We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Bay Club(Frigate Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ocean Terrace Inn(Basseterre)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,371)
Filter reviews
3,371 results
Traveller rating
1,435
1,201
433
174
128
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,435
1,201
433
174
128
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingpizza shackst kittsmain poolswim up baratlantic sidekitts marriottla cucinalobsterroyal grillefour seasonscalypso cafebeautiful islandgolf coursenorth poolall inclusive packageisland tour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,383 - 1,388 of 3,371 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Just returned from a 9 day trip to St Kitts. This was our third trip to the island and third stay at the Marriott. We were traveling with our three children so we wanted a little more room than a standard hotel. We were fortunate enough to book a two bedroom suite. It was incredible. The bedrooms were large and nicely decorated (as one would expect from a Marriott). The master bath was extremely large and not unlike an upscale master bath in a nice home. The second one was a "standard" nice hotel bath. The half bath was large and conveniently located just off the living room. The kitchen was a nice small kitchen with all the necessary appliances. Only compliant about the kitchen was that there were only 4 cups, plates, bowels, etc. It was fine and when we asked for additional the hotel provided them for us. The dinning room area was large and seated six. The two patio areas were nice and were just off the "small" pool. This pool had very few people around or in it most of the time. It was great for the kids to have a quick swim before bed. The main pool was huge. Most days there were a lot of people in it but there were always chairs available. The food in the restaurants at the Marriott was good but not great. There were not a lot of healthier type selections. However, the children loved the pizza shack. Blu Seafood was very good. While we were there they had a salad and dessert buffet and a choice of three entrees. Be sure to check each day to determine which restaurant will be closing early. A couple of nights we arrived just after 7 to find that Bohemia (by the beach and pool) stopped serving at 7. However, there was always at least three of the restaurants open. The casino is small but nice. There was an assortment of slot machines, table games and sports bets. The fitness facility and spa were as expected for a really nice hotel. The people were super friendly as always. Never encountered any staff who was not helpful, friendly, etc. Even my 12 year old son commented about how nice everyone was. The location of this hotel is ideal. It is located on a nice beach on the Atlantic side and has 50 or so cabanas (first come no reservations and no fees) with four chairs and a table. There were significantly more chairs available than there were people to use them. There were plenty of options for sun or shade. It is about one mile walk or a $5 taxi to Timothy Bay on the Caribbean side of the island. There are restaurants all along that walk. If you are planning a vacation to St Kitts, this is the place to stay. Each of our trips have been incredible. It is hard to find something negative about our experience.

Room Tip: If traveling with more than 4 people (or if you need more than one sleeping room); book early and book a suite. The two bedroom suite was about the same cost as two adjoining rooms. If you want an ocean view, request upper floors in the "main house."
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKMarriott, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi Shellie

Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We really appreciate you coming down and spending time not only getting to know us, but returning year over year. Doesn't feel like home when you return to a place and everyone knows who you are? It is indeed high praise when the younger persons comment on the hospitality of our staff.

Thank you so much for visiting us and we look forward to hosting you for your 4th year.

Jacques Hamou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The property was well maintained and the staff was wonderful. Friendly, helpful and went out of their way to make our stay amazing. Would recommend this property to friends and family. June was a good month to vacation hear. Not too many people; off season.

Room Tip: If looking for an ocean view, request one on a higher floor and directly facing the ocean. Although, if the ocean view isn't important to you, the pool and garden views are spectacular also.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKManager, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Richard

Isn't it great finding a place that has the off season feel in high season. Thanks to our 26 acres you can relax at any of our 3 pools, or under a cabana at the beach and never have to fight for space. Thanks for coming down and spending some time with us. Thank you for your wonderful words about out staff. They are the very foundation of our resort's success.

We hope to see you again real soon

Jacques Hamou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Clean and functional hotel, staff courteous and helpful. Used mobile check-in so on arrival all was prepared. Room smart if a little dark. Windows salt splattered, there again this is almost on the beach. Hotel beach great. Mosquitos were a problem so repellant is the order of the day even in the rooms. Would have preferred aim hotel but was in a pavilion.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Ds23pall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKManager, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Ds23pall

Thanks so much for spending some time getting to know us and Congratulations on being one of the first to try our newly introduced mobile check-in. It makes things so much more convenient and easy for you our guests. Unfortunately being just steps away from the ocean we get all the salt carried on the constant ocean breeze and in-spite of our best efforts you still sometimes have a salt buildup on the glass doors. Other downside of the Caribbean is the mosquitoes and even though we have undertaken quite a number of methods to ensure they are kept at a minimum we do recommend that you protect yourself and use repellent. Living on an island does have it's downside however we have found that the pros far out weigh the cons. Once again Thanks for spending time with us and we hope we see you again soon.

Jacques Hamou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at the Marriott on two separate occasions and have fun both times. What I like about the Marriott is that it is a one stop place. If you have kids and don't mind having a lot of people around it is a great place to stay. If you like a quiet environment or if you like a more nature kind of accommodations this hotel is not for you.
The staff are friendly and always willing to help. The suites are great if you have a large family. I didn't like the fact that I had to do lots of walking to get from the suites to the rooms, but this is understandable if you are staying at a resort versus a boutique hotel.
We loved the train ride and loved going having dinner in 'the square' in town. We rented a car and took the barge over to Nevis with the car and drove around there for the day and hopped back on the last boat just before sunset to enjoy a great boat ride back.
The beach was a little rough because it is on the Atlantic side, but you can walk to a much calmer beach not too far away and enjoy the open air restaurants right on the beach. They have some of the best sunsets but then again this is the Caribbean is there ever a bad sunset?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnergyEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKManager, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Hi Energy Evans

We are so glad you took the time to get to know us and you are so right. We are a one stop shopping venue. 8 restaurants which includes 3 specialty outlets, golf, spa, casino. If that's not enough 3 pools plus a beach that goes on for miles. Sorry about the walking however it does eliminate your visit to our onsite gym and what better place for a work out than surrounded by lush manicured gardens?
Our local train or the "Sugar Train" really provides a special treat and different view of the island, all the while being serenaded by folk singers. You also ventured to our sister island, that was am sure another experience of relaxation, history, discovery and beauty. We really do offer 2 islands for the price of one.
Thank you so much for visiting us and we hope to see you again soon

Jacques Hamou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I read the reviews on Trip advisor, and some are helpful, but you have to keep perspective on everything your read. What I like may not be what you like and vice versa. In fact, the very thing I love about a place, restaurant or event may be the thing that you absolutely hate. However, it can still be disheartening to hear others flame out about something they just didn't fully investigate or were not open to experiencing.
I recently stayed at the Marriott St Kitts timeshare Vacation Club. Now let me preface this review by saying we stayed in early June, off season. MY preference is to vacation off season when there are NOT crowds, or lines, and a place feels, well...special, because not everyone from say, Staten Island, is there too. I got what I wanted. Long walks on a long beach with clear, to turquoise to deep blue waters with excellent snorkeling. I read some of the reviews that said there is no reef off the Marriott beach. Not So! There is a large reef in shallow water not far to the left of the property with living corals. I saw blue, powder blue, black, and yellow tangs, wrasses, parrot fish, sting rays, brain corals, sea fans, sergeant majors, damsel fish and amazingly five large loggerhead sea turtles that seem to have made the waters off the Marriott beach their home. I saw the turtles five days in a row.
There are waves, but it is not rough and its well protected by reef and rock offshore. You can find a calm spot where your small children can safely play in crystal clear water.
There was always a gentle breeze that made a long afternoon on the beach comfortable, and drinks and lunch are only steps away. You are not hassled by the locals to buy their wares anywhere on the island and every local I talked to was pleasant and seemed to want to talk.

If you are looking for a bustling city scene or nightlife. Forget it. This is a sleepy quite island with low population. Port Zante, where the cruise ships dock, is best avoided. Mostly Tshirt/souveneir shops with the same old merch. The rest of the town looks like most of the carribbean, shabby and mostly third world. If this makes you uncomfortable, don't go. Or better yet, don't go because you don't need another logo T shirt.
Gay lifestyle, or gays in general are either well in the closet or largely just missing. The Marriott and the island in general is very heterosexual. So, if you're looking for FABULOUS, look elsewhere.

The grounds are very well landscaped. The yoga class every morning at 8 was top notch. There are a couple of good restaurants you can walk to Rock Lobster and Bombay Blu are excellent. Also, for a low brow but excellent dinner, take a cab ride to Jam Rock. BBQ, jerk chicken , ribs and the catch of the day are all excellent. Wear what you want, get drunk, don't get drunk , do what you want. Nobody seems to care, ... did i say the food was excellent? I would avoid Marshall's, over rated, too expensive for what you get, unless what you want is pretty.

Also, I recommend the rain forest hike. We did Mr. Rogers tour. It was about two hours, not terribly strenuous unless you are sadly our of shape, and our guide was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna. Didn't do the volcano tour, but I heard that was an all day affair and to much work for the heat of the island.

the one negative aspect of the Marriott is the hidden fees. $75 for a week of WiFi! $98 to have a few (FEW!) groceries delivered to the room upon arrival, and $12 to rent a snorkel and face mask. (I mean I bought a snorkel and mask at home for $24). Kind of infuriating after a while.

there is also a small casino on the grounds with gamblers who don't nasty get because they think you took a hit when you shouldn't in blackjack.

All in all, I loved St. Kitts and the Marriott is a great place on a wonderful beach. Bring your own groceries, or eat out elsewhere on the island and all will be right. ( I went with my two teenage kids and they loved it and they are more critical than me) XO

Room Tip: Bring your own groceries, or eat out elsewhere on the island and all will be right
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank G0ldlion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SKMarriott, General Manager at St. Kitts Marriott Resort & The Royal Beach Casino, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Hey G0ldlion

Thanks for providing such an insightful review of our property. We feel a multitude of gratitude for the information you have provided. Not only has this review been shared with the resort. It is also being displayed in every outlet and area. Reviews like these show appreciation to our associates not just from us their peers but from the customer’s perspective and it really sends home a message of appreciation. Thank You!

Our island is truthfully a nature lover’s paradise while still providing blood pumping excitement for the adventure seekers. For those seeking rest and relaxation, and/or family time, we offer a myriad of history and culture as well as laid back do nothing but enjoy the sun, and cold drinks made to order. We are sending a copy of this review to the local Tourism Authority as they can also share with our fellow hospitality partners your positive words and reviews. Unfortunately living on this island paradise there are some things that have to be imported and that does come with a cost.

Once again Thank you for spending time getting to know all things Kittitian and we hope you will join us again soon

Jacques Hamou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews