We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here twice August.”
Review of Maison Du Midi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorgues
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Maison Du Midi
Ranked #3 of 21 Lorgues B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here twice during August and loved it. The welcome drinks and nibbles in the beautiful garden was a great way to start the stay. The welcome from Jette and Bent was great and they immediately made us feel at home.

We have been to Lorgues several times before but this was the first time we'd stayed in Lorgues as a friend of ours has a house on the outskirts of town. The location of Maison du Midi was fantastic, especially for the excellent Tuesday morning market (which is the best market in the area by far!). As mentioned by others, there is very limited parking but there is a public car park 200m down the hill (right next to a brilliant bakery where we stocked up with food every morning before heading off in the car).

The rooms were large and had a kitchenette where you can prepare meals etc. There is a fridge in the room to keep the rose chilled too! The beds were large and very comfortable. There is also a fan in each room should it get too hot for you.

We look forward to coming back to stay with you soon!! Thanks for a great stay Jette and Bent.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank faceman01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

This was our third trip back to 'Maison du Midi' and, as usual received a warm welcome with a carafe of rose and nibbles.
Jette and Bent are marvellous hosts and their home is full of character. The house and the garden are very well maintained.
Jette is an excellent cook and her breakfasts are the best around with lots of homemade goodies. We also spent a very enjoyable 'Bastille Day' meal with them and some other guests in the courtyard.
Lorgues has a large provencale market right outside their front door every week and I would thoroughly recommend this as an experience- various stalls and local characters.
There are many places of interest nearby including Les Arcs, Cotignac and the Gorges du Verdon.
Thank you, once again, to Jette and Bent for welcoming us to your lovely home.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CheshireFrancophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We loved this guest house. Lovely location in the picturesque town of Lorgues. Quiet setting. Tastefully decorated old house with character. Warm welcome. Very clean. Breakfast in a provençal courtyard, plentiful, delicious home made bread, lovely teas. I wish I could have stayed longer than one night in this stunning retreat.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myriam227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

This B&B was referred to us by friends, who had stayed there a couple of years ago. We had booked room 1 on the first floor in the B&B section, but on arrival, we were advised there was going to be a party the next night and it would probably be quieter if we moved to another room (No 12 on the second floor at the back of their self catering section). This room looked at least as good and we were helped to get our bags up the stairs, so we agreed. (It turned out to be a 75th birthday party, all over by 11 o’clock anyway, so no problems!)

The room was a good size, very bright, with a small ’kitchenette’ - microwave, fridge and sink plus some crockery and cutlery if you want to self cater. We didn't and had probably the best breakfasts of our French trip - Jette is an excellent cook, making her own bread rolls and the best ever croissants each morning, as well as offering fresh fruit (different each day), yoghurt, juice, coffee, ham, cheeses and an egg if we wanted. Good free wifi as well.

The property is right near the main church in Lorgues, and about 100m from the main street. Parking very close by is difficult, but there is a free car park about 200m away. There is not much of interest in Lorgues itself, but we did a day trip to the Gorges du Verdon which is absolutely stunning and visited some of the charming nearby towns - Cotignac is particularly nice.

Our only concern with Maison du Midi is that they seem to be both a B&B and a function centre - B&B guests who are not involved with the function group, don’t seem to get quite the same attention.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiekpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I was greeted by Jette and a glass of local rose wine when I checked into Maison du Midi. The room was lovely - comfortable and full of character, and the courtyard below was a piece of heaven - a sun-trap, with beautiful geraniums, and, beyond the hedge, a swimming pool which Bent had just cleaned for me. The breakfast was delicious and varied - so much that I struggled to do it justice. The location was perfect for the small ancient town. I enjoyed the stay very much.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Rooms and studios with a lot of charm and spirit in an old town house in the middle of Lorgues. The owners, Jette and Bent, are danish, but decided to make Maison Du Midi their life project. The rooms and studios are all carefully renovated with consideration to this old house.
We saw several of the rooms, but did not stay overnight - but for sure we can recommend to do so, if you need a good place, reasonably priced, in Lorgues.
But we came to taste Jette's food. This evening it was Steaks and cheese! Terrific, at a price of only Eur 25. Jette is a good cook, the food really homemade - and the bernaise joining the steaks was superb! A fine selection of cheese to end this excellent dinner. The winelist is not big, but the wines are good local wines - Lorgues is the center of some of the best wineyards in Var area.
We had an enjoyable evening in the garden of the Maison. If you wish to go and taste Jette and Bent's good food call them in beforehand and reserve. This summer every Thursday night is "Steak and Cheese" evenings - but every other night there will be a "Daily Dish" if you reserve it in advance. Go there, you will not regret it.

Room Tip: All rooms are nicely renovated. Talk to Jette or Bent when you reserve, they can advise you. Be sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynge T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I have known Maison du Midi for many years. And every time I visit this area of ​​Provence, I stay here. Why? It is so very much French atmosphere about the place mixed with Scandinavian management that it is a pleasure to come there.
I highly recommend the rooms, breakfast and to enjoy an aperitif in the beautiful garden by the pool.
Reinhard Muller

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reinhardmuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lorgues
3.4 mi away
La Vieille Bastide
La Vieille Bastide
#1 of 1 in Flayosc
65 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Bastide du Pin
La Bastide du Pin
#2 of 21 in Lorgues
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Enclos
L'Enclos
#4 of 21 in Lorgues
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Chateau de Berne
Chateau de Berne
#1 of 1 in Lorgues
479 reviews
1.2 mi away
B&B Maison Brora
B&B Maison Brora
#2 of 3 in Lorgues
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
L'Abrialys B&B
L'Abrialys B&B
#5 of 21 in Lorgues
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maison Du Midi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Du Midi

Address: 14 rue de l Eglise, 83510 Lorgues, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Var > Lorgues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Lorgues
Price Range: £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison du Midi, as it is called, has a beautiful, large, private garden with palms, mature chestnut trees, several terraces, a boules court, summer kitchen and a swimming pool. All rooms have en suite 'shower rooms and some a small kitchen. The house has three floors and a large rustic wine cellar suitable for receptions, exhibitions, meetings and the like. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing