We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Stars all the Way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Celle
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Five Stars all the Way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Few hotels are deserving of the appellation "special". This one certainly is. A boutique hotel through and through. From Reception (plaudits to Sandra, Carol, Barbara and Nicholas) to the delightful rooms and creature comforts of the surroundings of the hotel, it doesn't miss a beat. And then there is the restaurant! Aaah! With a top-notch chef and crew in the kitchen and Xavier (the Manager) and his staff in the Restaurant, dining here is a real treat. The atmosphere is wonderful and relaxed to boot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Violet_and_Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

La lecture de votre commentaire m'a enchanté et toute l'équipe se joint à moi pour vous remercier de votre confiance et de votre enthousiasme.

Nous mettons chaque jour tous nos efforts au service de la satisfaction et du bonheur de nos clients. Nous essayons au mieux de faire en sorte que votre expérience reste inoubliable.

Nous espérons sincèrement avoir la chance de vous accueillir à nouveau.
Dans cette attente, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    55
    21
    6
    8
See reviews for
39
212
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013

The hotel is lovely and we were lucky enough to eat outside on the terrace the 2 nights we stayed.The food was excellent although i think the menu of the season should be altered to a degree daily.The swimming pool area was blissful and we were lucky enough to have it to ourselves for the whole day.We stayed in Angelique de Champigny the room and bathroom were very nice it also has a small garden.The only downside to this room is there must be a generator nearby and we could hear it all night a real shame as apart from that it was really peaceful.Breakfast we thought was good and we were offered scrambled egg and bacon plus the continental breads and cakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank essie2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous avons été ravis de vous accueillir à l'Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle et sommes enchantés que votre séjour ait été à la hauteur de vos attentes.

Nous espérons avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre Maisons et vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Food is excellent, problem is the menu has little change through the week. You are able to say you would like something different but in our case was one course. It is just not how they are geared up. That said no complaints about the quality.
Management are quite defensive on issues. The breakfast is identical each morning not helped by an absence of buffet and this has not been our experience elsewhere in France. The Internet in the room was not working for several days and the excuse was not a good one. Suite very comfortable, ambience throughout good. On balance, on the plus side.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freshmuesli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle, responded to this review, 25 July 2013
Google Translation
Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur,

Nous avons été ravis de vous accueillir pour un long séjour.

Nos Menus changent chaque jour au gré du marché et du potager. Le Chef respecte au mieux les produits de saison ce qui nous empêche de vous proposer une carte radicalement différente d'un jour sur l'autre. En revanche, nous sommes à votre écoute pour vous faire un Menu sur mesure autant de fois que possible en fonction de vos goûts et de la durée de votre séjour à l'Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle.

Nous espérons sincèrement avoir l'opportunité de vous accueillir à nouveau dans notre Maison.
Dans cette attente, nous vous prions de croire, Chère Madame, Cher Monsieur, en l'assurance de notre sincère dévouement,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We have been using this property for a number of years and it has never failed in achieving high standards in cuisine, service, accommodation and general ambience. There is of course a price to pay and it is not cheap by any standards!

The property is located in the centre of the village and parking would appear to be somewhat tricky as you cannot really drive in via the front gates. The car park is located at the rear of the property and is accessed via a turning just down the road a bit and it seems you are going around the block to find it. Once you have found the entrance there are closed electric gates and you need to press the bell and announce your arrival for the gates to be opened. The Parking is secure and you enter the hotel from the rear of the property.

We have stayed in various rooms but if you are prepared to pay the price, the Charles de Gaulle suite is the tops. It takes up most of the first floor in the main building and has many interesting features.

Today we went for a family lunch with 4 adults and 2 children.The meal was a gastronomic extravaganza ! We had the Menu de Saison for 2 @ €66 each and the Menu de L'Abbaye for 2 @ €90 each. They charged a reasonable €60 for the two children aged 5 and 9.and that was a mix of a'la carte and specials which the chef prepared.

The wine can be a bit expensive but we stuck with local Provence White and Red from Ch. Chabert

The whole experience is first class and if you wish to speak pigeon French they will understand you and not make you feel inferior by replying in English. If you wish to speak in English, they will do their best to understand and reply in English.

My only negative comment was that the wine waiter ( sorry, I can't spell sommelier) gave miniscule drops of wine and I was left somewhat thirsty and frustrated to buy wine and see it sitting on the side un-served. If more had been poured we would have ordered a further bottle (or two) which would have boosted their profits.

All in all a well managed property and first class service.

As a point to note, the swimming pool is currently closed as it would seem to be undergoing either renewal or major renovation and as we were leaving the property we noticed extensive building works were being undertaken in the area around what was the old external pool area.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TonyMus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tancrède B, Directeur général at Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

I wanted to thank you very much for your post on this website. We really do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at the Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle.
For sure, we will do the necessary to keep the wine right where it needs to go!
We feel so enthousiasm when we discover such comments and that is the reason why we work so hard, day after day, to continue improving our service and try to make our hotel the place to visit.
We remain, Sincerely Yours,

Tancrède BARALE
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

It had been two years since I had visited the hotel and restaurant of this wonderful Hostellerie. I am happy to inform that the hotel and restaurant continue to provide an exceptional stay and cuisine.
As always, the staff remembered us and extended us a warm welcome. Our traveling companions were so impressed that they have already booked their stay for next year.
We were so happy to see that nothing had changed and will not wait another two years to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

The drama beings when you see the soaring pale stone walls of a 12th century abbey. It continues at the table. We were apprehensive of a seven, yes seven, course menu but the maitre d assured us that we would manage and he was right. The experience was of a succession of delicate light tastes that quickened rather than sated the appetite. If your view of French food includes cream, heavy sauces and "show off" complexity this kitchen will challenge you. The inspiration comes from the garden with wonderful herbs and vegetables which are treated sensitively so they taste of what they are - but with added zing. There are very few carbohydrates and everything feels very healthy - although the desserts would tempt a saint.

The restaurant is extraordinary but this is also a lovely small hotel. We had one of the cheapest rooms up two flights of stairs, nestled in the eaves and it really was gorgeous. A generous sitting area, extravagant bed and a claw footed bath in a large bathroom. A massage from Claudine was a real treat.

The monks loss (they left in 17th century) is our gain. Unlike them, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripplevale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We only stayed one night in La Celle. We arrived late and left early but we thought the staff very nice. The room (the suite Charles de Gaulle) was wonderfully spacious, warm, and well-appointed. The gardens and the "conservatory vineyard" were both interesting and quite lovely. The hotel is spotless and the lobby and staircase smell of freshly waxed woodwork.
The BEST restaurant ever, I think.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank montlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Celle
16.4 mi away
Hotel du Castellet
Hotel du Castellet
#1 of 2 in Le Castellet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
18.4 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
19.1 mi away
La Bastide du Calalou
La Bastide du Calalou
#1 of 1 in Moissac-Bellevue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint Maximin
Hotel le Couvent Royal de Saint ...
#2 of 3 in Saint-Maximin-la-Sainte-Baume
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Lou Valen
Hotel Lou Valen
#1 of 1 in Le Val
5.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
18.9 mi away
La Bastide de Tourtour
La Bastide de Tourtour
#1 of 4 in Tourtour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle

Property: Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle
Address: 10 Place du General de Gaulle, 83170 La Celle, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > La Celle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Celle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hostellerie de l'Abbaye de la Celle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie De l`Abbaye De La Celle Hotel La Celle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing