We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of The Greenwood

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Greenwood
Ranked #2 of 4 Highbridge B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We have just returned home after a 2 night stay which was most enjoyable and pleasant. Lovely house and setting. The rooms were clean and roomy. Penny the host was very professional and welcoming. I will save the best till last ......Breakfast was delicious and plentiful with home made marmalade. Scrummy! Would definitely come back. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_wendy_way
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you for saying such nice things. I hope to see you both again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

stayed for 9nights (annual hols). thoroughly enjoyed it. the breakfast was lovely and plentiful and the home made jams and marmalades were really tasty too. the room was spacious and clean. penny was a great host. the on site therapy was excellent. the location was ideal for the parks and gardens, motor museum, and cheddar gorge. etc we visited. plenty of restaurants for all budgets near by. we would definitely recommend the greenwood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hazel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

You are very kind, thank you. It was a pleasure to meet you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We had the privilage of staying at this wonderful house during the summer. We experienced their hospitality and friendliness as overnight guests and Wedding reception guests.
The rooms where clean with little touches of luxury. The breakfast was 'scrummy' and so moorish. The Wedding reception was set outside under an open marquee and the food was ... perfect.
We would have loved to be able to stay longer and definately recommend The Greenwood.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Thank you so much for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The Greenwood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Just spent a great weekend at the Greenwood. Penny our host made us very welcome.The room was delightful, very clean, well furnished, tea making, free internet, bathroom toiletries. The breakfast was excellent, I would have no hesitation in recommending the Greenwood.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C0llings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stopped here for a night last week. Lovely clean quiet comfortable accommodation. Penny is a gracious host. Breakfast was delicious. A great place to stay. We didn't have our dogs with us but we could see that it was a dog friendly place.

Room Tip: Probably try for room at back of house if possible as road noise may be a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 619WendyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments.
The road noise is not too bad as the guest house is set well back from the road, however when windows are open in the summer months it is more noticeable. There is only one room overlooking the back of the house.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Well located for walks to local pubs, set in own grounds so well back from any traffic noise. Very well appointed room, all spotlessly clean, complimentary biscuits, tea, coffee, toiletries, free Wi-Fi is another nice touch nowadays.
I did not make full use of the facilities ref food, but notice other reviewers are all very positive, so, all in all, deserving of anyone's recommendation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilacwheaty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at The Greenwood and I hope to see you again before too long.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Booked the Greenwood on Bookings.com never sure quite what your going to get as we didn't know the area, Penny was a fantastic host, had some trouble with getting internet when we arrived, I think it was my fault more than theirs,Ian sorted me out eventually. House set back from the road so no road noise, Penny makes a fantastic breakfast, sadly we missed out on the renowned cream teas, next time, Penny works VERY hard to make this happen couldn't do enough for us including loads of washing and suggesting great places to eat locally. Go and stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penny R, Owner at The Greenwood, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

It was a real pleasure to meet you and your family. I am looking forward to the day when I fly to Barbados and eat in your fabulous restaurant,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Highbridge hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
34 reviews
1.6 mi away
Wall Eden Farm
Wall Eden Farm
#1 of 3 in Highbridge
249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crossways Inn
Crossways Inn
#1 of 4 in Highbridge
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Greenacre Place
#2 of 3 in Highbridge
8 reviews
Show Prices

Been to The Greenwood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Greenwood

Address: 76 Main Road | West Huntspill, Highbridge TA9 3QU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Highbridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Highbridge
Price Range: £49 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Greenwood 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Greenwood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Greenwood Highbridge, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing