Rooms are large and beds comfortable. Very close to the beach. Breakfast was great and good choice. Beach isn't the dream beach you might expect in the Caribbean but contrary to some reviewers it was clean and the water amazing. Only had dinner once in the resort, was average. Staff are very friendly, always smiling and helping with booking tours, restaurants and drivers. We used Barry a few times, knowledgable and very friendly, he seemed to know every1 on the island

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank brixtonmarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

ROOSTER WAKE UP

Another couple flew to St Kitts with us where we stayed at the Timothy Beach Resort for 10 days in October, 2013. We selected the resort primarily because of it being on the Caribbean side of the island and the reviews presented on Trip Advisor.

The reviews were correct as it relates to the staff and cleanliness of the resort. The staff was exceptionally helpful and cheerful. There were fresh beach towels whenever you wanted them and they would call a cab if you wanted to go to town or tour the island.

The reviews didn’t adequately discuss the lack of facilities at the beach. The Caribbean, however, was warm, clear, and clean. The pool was well maintained without being overcrowded. The beach at the resort is non-existent, has a very small area for lounge chairs, and has dark sand like on the coast in Washington State. The lounges and umbrellas must be 15 years old, were faded, and didn’t even swivel to protect you from the sun.

The units were old and needed to be brought into the 21st century. Mattresses were hard but did the job.

The resident rooster would wake you up sometime after 3:00 AM. He and his 2 hens could be seen at all times throughout the day. They usually showed up at the beach bar during happy hour.

The monkeys would come out and frolic at least once a day. Sometimes they would sip water from the pool. They were interesting to watch. At times there were more than 20 playing on the grassy knoll behind the units.

Happy hour at the beach bar was well attended with locals and guests. Maybe it was because buckets of beer (6 bottles of Carib Beer) were only $6 US.

The wait staff in the restaurant were great. The menu was somewhat limited. The burgers are very good.

All in all, it was pleasant trip with great swimming. We definitely will not be staying there again.

Room Tip: Close to the pool is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If we paid motel price, then this place would get more stars. If we paid 150 a night, I expected at least the basics. We stayed for three nights and were glad it's not more.

The front desk couldn't find our reservation when we checked in on Christmas eve. They could only find our cancellation for a longer stay. Then they finally found our reservation through Orbitz. Since they didn't have a room ready for us, it took a little time to freshen up the room.

But when we got to our room, I found hair and some stain on the toilet seat. I cleaned it myself with an alcohol wipe. The room doesn't have a kitchen but the size was fine. It had a king size mattress, on top of two twin size box springs. One side of the mattress was hanging out because it's bigger than the box springs combined underneath. The box springs jet out and sometimes would slide out of place. There were a lot of ants in the bathroom but I seemed to find this in other beach locations. Even though our room was far from the restaurants and faces the hill, we could still hear bass drums late at night which kept me awake for two nights.

We didn't care about the small TV as we weren't there to watch it, but they don't provide any shampoo. I usually pack some left over shampoo from other hotels (travel size) and never got to use them because it's provided. This was the only time I ran short because we stayed in a private villa on Nevis the nights before. A resort that doesn't provide shampoo?

The "resort" itself is located at one end of the bay, and the beach was not very wide. The water was not very clean the days we were there probably because the wind brought in some slimy things.
I gave this place two stars because the front desk staff were very nice when we checked in. However since it was Christmas, the reception room was locked up most of the time, and after one day, the phone in our room didn't have any ringtone any more.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyCWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 18 days in St Kitts at Timothy Beach in December 2013 over the Christmas period.
The townhouse accommodation was set out as follows:

Ground Floor - there are two entrances - one door to the main ground floor and the other which allows access to the two upstairs rooms (each have their own key should you want to share or have added privacy). The main Room downstairs leads through to a dining area and lounge with a Kingsize bed tucked around the corner of the room. The kitchen is at the front end of the property with a large oven and fridge/freezer. There is a small shower room with toilet downstairs. And there is a veranda to the rear (with table & 4 chairs and 2 loungers).

1st Floor - there are 2 bedrooms upstairs - the "Mountain" view room, which had 2 single beds & a bath/shower/toilet room with a small balcony (with enough room for one chair) - the "Ocean" view room is the Master bedroom with a Kingsize bed, shower/toilet room. Laptop plug unit. and full balcony (with table and 2 chairs and 2 loungers).

Each room has a built in wardrobe and is equipped with ironing board and iron. Air conditioning units are fitted in each room as well as ceiling fans. The upstairs rooms have coffee percolators, small fridges, phones and remote control TV's.

Overall we were pleasantly surprised by the space and decor of our accommodation - it is not modern though but has a traditional feel to it.

A couple of things to mention though (not that it bothered us but it may help)
- music is played some eves - usually thur-sat until early hours of the morning (1am max)
- we needed to purchase a can opener and a sharp enough knife to cut veg
-the voltage was not high enough to support my hair styler - so I went au naturelle!

The Shiggidy Shack along the beach serves decent food but if you are after a real treat - get to the SPICE MILL on Cockleshell Beach (on the Peninsula nearby) - the food here is delicious and the restaurant is beautiful, sitting on the beachfront - a must try. We also ate out at O.I.T's (Ocean Terrace Inn) - The Waterfall - they have a delicious buffet bar on Fridays.

I have to say the staff are generally friendly but not outstanding or forthcoming - so do ask them!

The swimming pool was great - we spent a lot of time here - it does get deep up to 6'7" in the middle though so please make sure your kids are suitably protected and supervised. You can also get complimentary beach towels from the front desk - which is a godsend!

A short walk in the direction of the Marriott will take you to some other decent eateries and a small supermarket (RAMS) - 5/10mins.

We really enjoyed our stay and rented a car through AVIS - who kindly collected us from the hotel to the rental location - although next time we visit we will hire a 4x4 as some roads are not intended for a standard car!

Currency is in Eastern Caribbean Dollars and US Dollars - advisable to have a split of both!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one of the townhouses - no.44 - next to us was no 45 and next to that the pool! Exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mummamia_2_Sons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Friendly staff with property on nice beach. Love the calm Carribean just outside the door, and only a 10 min walk to the Atlantic side if you want body-surfing waves. Rooms are not fancy, but have everything you need and a kitchenette. The hotel restaurant is overpriced, but there are several places to eat just a short walk down the beach so you can keep the vacation in budget.

Room Tip: Not sure it matters much, since you probably won't be in your room very often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
139 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
8.5 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
0.7 mi away
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
Royal St. Kitts Hotel
#3 of 4 in Frigate Bay
69 reviews
8.9 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timothy Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timothy Beach Resort

Property: Timothy Beach Resort
Address: 1 South Frigate Bay Beach, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Timothy Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on St. Kitts golden Caribbean beach, Timothy Beach Resort offers: •The only hotel in the upscale golf community of Frigate Bay located directly on the Caribbean beach •Friendly, gracious staff who are delighted to help make your vacation your best ever by arranging tours, activities & reservations •Lovely modern air conditioned rooms all of which feature premium channel cable TV and Free WIFI •Deluxe One Bedroom Suites with recently remodeled walk-in Kittitian Rainforest Showers and spacious furnished balconies adding an additional outdoor living space to your home away from home. •Two Bedroom Suite and Townhouse Options •A recently redesigned and rebuilt pool providing private relaxation and a commanding view of the Caribbean beach •The oceanfront Sunset Cafe restaurant and bar open daily for all meals and snacks •The popular Dock bar directly on the sands of Frigate Bay beach with Happy Hour Monday through Friday and Sunday live entertainment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Timothy Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timothy Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Frigate Bay
Timothy Beach Resort St. Kitts, St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing