We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still great after 13 years !”
Review of Hotel le Cordonant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel le Cordonant
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cordon
Reviewed 9 September 2011

Last time we stayed was in 1998 on the way to and from a holiday in Italy. We have alawys remembered Le Cordonant for its unpretentious style, views and great food. The good news is.....nothing has changed ! The family who still run the hotel are extremely friendly and polite. Our room cost 85 euro plus 9 euro each for breakfast....it had a balcony with fantastic views of Mt Blanc...at night we could lie in bed and see a few lights twinkling on the Mt Blanc massif. Dinner was outstanding: delicious wild mushrooms, lake fish from Lac Leman, great cheeses...helped by 2 bottles of well-priced wine. We enjoyed our 1 night here probably more than any night of the entire holiday. I wish we could have stayed longer....

Room Tip: Room facing Mt Blanc
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RutlandUkRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (74)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 74 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

warm reception - good food - incredible views - great place to stay before heading into the Mont Blanc tunnel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandcheyney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

This is probably one of the best examples of a well run family hotel. As I understand it the present oweners father founded the hotel 30 years ago and it's now run by his widow and daughter. And they make a pretty damn good job! Our room was overlooking the Mont Blanc. I've stayed in some fine hotels. But I've never seen a view like this one from my hotel room balcony.

The food in the restaurant traditional, well made and the service is as good as it's get. For me it is hard to understand why they only charge 58 euros for semi pension.

From a market strategy point of view Le Cordonant should probably move towards younger couples, families with children (who are treated perfect here, by the way) and business travelers from the Geneva region. The present audience consists of senior citizens who probably discovered the place 30 years ago and stayed loyal since. It's not hard to understand why. I will to.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NickShay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I almost dont want to review this hotel as i want to keep it to myself! Its a B&B reasonably priced for that area - a 10 min windy mountainous drive from Megeve -which is a lovely and renowned French resort. I was most impressed by the food provided by the staff - 24Euros for a 5 course dinner of superb quality and more than enough quantity. Its located in a quiet village called Cordon where you can access the Mont Blanc range (including Megeve) and each room in the hotel itself has a view of Mont Blanc - beat that!
I cant recommend this place enough - its charming quaint with amazing views.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LOOKINGFORLUXURY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

The Cordonant is a small hotel across the way from the much larger and more renowned Les Roches Fleuries. Like most of the buildings in (the absolutely charming town of) Cordon it's a wooden chalet-style construction with a view over the fields into the valley. And what a view: to sit in the garden with a glass of wine and watch the sun set on the chaine Mont Blanc is one of the most sublime experiences you can imagine. Ask for a room with a balcon vue Mont Blanc and you'll be tempted never to leave the hotel. If you do, however, you'll be a short drive from some of the most stunning walking country in the world. If you don't, then you can be assured of a comfortable room, an extremely warm welcome from the charming family who run this place, and an excellent meal - the restaurant serves hearty, simple, perfectly cooked cuisine bourgeoise. I love the Cordonant. It's not fancy, or stylish; but it is everything a simple family-run hotel should be, and more.

3  Thank Nat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lourdoueix31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Pensez à réserver une chambre avec vue sur le Mont Blanc, par exemple la 31.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ottenIledeFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cordon hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Les Roches & Spa
0.3 mi away
Le Chamois d'Or
Le Chamois d'Or
#4 of 8 in Cordon
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chalet Hotel La Joubarbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Les Rhodos
Les Rhodos
#2 of 8 in Cordon
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Charvet
Le Charvet
#2 of 3 in Cordon
11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lou Stalet
Lou Stalet
#1 of 3 in Cordon
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Cordonant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Cordonant

Address: Les Darbaillet, 74700 Cordon, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Savoie > Cordon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Cordon
Price Range: £83 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel le Cordonant 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Cordonant chalet, facing the imposing Mont-Blanc mountains, you will be staying in a small Savoyard village, warm and welcoming. You discover the local cuisine, fun outdoor activities, summer and winter, between snow and sun ... And you enjoy the quiet of a family cottage to relax in complete serenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel le Cordonant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing