We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it could have been five stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Beautiful resort, wonderful staff, and beautiful beach. Then why would they ruin it by charging $12.95 a day for wifi in the public areas. You can get it for free at a coffee shop down the street and at a hut restaurant on the beach. Very disappointing and not Marriott style.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jillg23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,683 - 1,689 of 3,200 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2013

We stayed for a week and were satisfied. The grounds are immaculate, the beach is clean and set up with plenty of good chairs, and the rooms are clean and comfortable. This hotel may have deserved 5 stars...I gave it 4 and thus offer a few tips for future St. Kitts Marriott guests:
1. We ate at 2 on-site restaurants (Blu/La Cucina) and they are WAY overpriced for the tastiness of the food. It's kind of like getting Chef Boyardee in a nice setting and having to pay $100/couple for it. BE ADVENTUROUS--EAT OFF SITE.
2. Really? Who charges for internet anymore? And once you do pay for it, the wi-fi doesn't work in many areas on the grounds (nothing on the beach, hit and miss at the pool). Be ready to pony up $70 for the week and not be able to use it while sunning on your lounge chair.
3. Despite rooms that were very clean (and we're the annoying type that check the sheets before sleeping in the bed, look for lint and hair in the shower, etc) we had some sort of big bug show up in our bathroom (cockroach?). We told the front desk about the issue and they moved us to an upgraded room, so we were happy with how they resolved the problem.
4. Despite the large pool area with 3 big pools, a swim-up bar, etc. I was disappointed to find that their whirlpools were not heated. In every other hotel that I've stayed in, "whirlpool" is used interchangeably with "hot tub". They do have jet tubs in most rooms, although I'm not sure about the water usage/hygeine aspect of this amenity. Every time we used the tub some sort of black junk was floating in the water (I assume from old water that sits in the tubes?). They also have bidets in every room (who knows how to use those?)...I say scrap the bidets and jet tubs and heat up your big whirlpools, Marriott manager guy.
5. I'm not a big fan of automatic gratuity or "service charges". The Marriott tacks on 12.5% for everything you buy there, including your room, dining, drinks, heck even if you go to the cafe and the worker hands you a $2 cookie from behind the counter. It tends to annoy you, especially when you budget a certain amount for the whole trip at the time of booking.

Otherwise, based on the other lodging options I observed on St. Kitts, I'd tell my friends and family to go with the Marriott just to be safe. It wasn't the cheapest, but it was secure, clean, comfortable, and had a great beach.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Nate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Every day has been clear, sunny and breezy. The beach is clean and not crowded - no need to be reserving a space at the crack of dawn. The view from your chair is spectacular, clear blue water and beautiful mountains rising from the shore. The hotel has been updated, is clean and well cared for. If the ocean breezes are too strong, you can move to the pool for another pleasant, windless, experience. Most importantly, the staff is friendly, considerate and makes you feel that you truly are a valued customer. It's a place to count on and return to for a break from the pressures of work and the dreariness of winter.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Kamt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The value is not bad and I low expectations since I had just spent 5 days at the Four Seasons in Nevis, but my expectations were not low enough when it came to the service we received. For the most part, the staff acts like they can careless if you are there or not, however, the extremely awful service came up when we realized our SLR Digital Camera was stolen out of our room. The security team treated us like we were criminals and the police officer they brought over called me a liar. As of today, I have not once heard from a manager regarding the theft, so if choose to stay make sure you use the safe or risk having your valuables stolen.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rritzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My wife and I just got back from a wonderful week at The Marriott St. Kitts (Jan 19-26, 2013). Despite some of the negative reviews, we found the resort to be clean, well manicured, well maintained and the staff couldn't have been more friendly! Absolutely every employee we came in contact with went out of there way to say good morning or simply a welcoming hello. The beach was groomed everyday and even though a bit breezy, we enjoyed the cooling winds. The beach area was never crowded allowing us easy access to a beach cabana everyday without having to get up and reserve one at 6am. There was always an available seat at the pool with free scuba being offered several mornings. We would highly recommend the Marriott St. Kitts and plan to return in the near future.

Room Tip: We preferred the garden houses because they seem to be quieter and more intimate. Be sure to ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank unclehummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I stayed 8 nights on Marriott Rewards points after a week on a liveaboard dive boat from St. Maarten to St. Kitts. As a Platinum Elite member, I was upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite on the 5th floor on the island side. Not as nice a view as it would have been if I hada pool view, but it had afternoon sun and sunset view. Very QUIET! The suite has only one door opening to the hallway, so the bedroom doesn't get any noise from the corridor. Huge walk-in shower (almost as big as the cabin on the dive boat), soaking tub with jets, separate toilet/bidet stall. Another 1/2 bath off entrance. The suite was bigger than some 1-bd timeshare rooms at other Marriott resorts. 24-hour fitness center, variety of restaurants (got take-out and desserts from Calypso a few times), pools, etc. Poolside director very lively--leading am pool fitness and afternoon happy hour dance sessions. This was apparently a "low" week, as fewer than 1/3 of the pool chairs and only a dozen or so beach chairs were ever occupied that week. Short walk to other restaurants, convenience store; 10 minutes to beach strip on west side. I really enjoyed morning jogs and sunset walks (remember traffic drives on the left) on relatively traffic-free roads. Housekeeping staff was terrific--I always took the chocolates at evening turn-down check. Staff very friendly and great you when you pass by. Much improved over my stay three years ago, so it shows management has made an effort to be more tourist friendly. St. Kitts isn't Aruba, but I appreciated the lower-key atmosphere. I didn't rent a car, since the local dive shop arranged for taxi pickup/dropoff each day. Coin operated washers/dryers in main building near spa. Liquor prices in duty-free shop same as at airport, and you can pack in your checked luggage instead of having to do that at the airport.

Room Tip: If you're a Marriott Rewards member, ask for an upgrade if available. If you have kids, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CatyRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I have stayed in resorts in Cuba, Mexico and Dominican Republic, but the Marriot in St.Kitts is a very different resort hotel. There are lots of pros and cons. We were a family group with 6 rooms all in the same block close to the beach. Some of us were all inclusive, and some not. The all-inclusive price was VERY expensive, Two people could have stayed in a 4 1/2 star in Mexico for the same price for one person at the Marriot. I think the time we stayed – over New Years – had a lot to do with the price. If you were not all inclusive, it was even more expensive. They charged for everything – internet, local phone calls, snorkel gear rental, even topping up your water glass at dinner! And there were administration charges on everything. The strange part is that you do not get a bracelet, but have to sign for and charge everything to your room (both inclusive and non). You are never quite sure what you are being charged for until the end of your stay. The food was very good, but you paid a lot for it. The Pizza and the Steak House restaurant were extremely good. The pastries at the breakfast bar were good, and not overly expensive. They do not keep track of your beach towels by room or by cards. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. Out of the six rooms, only one had a patio door that you could walk out of and sit outside. The other 5 rooms had windows only, we found this most inconvenient. This meant you could not sit outside your room and read in the morning, or while the kids had a nap. I have never stayed in a Caribbean resort without some sort of balcony. The rooms are big and well kept, with huge whirlpool tubs. The beds are comfortable and the pillows soft. We had ants in our room, but it was our own fault for having left food out of the fridge. There was no performed nightly entertainment. The only entertainment was the Casino. This was OK for a few nights, but was not for anyone under 18. The beach was pleasant and clean, and with a constant breeze to keep you cool, but the sea was rough.. This was fun for young kids who tried to surf the waves. A good beach for walking. There were 3 pools, each with a whirlpool that was slightly warmer than the pools.

If you are there to see the island, I recommend going not all inclusive and eating as much as possible outside of the resort. There are lots of good restaurants within walking distance in the Frigate Bay area, both casual (beach bar type) and fine dining. There is a Rituals (similar to Starbucks) just down the street with good prices and wi-fi. There is also a small local grocery store, booze store and souvenir shop and sushi restaurant beside Rituals as well. For just $12, you can get a Taxi to take you into town to shop and see the local life. There are many, many tours and interesting places to visit on the island, as well as trips to the neighboring islands of Nevis, or perhaps even Saba. You can also take a Taxi in the other direction to the Eastern Peninsula where there are many beautiful beaches, restaurants and scenic views. We rented cars and did our own trips.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to beach and Pool, pick block 13. But beware the "standard " gard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kodak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frigate Bay
3.3 mi away
Ocean Terrace Inn
Ocean Terrace Inn
#2 of 5 in Basseterre
150 reviews
9.0 mi away
The Mount Nevis Hotel
The Mount Nevis Hotel
#2 of 3 in New Castle
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sugar Bay Club
Sugar Bay Club
#4 of 4 in Frigate Bay
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Nevis, West Indies
9.3 mi away
Nisbet Plantation Beach Club
0.0 mi away
Marriott's St. Kitts Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino

Address: 858 Frigate Bay Road, Frigate Bay, St. Kitts
Region: Caribbean > St. Kitts and Nevis > St. Kitts > Frigate Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Frigate Bay
Price Range: £153 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino 4.5*
Number of rooms: 389
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marriott St. Kitts Resort & Royal Beach Casino captivates you from the moment you see it, immersing you in the culture and atmosphere of this most relaxing and romantic of Caribbean Islands. Our breathtaking St. Kitts resort hotel offers an unparalleled island vacation experience. Luxury guest rooms, trimmed with West Indian accents and cutting-edge comforts, are spacious and welcoming. That same Caribbean flavor sets the tone in our 8 restaurants and 2 lounges. For entertainment and relaxation, the resort also offers the 35,000 sq ft Royal Beach Casino, the 15,000 sq ft Emerald Mist Spa and boasts an 18-hole championship golf course at the Royal St. Kitts Golf Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Hotel Frigate Bay
St. Kitts Marriott Resort And The Royal Beach Casino
Marriott Frigate Bay
Marriott St Kitts
Frigate Bay Marriott
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino St. Kitts And Nevis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing