We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort & food...wish it were on the Caribbean side of the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
MD
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great resort & food...wish it were on the Caribbean side of the island”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Oceanfront rooms were spacious, clean, and offered a great view of the Atlantic Ocean. We booked the all inclusive plan which was fantastic for food and most beverages (but not all alcohol is included) and snorkeling gear. The food was superb especially at the Royal Grille and Blu Restaurants. All-inclusive guests have to sign for every food and drink order, and you have to remember which alcohol drinks are not included! But we think the value of the all-inclusive plan is worth it.
Hotel staff was friendly and polite but service could be extremely slow in restaurants even when they were not crowded and there was plenty of servers/staff.
Location-wise, if you are looking for calm Caribbean waters for swimming or snorkeling, you'll have to walk to Frigate Bay (about a 10 minute walk) or take a taxi to one of the Caribbean beaches. Taxis offer a flat rate up to 4 people each way. Recommendations: Friar's Bay (10 minute taxi ride, $12 one way for 4 people) over Conkleshell Beach (15-20 minute taxi ride ($24 one way for 4 people). Take cash as you'll need to rent beach chairs and umbrellas. Both locations have restaurants/bars. Be sure to ask what the taxi rate is before leaving.
The concierge staff are extremely pleasant and helpful with advice and activity recommendations. While we were there, the beach at this resort always has a strong breeze off the Atlantic Ocean which made snorkeling and swimming rather tough. The location also seems to get a lot of rain whereas the Caribbean side does not.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for one away from the center of the lobby. The hotel has an open str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank baroneiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,298
    1,120
    385
    164
    117
See reviews for
708
1,142
78
276
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

St Kitts Marriott Vacation club & Hotel is a really nice addition to the chain. The first time we were there, things were slow and unsure, NOW....pretty top of the line! The condos are well appointed and the facilities are great and now with better service and a few more additions this place in the sun continues to be high on my list to revisit!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cynapsebob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Rooms.

The Marriot is huge, with multiple buildings around the main hotel. It is a $16 taxi ride from the airport. Very clean and tidy resort with people painting, gardening, cleaning. There are 3 swimming pools – the ones at the sides are quieter then the main pool. All were quite shallow but they were pleasant to have a dip in to cool off from the hot sun.

There is typical Caribbean service. Everyone tries to help, but somehow it doesn’t work. If you are going here, then be prepared for very friendly, smiling individuals trying to sort things for you, however there will be so many links in the chain missing that things may not get sorted quickly or at all. These included a number of snags in the room such as the toilet not flushing properly on two occasions and the air conditioning not working three times... the phone did not allow any outbound calls (to tell them about the toilet and air conditioning) working at all during the stay. But whilst inconvenient it didn't spoil our stay (hence on 4 star trip advisor rating rather then 5).

Bed room

We had a king room in one of the villas. It had a balcony and overlooked a small square. There is a buzz (as mentioned by other reviewers on here) when you are walking around from the air conditioning units /generators but it's amazing how quickly you stop hearing them. The windows in the room are sound proofed so there is very little noise. The bathroom was spacious with a jacuzzi style bath, toiletries and the hairdryer worked well.

Laundry

There are three top loading washing machines in the laundry room and three industrial dryers. It's to the left off the spa (when facing).Signed laundry and childrens play room... Down..the corridor at the end.... You buy a box of detergent (1 wash) and softener (1 wash) and bounce dryer sheets (2 sheets). For $1 each. The machines all take quarters. ($1worth each). The room is small and has a television. Each dryer and wash lasts 30 mins. I used all 3 machines at the same time to get my week and a halts worth of washing done. There is an iron and ironing board in you room which was very good quality

Restaurants

There are four restaurants.

1 x Calypso..the front of which is a coffee shop, if you get the chance to meet him, say hi to Xavier who works there. He made us laugh every time we visited and went out of his way to make us welcome also managed to track us down and return my golf glove after I left it there. One of the nicest individuals I’ve come across in my travels and very funny. Think he needs to promoted to run customer service !!

1 x Royal grille steak house - this is fine dining, fab service and excellent range of steaks. Also highly recommend the cheesecake.

1 x blu...seafood restaurant. Yummy we ate here a few times... They had a lobster event which was a set 3 course meal and fabulous lobster tail for the main..try the tidal wave cocktail.... Ummm.

1x Cucina...this is an Italian restaurant..lovely Italian flavours. Service was especially good from the very tall waiter...wish I could remember his name.

There is also a beach bar / restaurant

There is also a number of bars..including one on the first floor which is a cigar rum bar. All very pleasant.

Tips on the restaurants...

On certain days some of them are closed. There is a daily printed news letter at the end of reception and the opening days and hours for all the restaurants are listed. Take the time to use this rather than be surprised at the last minute that your favourite restaurant isn't open. Everything is run from reservations. So take 5 mins and plan where you want to eat and ask the concierge to book the tables for you. It means you are seated quickly as some of the restaurants get quite busy especially at the weekend (Caribbean busy that is lol) if you turn up without a reservation you may have to wait...even if the restaurant has empty tables.

Other Tips.

Internet is expensive at approx $17 / day (why is is chargeable??) We used Rituals Coffee house 10 mins walk from the hotel… it’s free internet and they do a nice cappuccino

We stayed on a half board basis. I highly recommend you book this or the all inclusive. Food is expensive but worth it as its really good quality. However, if you don’t go all inclusive the dinners could add up to over $100 a night.

The Air Conditioning machines do hum (as per other reviewers comments about them on here, but once you get used to them we stopped noticing them.


Finally St Kitts…

Absolutely beautiful island, everyone is very friendly. We went down to the strip ‘shiggidy shack’ and ‘cathys’ – highly recommend the rum punch at Cathys…its great value for money and well…one glass and you are giggling !! St Kitts is my first choice for a carribean island...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tinxxle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We are Platinum with Marriott, which only means we spend a lot of nights on Marriott properties. However, it also means we have a great deal of properties to compare to.
This was our first trip to the Caribbean, and we were very excited by the pictures and reputation of this property. Upon arrival, we had to wait for what seemed like an overly long period of time for our room to be ready, especially since the planes arrive at the same time every week, and there aren't very many flights. After we waited 2 1/2 hours, we were shown to our room, (we stayed in the hotel, not in the villas), which was gorgeous. The hotel rooms themselves are outstanding; we had a suite with two bathrooms, a living room, a bar, and a large master with a massive bathroom attached. We had a room facing the ocean looking right over the resort pool. The room was by far the best part of the trip. It went downhill from there.
Our first afternoon, by the time we got our room, it was quite late in getting us to the pool as we had hoped, but we went down around 4:30 to get a little bit of Caribbean sun. The pool was filthy and crowded. I took a swim, which when at the ocean I rarely do, and that turned out to be a mistake; on day three, I was in town at the doctor for pink eye and a bladder infection. I am 48 and my husband and I were NOT on our honeymoon, as the doctor intimated! If you need to see a doctor here, even though they have no formal medical establishment as they do in the states, you will be charged the foreigner fee of $50.00, the full cost of a prescription, as well as a $40.00 cab ride. In any case, that was our introduction to the island mafia, which here takes the form of any service provided to tourists. The cabs are the worst - they have colluded to fix prices and they are outrageous. There is no negotiating for a better price, as in every other country I have visited that does not have a fare ticker. In addition, there is 10% tax plus a VAT on everything, increasing the cost another 25% on top of the already outrageous fee for having everything imported to an island. Be prepared to spend.
As for the resort itself, the food was average, and the service awful - nothing to write home about. We had dinner at the steakhouse and it was marginal for the price. The resort was dirty. The staff was surly or incredibly slow; ordering drinks on the beach you can expect a 30 minute wait. However, the worst thing of all about the resort is that because it is the "nicest" resort/hotel on the island, every islander comes here to celebrate everything, and to eat every weekend. The brunch on Sunday was almost impossible to get into - it was filled with locals and their screaming kids; hundreds of them. If I wanted that, I could have stayed home and gone to McDonalds. The ballrooms had local events every night, which would have been fine except: the islanders resent the tourists and it shows in every conversation or interaction we had with any of them. They want the tourist money - just not the tourists that come with it. They were in the resort, in the pools, in the restaurants, all over the property. My husband and I spent a lot of money to be able to enjoy this "6 star" resort - and they use it freely, for free, every day and made us uncomfortable in the process, acting as if we were interlopers. The island is very pretty, the ocean was gorgeous, it rained every afternoon...and we will never go back.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view suite if you can afford it - well worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Visited St Kitts to see our daughter who is in veterinary school here, and stayed at the Marriott. Room rate was very good, staff were very nice and aimed to please. Great location and amenities. Highly recommend and will be back ourselves soon!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveT617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My fiancée and I Stayed at the Marriott in St Kitts from April 6 - 13. We couldn't have been more pleased! The resort was beautiful, beach was amazing (tractors cleared seaweed every day), and the staff were excellent!

We chose the all-inclusive option and was glad we did. The restaurants are amazing. Every morning we had breakfast at Calypso, lunch at Bohemia, and the dinners were phenomenal at Blu (seafood restaurant), La Cucina (Italian), and Royal Grill (steakhouse). Evrythibg was fine dining and well worth it! You do have to sign for everything, but the charges are reversed upon check-out. We kept all our receipts in case of any discrepancies, but the charges to our room were exactly right! When we added up all our drink and dinner receipts, it totaled up to $2000 +. So we felt it was well worth the money we spent for our stay.

Do not spend all your time on the resort, as nice as it is, you have to see the rest of the island. We took an island tour with Captain Sunshine Tours and was so happy we did. What was supposed to be a 3 hour tour ended up being 5 hours (and they didn't charge us extra). We were able to see the town of Basseterre, Palm Court, Brimstone Hill Fort, and walk through the rainforest. The tour guide was super knowledgable about all the towns, sights, and little things along the
way. Well worth the money.

Also make sure you make your way to "The Strip" and check out the bars on the beach. The Shiggidy Shack is a must on Thursday for the Fire Dancer show and bonfire on the beach. They also have a live band playing reggae and calypso tunes. Don't forget to visit Port Zante (where the cruise ships dock), the duty free shopping is insane! Any souvenier, jewelry, or other things you could want are there. You might spend all your money because the prices are so great. Lol!

Bottom line is that we will be returning very soon. I don't understand why some people wrote negative reviews, but sometimes there's always going to be an isolated incident that can leave a bad taste in someone's mouth. Thankfully that wasn't our experience. Everybody has choices, you can choose to have a good time or a bad time...it's all up to you how you choose to spend your vacation.

It's the people who made this vacation a dream cone true!

Thank you Marriott and thank you to the
people of St Kitts! We'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CDN_Guy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

My family stayed at this property over 5 nights in early April. We were so disappointed with it! The pools were filthy (cloudy, buggy and garbage filled) and no one seemed interested in cleaning them. The service was nothing we have ever experienced in the Carribean. All restaurants provided painfully slow and often times rude service. Food arrived 1-3 hours after ordered and often arrived cold.

On one of the days all 3 ATM's in the hotel were out of order. We kindly asked the front desk for a cash advance on our credit card and they refused leaving us stranded at the hotel.

Since the food and service were terrible, we did eat off property. We greatly enjoyed Marshall's, Cathy's and Carabola was outstanding.

The only highlight of the hotel was our room. We had a one bedroom suite which was roomy and clean.

We would not recommend and will definitely not be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HMBALLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.2 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 5 in Basseterre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
0.8 mi away
Timothy Beach Resort
Timothy Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Frigate Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
10.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Property: St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing