We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Few Improvements Would Make This Property Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club
Certificate of Excellence
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A Few Improvements Would Make This Property Excellent”
Reviewed 5 February 2014

By way of background, we are hybrid (weeks and points) owners having been with MVCI for 10 years. This is our third stay at the St. Kitts Beach Club in 6 years. We had a second floor condo overlooking the south pool and were happy with the room. The room was clean and well stocked with towels and amenities. However, as others have noted, the chairs and sofa in the seating area were not very comfortable - the bed was great. We like the fact that the the condos are part of the resort so that time-share guests have access to the resort amenities. They have also done a good job furnishing the many beach cabanas. The beach is clean and this year the many masseuse and aloe vera hawkers were gone. They have been replaced by one lady who sells trinkets and offers on-the- beach massage at a single location. This was a respite from our other visits. Outside the room, we continue to see maintenance issues such as tiles coming apart from the building, stair railing in a state of disrepair, stair-well lights not functioning and fountains not operational. The most irritating issue for us was the lack of umbrellas and covered lounge chairs at the south pool (quiet pool). The pool is nice, no blaring music and for the most part was relaxing. There were only two umbrellas, one stationary and one movable for the entire pool. Those few lounge chairs that came with a shade, did not fully function. Because the shade could not be tightened to remain overhead a breeze would cause them to collapse. As others have posted, we learned that the resort (not the time-share company) is responsible for the outdoor amenities. If I were an owner at this location, I would be communicating my displeasure with the Board of Directors. I would request that they hold the resort management accountable to furnish the south pool with adequate seating and shade. It was also curious that the south pool has a nice large jacuzzi but, it is not heated. We had read other posts about employee issues of which we had none. On the contrary, we found all of the Marriott employees to be both friendly and helpful. As for St. Kitts, we rented a car this year and enjoyed the flexibility of getting out to see more of the island. Our trips took us to Turtle Beach with lunch at Spice Mill (not worth the arduous pot holed filled drive or expensive cab fare); dinner and lunch at Carambola (great beach when cruise ships are not in port, with wonderful food and great Caribbean view); dinner at Serendipity (great); Sunday brunch at Ottley's Plantation (not worth the drive or cab fare); drove to the Pavilion but it was too windy to sit through an expensive dinner; and of course, the Strip (we like Shiggidy Shack). Currently, we believe that Marriott has the best beach resort on St. Kitts - but Hyatt is coming so perhaps that may force Marriott to pay more attention to detail.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuckyandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    159
    41
    6
    10
See reviews for
162
161
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Not your typical marriott property. Right on the Atlantic Ocean. Three pools to choose from. At least four restaurants on property to choose from. Furniture in room is rather old and needs replacing. Got new tv just recently. Very nice environment. Staff is very friendly. Be aware 12% service charge added to most bills. Would come back

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HuronsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simsbury ct
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited for 11 days and stayed at the 2 BD Villas using Marriott destinationnpoints. Our 26 and 24 year old came too but left after a week to return to work. We all had a wonderful time. There's lots to do...scheduled activities for young and old and plenty of restaurants on site at the adjacent hotel and within walking distance or a very short cab ride. Enjoyed the casino a couple of nights, happy hour, live entertainment...something for everyone. As stated in most of the other reviews, the staff here is awesome...very friendly, always a nice greeting and very accomodating. Also, as stated, the property is very nice but looks like some sprucing up is in order at some spots. Plenty of chairs with shade at the pool and at the beach. The beach huts are huge with 4 lounge chairs and tables, perfect, I only wish the color was changed to blend into the area, I think they're an eye sore..BUT, the view from the beach is beautiful! Villas were also huge, tons of room and attractive. Any mechanical issue was dealt with promptly and graciously. We took an island tour with Triscan, he was OK, I wish I had asked specifically for a couple of other tour guides mentioned on these posts. So glad we saw the island...climb to the top of Brimstone Fortress..spectacular view of 5 neighboring islands. Also, a highlight was dinner on the Caribbean side at Cathy's ..great BBQ, then went next door to a fun live band at Shiggity Shack (Thursday night beach bonfire and fire dancer) and danced the night away...we had a blast, prices were very reasonable.

Room Tip: We had a ground level, garden view villa. We liked that we could step outside and access the proper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtnestr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Stayed at the villas for a week, and loved it. Villas are huge (slightly larger than the typical 2-bedroom villa that Marriott Vacation Club offer), and look very smart, with nice lighting and Caribbean touches to the decor. Only 90 villas on the property, and quietly tucked away on the St Kitts Marriott complex, so it feels more leisurely and less busy than the hotel itself.

Staff were lovely, especially Elise at the Front Desk - always cheerful and smiling, and gave us a great welcome. Concierge team at the Marriott hotel were also great.

Good location on the island - easy to walk to all the hotel facilities, and the beach, plus you can walk to the Strip, and there's a Ram's mini-supermarket only 5 mins' walk away.

I'd recommend hiring a car for a few days, so you get to see the island - St Kitts is very pretty, and much more gentle than some of the other islands in the Caribbean. Easy to drive around too! There's a Hertz rental car office on-site, but the service and opening hours were sporadic, which made it tricky - most people seem to recommend Bullseye instead.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmcal478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

We are members of the Marriott Vacation Club and this was our first visit to St Kitts and Neves. The hotel met our hopes and expectations in every way. We were in the Camp Bay building, with views of the lovely pool, partial ocean view, and a view of the mountains. The rooms were clean and everyone friendly. We dined in, as well as the restaurants on site. Restaurant prices are in line with what one would expect on an island vacation. For beach lovers and sun bathers, there are ample beach cabanas and 3 swimming pools......room for all! We dined off site at Lime Beach Bar, in Neves (great lunch and beach location); also Carambola for a wonderful meal and romantic setting! Would we return?.....absolutely! Would we stay at this resort?.....absolutely. We had a private tour of the island with the original Anthony B......he is fantastic.
Relax and enjoy St. Kitts; slow your pace down to island time and drift with the flow.
Please note......the hotel is on the Atlantic and the water is cold and choppy; it is also very windy! When the sun moved past our balcony, it was very cool and windy! A hat and hair elasticity became my new best friends.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Shadowfax6717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Travelled with another couple who had been there before so had some idea of what to expect. Chose to not do the all-inclusive in order to try other restaurants. Used Barry Wyatt as others have suggested and were happy with his services, particularly his island knowledge and his punctuality.
Resort and grounds: very large property, which includes the main multi storey hotel, and a number of separate 3 storey timeshares, one of which we stayed in with a two bed, two bath on the third floor (no elevator). Resort is approx 10 years old and while we did not see or hear anything about the rooms in the hotel, our condo was large, well equipped and updated with flat screens, granite, stainless appliances and very fast, reliable wi-fi. Nice lobby area, well maintained and good service. Beautiful beach, groomed every day, grounds also well maintained with 3 very nice pools. Lots of cabanas on the beach but you have to get there early.
Dining: first night, after long day of travel, hit the Pizza Hut, and it took forever to get our order. I did not particularly care for the pizza as it was over cooked and dry but the others were ok with theirs. Many cats roaming around but we have seen this before and they were not bothersome.
New Year's Eve, there was a large party, but we chose to go to the steak house instead. The food was ok, not great, but the service was good. We tried the Italian place which we thought was very good, service and food, and could have gone there again. The seafood place looked like it had great potential because of the location but no ambiance inside, limited menu and wine list. Food was mediocre, very disappointing overall. Beach bar had great drinks and beach shack ok for lunch with the usual hamburgers etc., a few salad choices, and quite busy, so not quick service, and a few times arrived cold. More cats, but again, not bothersome. The cafe inside the hotel was good for lunch but the menu is boring. We had Barry stop on the way from the airport at a supermarket for breakfast and snack supplies. Have to say this was the only place where we suffered sticker shock, super expensive! Off the resort, we highly recommend Marshall's where we went twice because of the food, the ambiance and the service.
Housekeeping: we were expecting every day service but there did seem to be some inconsistency in both the timing and the service. Fresh towels every day however.
Casino: fun, friendly and fair, although very smokey.
Spa: nothing short of amazing! Very current in its decor with every imaginable service and my friend and I loved our massages, plus the hot and cold tubs.
Golf course: typical island resort course. Very scenic, long but not difficult, very windy but enjoyed the time.

Overall, this is a very quiet island and the island tour with Barry was worth doing. We also had Barry set us up with someone for our Nevis tour another day, who was equally knowledgable about his island. The shopping downtown is clearly for the cruise ship tourists so I would not recommend spending the time if you are thinking serious shopping.

We had a good week overall.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynne20866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here. We made great use of the very comfortable (and accessible) pool chairs almost every day, for half-day, then did an adventure the other half of the day. Marriott staff were extremely helpful in setting up adventure arrangements before we arrive, based on our interests. We had a half-day walking tour of the Rainforest with O'Neils Rainforest Tours, a half-day driving/walking tour of St. Kitts with driver Triscan Hensley (spotme_50@hotmail.com), a full day sail -- most excellent adventure -- with Nevis Yacht Charters and Captain Miles and crew Elvin, a half-day kayak and snorkel adventure, and spent a full day onsite at the resort. The beach is excellent -- with cabanas on the beach, very accessible, with beach chairs -- not crowded. You can walk 5 minutes up the beach and be away from all people. Very scenic. Very windy, too, so be prepared. Rooms are very spacious and quite nicely decorated. Would certainly return! Excellent location -- within walking distance of a variety of restaurants and beach bars.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor, so you have a view (ground floor rooms look at the sea wall). But be awar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BKinIthacaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.1 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
143 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Montpelier Plantation & Beach
0.1 mi away
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
10.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club

Property: Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club
Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The stunning new oceanfront Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club offers 2 and 3-bedroom villas with separate living and dining areas, full kitchens and private balconies. These first-class amenities will be yours to enjoy, including luxurious spa services, championship golf, 3 pools, gaming and excellent restaurants. Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club is perfectly paired with the romance of St. Kitts, an undiscovered island paradise quickly becoming the jewel of the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing